Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

all this going abroad nonsense - spend your euros here in ireland!

• 16-07-2010 10:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭

There are so many fine places to see here at home in ireland i don't know why so many of ye are looking at traipsing off spending yer hard earned euros in foreign countrys when the irish economy and decent ordinary hoteliers, b and b owners and hostels are crying out for custom.

From cork to donegal and from mayo to waterford this country has sights enough to keep a man or woman contented for their lifetime. Not to mention the craic being much better here at home than ya would get out foreign!

Just asking everyone on this forum to think about maybe investing all that money ye spend on these 'gap years' here at home - ask not what your country can do for you..... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭darrenh

“ Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the things that you did do. So throw of the bow lines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” - Mark Twain

I dont know if you fully represent Fianna Fail and I do know your intentions are right, but how dare you come on here and ask the people to
    ask not what your country can do for you

Let me state my case.

1. By traveling to all these far off and not so far off places people become more educated about the world and its people. They try lots of new foods, learn basics in languages, learn a countries history and what makes its people tick. The experience of a Gap year is immense and not something that can be obtained here in Ireland. Just like an Ozzie wont find it in Australia.

2. If the hoteliers, B&Bers, and god knows every other tourist business hadn't been screwing us for the last 10 years we might have reason to feel sorry for them. So when the times were good they couldn't care less about us and now it turns bad and we should help them?

i don't know why so many of ye are looking at traipsing off spending yer hard earned euros in foreign countrys
    You make it sound like people are jumping ship trying to get away from Ireland because they couldn't care less about the place. Our hard earned euros go a lot further just about anywhere else other than here. Its called value for money.

Not to mention the craic being much better here at home than ya would get out foreign!
    Yes the craic is mighty in Ireland, but definitely not better than everywhere else in the world. Try telling that to anyone who's tubed in Vang Vieng, partied in Buenos Aires or saw the sun come up at a full moon party. Even better is the craic you'll find in the numerous hostels around the world, the camaraderie of joining a 4 day trek and making life long friends, the joys of bungy jumping a few 100m of a canyon. The list is endless.

From cork to donegal and from mayo to waterford this country has sights enough to keep a man or woman contented for their lifetime
    At least you said something sensible. Ireland is without doubt one of the most beautiful places in the world but so is every other country in the world in its own way. I wont be happy myself until I've fully discovered(sorry for using the tourist boards logo) Ireland and when the sun shines it is a magical place. The reality is though, that until people get real value for money and not short term gimmicks, they are going to hit the road.

Before you think I have anything against Ireland check out these - Ireland Uncoverd & Ireland 2010

If anyone wants a reason why they should go read this: Explore. Dream. Discover - The End of a Journey

I have little interest in politics but it just shows how out of touch Fianna Fail and are with the people. These gap year people will be paying for your failings for years to come. Dont try and guilt them out of some well earned fun. :mad:

And if you do feel patriotic, do it for the employees of these businesses who definitely do need our hard earned euros, not the hoteliers, B&Bers or over priced restaurant owners.;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,618 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

I think darrenh has said it all.

But I would like to reiterate; Ireland is an overpriced place that I couldn't possibly afford to travel in. I'd spend the same in a month here than I would in a few months in Asia.

And there's something a bit boring about always being a few hours bus ride from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭v.e.r.b.a.l

Ireland is a gorgeous country. I actually bought the Ireland Lonely Planet when I got back from travelling and I'm planning to see as much of it as I can through "tourist eyes".

The problem is that we're royally ripped off here. I've no sympathy for the hostels, hotels and B&Bs that have over-charged us and still are over-charging us.

Also, as said above, travel broadens the mind. The thought of telling people jot to travel is ridiculous. Obviously don't neglect your homeland, but its a sin to go through life not experiencing all the wonders of the world and everything you can learn from different cultures. I doubt anyone comes back from travelling without some new way of thinking about things: the importance of preserving the environment, international political corruption, different foods, customs etc.

It's always good to get a different perspective on the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

Maybe if some of the f***wits that pass for a government had travelled further than the Galway Races the country might be in better shape. :rolleyes:

We have been royally screwed by hoteliers, publicans and B&Bs in this country for years. That's why they're crying out for custom.

I still feel pretty peeved at this request by NUIG Fianna Fail. The more I thought about it today the angrier I got. I do understand their intentions were good natured but its completely misguided. I was hoping for a response from the OP and maybe they will but it really is some cheek.

Anyway my next holiday is Island hoping of the coast of, you guessed it.... Ireland. One week across the 3 Aran islands. If people can do it in Greece, I can do it here. Here's hoping for the weather!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭djk1000

I can go pretty much anywhere in the world and see many natural beauties for free. Here I'll be charged an exorbitant parking fee and then a viewing fee to have a look at the cliffs of Moher. That's one small example of being a tourist in Ireland.

I've tried to stay here before, but I just go home with a feeling of being ripped off at every turn and in many cases the service you receive in Ireland is shocking (with some notable exceptions I must admit).

I can probably get a ryanair flight to somewhere cheap and sunny for the same price as the petrol I'd use driving to West Cork for example, the list goes on and on.

Having said all that, Ireland has some truly exceptional beauty which is worth discovering, just pack a tent and spend as little as possible.

ads we've passed through the civil partnership there the last day and already ye're wanting more - these gays are getting awful feckin uppity these days if ya ask me. I tell ya now most good decent people in Ireland don't want to be seeing 2 lads in dresses getting properly married in churches and the like parading down the street after - the gays should be happy they got their civil partnership through the seanad there before the summer holidays.
    - NUIG Comment on Gay marriges.
    Most GMIT students are not the most literate to be fair. They should stick to the farming and not be wasting their time at higher education.
    NUIG Fianna Fail comment on GMIT
    Would students be happy with a McDonalds franchise on campus and do you think it'd be well supported? We are planning to lobby the incoming Student's Union this year to make it happen so just thought i'd gauge students opinion on here.
    NUIG Fianna Fail comment on a McDonalds in the college campus.

This guy is and obvious troll and sh*t stirrer. I took the bate. Silly me. Check his profile. He has made loads of bizarre and odd comments. Fine Gael in disguise?!:rolleyes:

Good work there darrenh! Although, I think you've posted on the worst forum as this one doesn't seem to have active mods (none that I've seen in a while anyway). On any other forum this might be picked up on and the troll banned.

Darren, if you make it to Galway on your travels, let me know. I can point you in the direction of a place that serves Beer Chang!!

VERBAL, I'm born and bred Galwegian! Where serves Chang? Great stuff for a bad head ache the next morning! Drank gallons of it!:D

Oh right!!! You know Boogaloo Burger on Abbeygate Street? Had a burger there the other day and washed it down with a Chang!! Amazing!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭FreeAnd..

Oh right!!! You know Boogaloo Burger on Abbeygate Street? Had a burger there the other day and washed it down with a Chang!! Amazing!! :D

Singha man myself...damn it brings me back :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

FreeAnd.. wrote: »
    Singha man myself...damn it brings me back :)

Singha gives me a much worse hangover than Chang for some reason. They're both beautiful on a steamy hot evening in Thailand - taste like p!ss at home though!

If only you could get Beer Lao! VERBAL, could you sort it out?! Anchor & Angker (two different beers) were very good as well. Nothing beats the fine rubber/condom smelling Bia Hoi. God I'd kill for a two litre milk carton of that now and one of the finest seats in the world. A 1ft high plastic stool. Ah.... The good times.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

NUIG FF=troll, just posts to wind people up IME. Take a look at some of the crap s/he's posted in Politics forum for instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 NUIGSocialists

Ah you haven't a clue what you're talking about. I don't think he's one of the FFers either, as much as I wish he was. I think he's just one of our lot taking the piss a bit too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,573 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

He's right. Spending a night freezing your bollox off on a beach in Bundoran is much more enjoyable than watching the sun come up on Haad Rin.

Also, prefer the Chang to the Singha myself.

Can we just let this one disappear into the wilds of old boards threads? It's just a troll looking for some distraction while sitting in his room all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭bubble_wrap

There are so many fine places to see here at home in ireland i don't know why so many of ye are looking at traipsing off spending yer hard earned euros in foreign countrys when the irish economy and decent ordinary hoteliers, b and b owners and hostels are crying out for custom.

From cork to donegal and from mayo to waterford this country has sights enough to keep a man or woman contented for their lifetime. Not to mention the craic being much better here at home than ya would get out foreign!

Just asking everyone on this forum to think about maybe investing all that money ye spend on these 'gap years' here at home - ask not what your country can do for you..... :)

im going to Berlin for 8 days, was considering Galway but...8 days in nice apartmernt in Berlin 230 euro(flight 134 euro), equivalent apartment in galway 590 euro, also Berlin = cheaper beer/food, more to do, better music, better women,

its a no brainer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

... you must be joking, its way too expensive here, plus the weather.

Beer in Poland in a restaurant is below 1.75 euros (7 zlotys) Here its sometimes 3 times that amount.

We went to Krakow on Hols, 5 people and Hotel and food half the price, Taxis where really cheap and weather was great.