Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friday Night with Jonathan Ross 16/07 (his last show for BBC1)

• 15-07-2010 10:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭

David Beckham and Hollywood star Jackie Chan will be the final guests as Jonathan Ross bows out from his BBC1 chat show
    Ross will quit his 'Friday Night With ...' series on July 16 as his contract with the BBC ends.
    There had been speculation that Russell Brand was in talks to appear on the swansong edition of the long-running programme as he promotes his 'Get Him To The Greek' movie.
    The last batch of guests was confirmed today. Beckham's appearance comes in the wake of England's exit from the World Cup, and just days after inaccurate rumours spread that he and wife Victoria were to separate.
    The programme will also feature a performance by Roxy Music at the request of the presenter.
    The band - featuring original members Bryan Ferry, Andy Mackay, Phil Manzanera and Paul Thompson - are currently playing a series of European festivals including Bestival and Lovebox in the UK.

Not a great line up tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I hear that Giggling Graham Norton is in pole position to take over the Friday slot, which will turn late Fridays into a grave-yard, devoid of any talent.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Eamo71

Should have got Russell Brand on and they both could have given the two fingers to the ridiculous Beeb and the Daily fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Will be glad to see the back of him to be honest. I've seen his show a few times and didn't like it and wasn't a big fan of him either. It seemed to be on every Friday night, even when it was supposed to be on a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Haven't watched Wossy in ages. Usually have a bit of a laugh when he's on. I watched a few episodes back to back but it seemed slightly stale but I'll be sad to see him go.

Graham Norton will most likely get it.

Wonder if James Corden is in contention for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

That_Guy wrote: »
    :eek: Why would you say such a thing? Has there been rumours?

The horror!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

He'll be missed. One of the best shows on TV, he has a great rapport with nearly every guest he has on.

Can't wait to see Roxy Music too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

article-1295050-0A71F1A0000005DC-852_468x286.jpga picture of Beckham on tonights show, looks like Graham Norton has the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

I'd say tonights will be a good laugh...I'll be sky plussing it.

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

article-0-0A71F1FC000005DC-733_468x397.jpg
    should be a good show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭sxt

Mickey Rourke is on the show tonight aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

He should have interviewed Graham Norton, that would have been interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

This last show is disappointing.

The guest list a bit self indulgent, Jackie Chan and Mickey Rourke were probably on JRoss's personal wishlist but it's a bit flat so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I just can't help but feel for 4 poofs and a piano.....if they had gotten laid off on Wednesday they'd be laughing.....Robbie Williams recruited exactly that yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

wtf... that saxophone is badly out of tune...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

David Beckham nyom nyooooom....anyone wanna tell me what he said :Dnomming.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

I will personally miss it on a Friday night,
    simple humour and light entertainment but i was pretty dissapointed with the show overall this evening. God Beckham really is a simple minded individual :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Wossy is a wussy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

One of the poorest FNWJR I've watched in a while mickey rourke is a very hard guy to interview mainly due to the fact his brain has been fried from drugs and booze, jackie chan is great but hasn't got the best English, a bit like beckham! so a poor swan song from a man who has had some of the greatest talent on the planet over the past 10 years. Looking forward to seeing how he reinvents himself on UTV.

Wossy is a wussy.
    You're so wrong there. Ross is a legend of entertainers and interviewers. Hes never false...what you see is what you get. He comes across as a sound guy unlike some over the top presenters (Norton,Paul OGrady...Tubridy ffs) He has a laugh, takes the piss out of his guests and genuinely seemed sorry to finish.

He'll be a sorry loss for fri nights :( Hes loaded though...so i wont lose any sleep over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Jonathan Ross came across quite well there at the end of the show.. and genuinely seemed quite sad!

Not a great final show.. but neither were the guests.

Sad to see the show go regardless - as I predict the ITV / UTV revamp will be dreadful!
    Wossy is a wussy.
    Yes.. a real man watches 'The Hills' and 'The Vampire Diaries' - hush up... ya fecking girl! :pac:

He's an obnoxious twat, he rips the p*ss outta guest that are far more intelligent, artistic and classy then he is. Pitty the recent scandal he had didn't totally kill his career.

Pitty the recent scandal he had didn't totally kill his career.
    Scandal?ahahahhahaha
    That wasnt a scandal! He was having a laugh with his mate,bad taste in fairness and it went wrong. It got completely carried away by the media on a slow news week (seriously please tell me you knew that).

Hes a vivacious, entertaining...and a genuinely funny guy.As Basquille said ye comment on The Hills FFS....:rolleyes:

anniehoo wrote: »
    Scandal?ahahahhahaha
    That wasnt a scandal! He was having a laugh with his mate,bad taste in fairness and it went wrong. It got completely carried away by the media on a slow news week (seriously please tell me you knew that).

Hes a vivacious, entertaining...and a genuinely funny guy.As Basquille said ye comment on The Hills FFS....:rolleyes:

I can't take you seriously when you try use this argument as ammunition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,023 ✭✭✭Barr

Good last show , Hardly recognised Mickey Rourke.

I can't take you seriously when you try use this argument as ammunition.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055956522

Hmmmm....you watch A LOT of telly Mr D!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

weak show i thought. not a great selection of guests, but it was a good show over the series. good for a laugh on a friday night anyway.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055956522

Hmmmm....you watch A LOT of telly Mr D!

Point being?...this is a tv forum, would you like me to discuss my hair loss instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Sad to see him go, he has always come across as a very likable, genuine guy. He was very sad at the end, you could see he was trying to hold back tears. He has always entertained and could have easily kept going with the Friday night slot on BBC for a few years at the very least.

Don't know what Richards problem with him is? Maybe he's related to Andrew Sachs??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

basquille wrote: »
    Jonathan Ross came across quite well there at the end of the show.. and genuinely seemed quite sad!

Yeah, I was impressed with his last speech.

He came across as very sincere, some nice sentiments expressed.

I liked his quip at the crew, 'I've no idea what any of your names are":pac:

Jonathan Ross has consistently been an excellent presenter for years, going back to his Channel 4 shows. He's going to be missed on Friday nights.

Point being?...this is a tv forum, would you like me to discuss my hair loss instead?
    Ah no please dont! Theres another forum for that!

I like him end of. Not great guests fair enough. Could happily have watched Beckham on mute :D but as a caliber of TV presenters Ross is top of the tree for me.

I also watch The Hills (believe it or not) so in fairness im bein 2 faced here, but i watch it for the brain deadness of the whole thing. Its one of the most edited (i wont say scripted) shows on tv so i would never be bothered commenting on it.

Ross: i love him, you dont...grand!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Why would anyone consider that fat, talentless twat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

If he was to get it then it would be the biggest joke this year. Why would that useless imbocile be even considered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

He is going to ITV right..what’s to stop him doing the exact same show on Friday night there? Plus he films it on a Thursday afternoon so handy number unlike the Late Late here. As for slagging him off for taking the piss he does it good naturedly and doesn’t fail miserably with his gags like some hosts do and then fidget nervously with their host cards!!!

He's an obnoxious twat, he rips the p*ss outta guest that are far more intelligent, artistic and classy then he is. Pitty the recent scandal he had didn't totally kill his career.
    Are you trying to tell us that David Beckham is more intelligent than Ross?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭sxt

Sad to see the end of the show, Johnathan Ross usually gets the best out of his guests...If you have ever seen the same stars interviewed by tubridy that were on the Ross show the same weekend in the past... you would see the substantial difference in quality a presenter wossy is...Johnathan ross interview is watchable. tubridy interview is predictable

TonyD79 wrote: »
    He is going to ITV right..what’s to stop him doing the exact same show on Friday night there?

I would be very surprised if it is.

casio4 wrote: »
    Are you trying to tell us that David Beckham is more intelligent than Ross?

Dear god no! :eek: - i apologise for any confusion caused.

The money Beckham has earned would lead me to believe he is not as stupid as some people give him credit for.

^ that's not fair arugument to make, companies and sponsors throw money at him...that dosen't make him smart, just marketable.

It's like saying Jade Goody or Kerry Katona are intelligent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

It's like saying Jade Goody or Kerry Katona are intelligent.

A first. Never thought Id see those two and the word 'intelligent' in the same sentence! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    The money Beckham has earned would lead me to believe he is not as stupid as some people give him credit for.

no intellectual , thats for sure but he seems to be horse smart , were he not blessed with such good looks , he would be no richer or better known than paul scholes or or wayne rooney , as frank skinner once said about BECKS , i look at becks with his movie star looks and gifted football ability , then he ( beckham ) opens his mouth and i think , thats fair

Hes never false...what you see is what you get.

Never false, this is the man who would routinely tear a film apart on his Tuesday night Film show and then spend Friday night telling the director/star/writer what an amazing piece of cinema it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

David Beckham looked very smart and sexy in his suit and red socks ;)