Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spiking Drinks?

• 17-07-2010 9:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭

Sup peoples. I have a question for youse.

I'm a dude, and was in a nightclub last night (which was pretty dead to be honest), and was sitting on a couch waiting for my mates to get back from the bathroom.
    There was another dude sitting on the couch with a glass full to the brim of some sort of beer on the table, who was alone waiting for his mates. Suddenly, he turned to me and said that I can have his drink cause he doesn't like beer.
    I thought it was fairly odd that he would have ordered the pint in the first place? Anyway his mates came over a few seconds later and went off to dance, leaving the untouched beer on the table.

Now, if I was a girl, then I probably would have jumped to the assumption that it was spiked, but I'm not, so...?
    My mates advised me not to touch it (and I didn't) but what do you honestly think that guy was trying to do?

It's that lingering paranoia in the back of our minds that makes it hard to trust people...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

cool story bro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

I don't really follow. At all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Spiking drinks is bad but try drinking a spike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Another College student with an American accent.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

this thread is bitterly disappointing. i think we should all share our experiences of drinks getting spiked and people actually doing something of relevant interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

I think he was trying to crack onto you myself:P

I'm a dude, and was in a nightclub last night (which was pretty dead to be honest), and was sitting on a couch waiting for my mates to get back from the bathroom.
    There was another dude sitting on the couch with a glass full to the brim of some sort of beer on the table, who was alone waiting for his mates. Suddenly, he turned to me and said that I can have his drink cause he doesn't like beer.
    I thought it was fairly odd that he would have ordered the pint in the first place? Anyway his mates came over a few seconds later and went off to dance, leaving the untouched beer on the table.

Now, if I was a girl, then I probably would have jumped to the assumption that it was spiked, but I'm not, so...?
    My mates advised me not to touch it (and I didn't) but what do you honestly think that guy was trying to do?

It's that lingering paranoia in the back of our minds that makes it hard to trust people...

It might have helped you lose your virginity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

If you had drank it you would have found out. How are we supposed to know if it is spiked or what his idea was if you don't know and you were there? Anyway you are right not to touch it. Better safe than sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Was "Ray" there op? Any luck with that other thing?

Ricardo G wrote: »
    I think he was trying to crack onto you myself:P

Crack off on him more like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Its rather obvious from that story the other guy thought you were Gay.

Wheather or not he was trying to rape you is another matter.

Guess we'll never know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

too many dudes in that night club

duckysauce wrote: »
    too many dudes in that night club

My sentiments exactly... Friendly dudes in very friendly place :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Jake you're probabaly better off just drinking the pint and hoping for the best.
    Its spiked, other guy gets some sex.
    Its not, you get a free pint.
    Its a win win situation......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Did you get the ride? Thats what we all want to know. Fcuk this sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Another College student with an American accent.:rolleyes:
    you know thats the 2nd time today i've heard about american accents on a message board...

is it really noticeable :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Overheal wrote: »
    you know thats the 2nd time today i've heard about american accents on a message board...

is it really noticeable :p

Oh my god, its like tooooootally awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Maybe he was just being friendly.

I for one hate waste. Hate it. I go around car parks giving my tickets to people if there's as much as 5 mins on them still.

He may also have been looking to spike you for the craic, just to see you get off your face and afraid, and then maybe rob you too.

Who knows. The best thing to do in that situation is to politely either accept the pint and not drink it or just say that it's not your type of drink but thanks for the offer.

I'd be pretty paranoid too and would of course think it was spiked. Rather safe than sorry. But it could just as likely have been scenario 1 above.

Jake you're probabaly better off just drinking the pint and hoping for the best.

For who?

You could have turned this into a really fun game
    " Guess which pint "

..not if you wake up with a head ache and a condom hanging out of your hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

If there was bubbles in it; yes it was spiked.
    You should have taken it and gave it to one of your mates who in turn would have bought you a drink, therefore gaining a free drink, and solving your curiosity.

snyper wrote: »

Or worse, no condom at all :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Might not be just your head that aches . .. :pac:

peanuthead wrote: »
    Or worse, no condom at all :eek:

Or worse no hole !!

Might not be just your head that aches . .. :pac:

:eek: yea.. your mouth :D

Or worse no hole !!

..yea, a torn pocket like skin thing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

I'm a """""""dude""""""" and I've been spiked. Sometimes people just do it for the craic of seeing someone making a donkey of themselves, rape excluded (hopefully....)

Or worse no hole !!
    ..yea, a torn pocket like skin thing :D

my bro just threw me a very concerned look there as I spontaneously burst into very loud laughter!! LO feckin' L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

:eek: yea.. your mouth :D

It will go from this:) shape to thi:eek: shape . . .:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Gator

Duuuude....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭The_Joker.

I think it was a boards mod , he filled the glass with sulphuric acid and wanted to kill you because you post utter **** here everyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

The whole drink being spiked thing, does it really happen? Has it ever happened to anyone here?
    Ive worked with a few people(girls) who have said its happened to them Ive been out with one or two on these nights the only thing that happened was they drank far to much fell a few times on the dance floor, puked and cried a bit before a mate took them home in a taxi. The next day 'oh my drink was spiked' thats why I went ape **** last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

I think you were just being too cautious. He was probably just a **** packer

SIX PACK wrote: »
    I think you were just being too cautious. He was probably just a **** packer

I doubt he was a back packer :D

A bag packer? Like in Dunnes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

Something kinda similar happened to me last night.. was in a nightclub (which was pretty dead to be honest), and was sitting on a couch waiting for my mates to get back from the bathroom. There was another dude sitting on the couch with a glass full to the brim of some sort of beer on the table, who was alone waiting for his mates. Suddenly, he turned to me and said that I can have his drink cause he doesn't like beer. I thought it was fairly odd that he would have ordered the pint in the first place? Anyway his mates came over a few seconds later and went off to dance, leaving the untouched beer on the table. Now, if I was a girl, then I probably would have jumped to the assumption that it was spiked, but I'm not, so...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Sup peoples. I have a question for youse

You have a strange typing style. You start off American with your 'Sup' and calling us 'peoples'. Then you go completely Dublin on it with the 'youse'. Please, for the love of all that is awesome, do something about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

I'm too drunk to read all that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

happens when people want/need it to happen :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

Somebody spiked your drink? Lucky bastard I can't even afford to spike my own drink

I'd prob drink it cause one of the lads got spiked with mdma one night.
    So odd but he was well happy cause he knew what it was.. Free drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Bob Z wrote: »
    Somebody spiked your drink? Lucky bastard I can't even afford to spike my own drink

You're going to be so jealous when you actually read the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

I have heard cases were people spike drinks to test on unsuspecting people,to see how they react to it.
    I dont think sounds bad just a little unusual :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭vodafoneproblem

The_Joker. wrote: »
    I think it was a boards mod , he filled the glass with sulphuric acid and wanted to kill you because you post utter **** here everyday

Aha! The hidden side of Boards Beers is revealed!