Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The (mis)use of hazard lights

• 13-07-2010 8:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭

The sister-in-law, unfortunately, had her car break down on her in town today. The engine cut out and wouldn't restart, she was on her own in the car so stuck on the hazards as there was feck all else she could do until her fella came down to her.

There was no-one around to offer assistance (pedestrians anyway) and anyone driving past assumed she'd just parked the car and stuck on the hazards as she was just parked - said assumptions stopped anyone from actually stopping and checking if she was in trouble, she even got a few toots and unpleasant gestures from inconvenienced drivers.

Eventually, her OH came down to her rescue and was able to tow the car out of harms way (it's a megane fwiw!) A pedestrian had walked by in the meantime and helped her push the car aside, fair play to him!

That's what you get from such a gross misuse of hazard lights in the town, inconsiderate f**kers who don't know how to operate their indicators or who are just too lazy to find somewhere to park their car. Read the f**king manual and learn how to use your car correctly.

Rant over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭McConkey

Too many people think the hazard lights are there to provide some kind of Invisibility Cloak for their badly parked car :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

It amazing how many people think that youre hazards give you an excuse to park where you please. Ive seen people stop dead in the middle of the road and stick on their hazards just so that they can take a phone call.

Unfortunately the longer you drive the more you realise that a lot of drivers on the road are incosiderate idiots; either ignorant of the rules of the road or too stupid to follow them. Sad fact of life...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

McConkey wrote: »
    Too many people think the hazard lights are there to provide some kind of Invisibility Cloak for their badly parked car :(

yes :( and commercial vehicles that are actually loading get beeped and shouted at as a result. people need to stop doing it

Broken down Megane :eek: Pre 2005 no doubt :)
    If that happened to me I'd open the bonnet so folks would know I was broken down, someone may help too. There are so many people with hazards on about the towns and cities these days I'd always presume they were just parked unless they were in a really bad spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Uncle Paul

Harzard lights should be renamed 'park anywhere lights'.

Hospital loading bay? I HAVE MY HAZARD LIGHTS ON!
    Middle of a country road? I HAVE MY HAZARD LIGHTS ON!
    Double parked in a one way system? I HAVE MY HAZARD LIGHTS ON!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Same thing happened to me. Broke down on Strand Road in Dublin heading towards Booterstown almost a year ago. Truck took ages to come so I was left stranded with my hazards on. Fuel pump was bust so someone stopping would've done no good. The amount of filthy looks/waved fists/hoots of horns I got was ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The engine cut out and wouldn't restart, she was on her own in the car

Rant over!

If she was sitting in the car with the hazards on I wouldn't approach at all for fear she would call the law and think I was some kind of psycho. If she was outside the car with them on that would be a different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Same thing happened to me. Broke down on Strand Road in Dublin heading towards Booterstown almost a year ago. Truck took ages to come so I was left stranded with my hazards on. Fuel pump was bust so someone stopping would've done no good. The amount of filthy looks/waved fists/hoots of horns I got was ridiculous

Sad thing is, youd probably have gotten the same reaction even if the people had known you were genuinely broken down...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

If she was sitting in the car with the hazards on I wouldn't approach at all for fear she would call the law and think I was some kind of psycho. If she was outside the car with them on that would be a different story.

Do you go around dressed as Freddy Krueger?!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

I always thought hazards were for thanking truck drivers who pull into the hard shoulder to let you by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

If I was broken down and I wanted help, I'd put the hazards on, and open the bonnet too. Otherwise I'd assume someone's double parking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

RoverJames wrote: »
    Broken down Megane :eek: Pre 2005 no doubt :)

Don't jump to conclusions on that one - girlfriends friend while driving home from househunting for the next college term, in her parents '10 megane - Engine failure light came on. Car wasn't more than 4 months old... happened again a few weeks later after being fixed, too.

lol, my comment was tongue in cheek as the Renault dudes claim the post 2005 models to be bulletproof :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

djimi wrote: »
    Sad thing is, youd probably have gotten the same reaction even if the people had known you were genuinely broken down...

"How Effing dare you break the F down there you Effing p****. I have to get to Effing work you b*****d!!!"

It sad that its a bit true. . .

Good rant though, I know exactly what you mean. Its just one piece of crap in the jigsaw of Irish motoring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

RoverJames wrote: »
    lol, my comment was tongue in cheek as the Renault dudes claim the post 2005 models to be bulletproof :)

And you claim theres never been a Renault built that hasnt broken down :)

Stekelly wrote: »
    And you claim theres never been a Renault built that hasnt broken down :)

:) In fairness I would be well surprised if it was a modern one that the OPs sis in law has. And the 2010 with the engine light on isn't a break down. Was genuinely a tongue in cheek comment rather than wanting to annoy ye :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

I was going to start a new thread on this exact topic before I realised it most definitely has been done before!

It's got to be one of the most irritating things on Irish roads. My particular gripe is with taxi drivers as they happen to be the group I've noticed doing this the most, but some of them seem to think you can use your hazard lights in lieu of indicators! In general you either get no indication whatsoever that they're pulling in or else the hazard lights come on and you're to guess where they're going!

People already pulled in anywhere with the hazards on do my head in as well, it gives people the impression they can park anywhere once they hit that bloody button! It's most annoying when you see they've pulled in arseways to take a phone call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

yes :( and commercial vehicles that are actually loading get beeped and shouted at as a result. people need to stop doing it

even more important, the Gards need to enforce the Law. All these bad habits stem from poor education of drivers and the laxity of the Gards over the years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Bebo stunnah

What are hazard lights?

Do you mean the magic button with the triangles on it that let me park wherever the hell I want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Don't resurrect 4 year old threads please...