Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wearing toon jersey to a Sunderland friendly yesterday

• 14-07-2010 2:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭

Well how are ye doing? Did anyone happen to make it to Thomond Park for Sunderland v Munster XI, which was set up for Shane Geogheghan?

The match was alrite, played in good spirit, with Sunderland edging a 2-1 win. Although, being a die-hard Newcastle fan, I wore my Newcastle jersey to the game, and was waiting outside the stadium for a mate, when this really loud, aggressive (perhaps langers) got in my face, telling me to 'HONESTLY, take that **** off NOW!' I was later reported to the Gardai who had a word with me.

Honestly, I don't see what's wrong with a bit of friendly banter by wearing a Toon to a Sunderland friendly. Would you have perceived that as being disrespectful on my part or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

It was an idiotic thing to do tbh! That's like wearing a city jersey to a united game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Be like wearing
    a rangers jersey to a celtic game,
    a england jersey to an ireland game,
    a baseball cap backwards and hockey jersey to a metal gig

are-you-a-douchebag.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Stupid more like-you were just looking for a reaction. Which you got.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

You are either stupid or an attention seeker :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Well how are ye doing? Did anyone happen to make it to Thomond Park for Sunderland v Munster XI, which was set up for Shane Geogheghan?

The match was alrite, played in good spirit, with Sunderland edging a 2-1 win. Although, being a die-hard Newcastle fan, I wore my Newcastle jersey to the game, and was waiting outside the stadium for a mate, when this really loud, aggressive (perhaps langers) got in my face, telling me to 'HONESTLY, take that **** off NOW!' I was later reported to the Gardai who had a word with me.

Honestly, I don't see what's wrong with a bit of friendly banter by wearing a Toon to a Sunderland friendly. Would you have perceived that as being disrespectful on my part or what?

You should be allowed wear that jersey if you want.

Out of interest which part of Newcastle are you originally from btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

come on, sounds like you knew exactly what you were doing OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,969 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Seriously?!

<insert facepalm.jpg picture here>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

That was a really silly thing to do, I'm suprised the Guards let you into the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Why were a soccer team playing a rugby team in a match?

What is this Bizarro World?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

By toon, do you mean Newcastle United, elocuted in an excruciating faux-Gazza accent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Why were a soccer team playing a rugby team in a match?

What is this Bizarro World?

It's not that unusual. I take it you missed the World Cup Final last Sunday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

is there a new law banning the wearing of black and white striped jerseys all of a sudden?

OP should have been able to wear what he wanted and if a Garda really did have a word to him about it then that Garda needs to get his/her priorities right.

This was a friendly match!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭minister poxbottle

pics or it never happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Really stupid thing to do OP, im surprised you were let in to watch the match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

when this really loud, aggressive (perhaps langers) got in my face,

jesus! :eek: *sniggers*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I'd see it as trolling tbh. Closed.