Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I too old to go to college?

• 15-07-2010 11:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭

I've just turned 23, eff'ed up badly in school and have been in dead end jobs since... I want to go to college because I know I'm smart, but am I too old??

What I mean is, will I be the weird older guy amognst the 18-19 year olds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

No, go for it! People older than you go to college, you'll fit right in and have a ball.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

I'd say if your asking that question your probably not mature enough for college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LC2010HIS

no way! sure, the age in college brochures for mature app is 23 so id say u wont be the only one! good luck:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Definitely not too old. There are likely to be a lot of students even older than you there especially now with a lot of people unemployed they are going back for retraining and gaining more qualifications. Now would be a good time to do it as in 4 years time the job market will hopefully be better.

My sister (31) went back last September. She had the same worries as you and she has got on fine in her first year. I even see lots of people in their 40's/50's going back so you will never be too old.

Make sure that you research your course and college well first. Check out any supports that you can get such as the Higher Education Grant and other course allowances. Budget how you will support yourself over the next 3-4 years and you will do fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Certainly not too old. I went back to college recently and am older older than 23. :p
    There's people in my class who are closer to my dads age than mine as well.
    I honestly don't feel at all out of place being in a class room with 18 & 19 year olds.
    I found that the ages in my class may mainly consist of school leavers, but that there are large numbers of people who waited a few years before going back to college.

You would be surprised at the amount of mature students as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

Please! There was a 55 year old woman in my class last year! Your never too old for college :)

You see the usual clicks of 18-21 year olds in large groups, but think nothing of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭Denimgirl

Don't be silly please go to college if you want to go! and don't let a silly thing like age stop you,college is about learning who cares about what age the people are around you, whats age got to do with wanting to educate yourself in a skill.My aunt done her leaving cert at 42!something she always wanted to achieve!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

ok so technically your a mature student but not really. ok im not in college yet but i think the reason mature students kinda stand out from the rest is because they conform to the tag of being a mature student(i.e too eager/too 'mature') you should be fine just be yourself and people won't even question your age one bit...you could easily make friends with people 18-19-20-21 no problem. come on how different are you as a person than you were 3-4 yrs ago? you never went to college so your development is just the same as all your future college friends :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

My first year in college the majority of my class was in their late 20's. Know loads of people in their 30's, 40's and an uncle whose just turned 60 gone back to college....never to old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Theres no such thing as too old for academics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

I went back at 23, graduated at 27, had a job lined up in my industry and am now in it over 3 years :D. Starting my masters this year! So no, 23 is far from too old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭lizzie09

You are not at all old....go for its a great opportunity and you sound
    smashing!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭dawvee

d.anthony wrote: »
    I've just turned 23, eff'ed up badly in school and have been in dead end jobs since... I want to go to college because I know I'm smart, but am I too old??

Why do you want to go to college - for the degree, or for the craic? If it's the degree, you're never too old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Good Advice

hey op...i went to college after couple years out after school i was 20 though but the age ranged from like 17-40 and the average age in the class was around 21-22 go for it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Certainly not OP, and if you have difficulty getting your head around it after all the posts above think of it like this;

If you go back to college now for 2/3/4 years (or however long) getting a qualification that helps you get a job in something you like you'll be in a much better position than you are now regardless of your age, whereas if you don't then in the same 2/3/4 years you'll most likely be in the same, (or a similar) situation to what you're in now.

Also there are always people going back in your age-group as mature students, now more so than ever with so many people out of work, and if any 18/19-year olds are looking askew at you remember; they're more afraid of you than you are of them! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

It's not even an issue. In fact it's probably better for you. I left after 3rd year in college, cos I couldnt see the point of the course, and hated it.. Went out and worked some ****ty jobs for a few years.. Eventually went back when I was 23 to do final year. Enjoyed it a lot more and did better. Go for it.. and good luck

Hi op, I'm 22 and still in college and probably will be for a few more years:), once you're in college age doesn't really matter,if it's something you want to do, go for it!!:)best of luck with your decision..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Of course you're not too old.

I didn't go to college until I was 22 and there were loads of people in the class my age or older.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭MissMiami

Hey, I know that a lot of mature students may be a bit older for example in their forties or fifties and I guess at the age of 23 that doesn't really seem appealing but there are people who will be the exact same age as you too.

I know there is a man in his early thirties in my course and he always sits with this group of young lads.

It's up to you who your friends are. There won't be any problems meeting people and making friends. Just talk to random people who sit next to you in lectures, join clubs and societies, etc.

Good luck with whatever you choose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

OP, you are never too old to go to college! I've applied for a place this year in a 4-year Hons Degree course I've been working towards for 3 years at this stage through related courses in PLC and I'm 29:)

Have a look over here Mature & Non-Traditional Students Forum and you will see soooooo many people 23 and over heading back to college:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Lol
    Ok I know it seems like a big age gap to you etc, etc... but... seriously? At 23? Just go back to college!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

You know...chances are at 23 people won't even notice you're older than them. People thought I was 18 when I started last year...was actually 24. And there are so many older people going back to college now...you're certainly not going to be the odd one out. The majority of my Spanish class were my age or older. I think the 18 year olds felt like the odd ones out tbh :D

Edit: Also, even if people are noticeably older it doesn't even matter. You're all still going through the same experience and you'll find yourself talking to people of every age at some point. Everyone's having the same issues with assignments/exams/finding their way around etc.

For me, I'm glad I'm going to college at this age rather than at 19 like I would have. I have a bit more world experience (not much, but some) and am probably a bit more sure of myself than I would have been then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Contessa Raven

Hi OP,

I just graduated from college. There was one guy in my class who was in his 40's and a 36 year old. Then when I went to London for my final year there was a 30 year old, a 27 year old and a 25 year old in my class. It was fine. Tbh most people in my class were older than me. In first year I was 18 but the average age was about 23.
    In London I was 22 but again most people were older by a couple of years. Age doesn't matter in college. No-one cares how old people are. All that matters is that people can get on and work well together just like in the real world. :)

CR

I'm 37 and I'm going back to college. 23 is just ancient. Your life is over. Really!

You could have your PhD by 28 if you work solidly in the next five years. I went back to college at 23 and finished with a PhD. At 23 you're only a kid. Not for a moment did I think about what other people may or may not think. It's totally irrelevant to my future and my happiness.

PS: Just make sure to choose a course that you're both interested in and will be able to get a serious job from. Too many people do it for one or the other; you need to do it for both reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

No-one's ever too old to learn. Anything. Oh and about the age thing -being a certain age doesn't guarantee anything because there are no certainties in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭d.anthony

Thanks everyone for the replies, you have no idea the confidence boost I got from them!

Gonna do it!

Thanks again!

D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

Odds are you will be near the younger end of the class. When I was doing my degree there was an 72 year old doing a degree course while I was there.

Best of luck with it and enjoy it.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

It sounds like you are ready, go for it! I went straight after school, but wasn't very ambitious, and only put in enough work to pass. I would guess that students are a bit more focused now, especially now, so if you are of a mind to compete then you could do really well. plus you should have the advantage in scoring younger chicks/dudes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

23?
    Good lord that's young:eek:. I also happened to have an uncle going on 50 who went back to college, and he's getting along grand.

OP I have lectured for years at third level so I'm going anon on this one. I can tell you that the best students are invariably the older students and teachers like me love them for this. I have had students in my class up to their 60s and they usually give me the best work. They are very keen to learn and really want to be in the class. They are also more informed on many issues and have more life experience and bring greater breath to discussions. A teacher can't ask for better.

Go for it and the very best of luck!!!