Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Derry v Kildare

• 17-07-2010 1:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭

Im biased but Im going for Kildare by 2/3. tough trip up to celtic park though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

half-time: Kildare 0-8 Derry 1-4

ref is having a bad game imo.too many soft frees for both sides, and then missing a few clear incidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

Can't get it online or in a pub here in Bangkok, have to listen to it on rte/bbc radio. Sounds like kildare are the better team so far, but that they're liable to leak goals

yeah pretty much. Kildare didnt realise they were on a pitch for the first ten minutes-a real problem for them the past while. Kildare supporters practically know theyre going to start slow these days. derry could have got another goal. some poor kicking from kildare (business as usual there)

Who did McGeeney take off after 8 minutes? Brave move on his parts, seems to have worked though. Heres hoping Kildare dont have another slow start for the second half!

tom o connor i think it was.

im a wreck watching this!

hehe, its been bloody close, 3 points up now though. Johnny Doyle is havin a stormer

yeah this is more like it now, 4 points up.earley having a great game at midfield again.

Woohoo fair play lepper... bye bye Derry

Great result.2-17 to 1-9. 2-17 in a championship is a good score to put up for any side.

I wont get ahead of myself though, Derry were poor and we have problems that need to be rectified if we want to go much further.slow starts will be severly punished by better teams though.

When we get going, (and it can take a while for that to happen) we do look good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,269 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

great second half thanks guys if we continue this hard work we might be tough to beat

Nobody will want us in the draw anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,269 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

df1985 wrote: »
    Nobody will want us in the draw anyway!
    hey df yeah cant see anyone wanting to draw us, could go either way but when they play they are really good!!!

so proud of the lads so far this year:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Kildare played well but you'd have to day Derry were awful, especially in the second half. They looked like a team that just weren't up for it all today.

yeah will be interesting to see who we get.

Limerick would provide a stern test, a test I think we really need.

No disrespect to Roscommon but id probably expect Sligo to beat them.I think we would beat Roscommon too so in the long run a tougher game like Limerick might stand to us if we were to beat them.

As for Monaghan/Tyrone, I really dont know.Two tough teams no matter which one....Antrim and now Derry, we wont fear Ulster teams as much as we once did!

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Kildare played well but you'd have to day Derry were awful, especially in the second half. They looked like a team that just weren't up for it all today.

Yeah thats the main point that needs to be taken from today, yes we won, but derry were poor.

Im getting txts like we just beat kerry, everyone getting ahead of themselves.

anyway over to TV3!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

Congrats great win for ye!hoping to avoid ye in the draw but it would be a close game if we played ye!Remember 2 years ago ye beat us at the same stage by a point in Limerick a fierce battle of a game!Always enjoyed watching Kildare good luck to ye in the championship unless ye draw Limerick!:p

Its a pity we can't draw the dubs if they win. Revenge for last year would be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

I was stewarding at this game and was surprised by a few things. The number of kildare fans was either equal or more then the derry ones! I was of course wearin a dubs jersey and there was great banter with a fair few kildare heads.

The match itself though was the real surprise, i thought derry would have taken this game but after a promising first ten-fifteen minutes they just seemed to stop and kildare took it to them. I said earlier in the week that if earley had a good game the rest would follow through for kildare and he had a great one.

Well done kildare :)