Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Callely in anti-corruption drive

• 13-07-2010 7:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭

You couldn't make this up, who are they trying to kid?

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/callely-in-anticorruption-drive-2255962.html

EMBATTLED senator Ivor Callely was involved in drawing up a report on combating corruption for an international organisation last week.
    The report referred in its conclusion to corruption being the result of decisions "motivated by greed".
    Mr Callely will appear again this evening before a committee of senators investigating the €81,000 he claimed in travel expenses from his former holiday home in west Cork.
    The committee is expected to conclude its investigation shortly and issue its findings.
    The senator's appearance before the committee is thought to be the last public hearing and will follow up with Mr Callely on the evidence of Oireachtas officials on his expenses claims.
    Mr Callely's attendance at the hearing was postponed for a day because he was in Norway as an Oireachtas delegate to the Organisation for Security and Co-Operation in Europe.
    The assembly ended on Saturday with Mr Callely re-elected as vice-chairman of the General Committee on Economic Affairs, Science, Technology and Environment.
    His committee delivered a report to the conference on crime and corruption, entitled 'Rule of Law: Combating Transnational Crime and Corruption'. The primary author of the report was a member of parliament from Ukraine.
    The report concluded that as long ago as the first century BC the ancient Roman historian Gaius Sallustius Crispus wrote: "Wealth does not diminish greed."
    - Fionnan Sheahan
    Irish Independent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

Is "Poacher pretends to be Gamekeeper" a saying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Well... it takes a thief to catch a thief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭petergfiffin

Ah I think people are being a bit harsh...Ivor has a long history of corruption drives, especially from Cork to Dublin ;)

Ah come on...it was only a matter of time before somebody said it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

The stones on the cnut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

bugler wrote: »
    Is "Poacher pretends to be Gamekeeper" a saying?

On that note, it was reported in the Daily Mail and Metro yesterday that pranksters were leaving snakes in his garden.
    The gardai were called several times on it

Trying to find a link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

orourkeda wrote: »
    The stones on the cnut

And a smile that would butter bread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

On that note, it was reported in the Daily Mail and Metro yesterday that pranksters were leaving snakes in his garden.
    The gardai were called several times on it

Trying to find a link

Were they trying to make him feel more at home. After all, he is a snake surrounded by snakes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

That was pretty much the aim I'd say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Calley on an anti-corruption drive!
    ...Thats just an ironic case of taking the piss!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Biggins wrote: »
    Calley on an anti-corruption drive!
    ...Thats just an ironic case of taking the piss!
    It's not even par for the course

Liam Lawlor on the Dail ethics committee

Murderer found in Attorney General's house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

In other news, Justice minister leaks Garda file to tame journo . . . . oh wait that's been done already . whoops!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

his is ****ing gas, readin the indo at work and ya hear about his anti corruption drive, then I open the sun and on page 2 you het a breakdown on his expenses spent on doing up his office, spent €20k+ and then left the office 2 has later,

stragest thing he spent the money on was sound proofing his office, is that norm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

This is akin to Roman Polanski offering babysitting services!

matt coopers show is sure dishing all his dirt now

Jesus his drives me f-ing mental!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

look the sooner we all admit that these guys/gals are only a shower of chancer fcukers the better

these clowns shouldn't be left in charge of the television remote

get to fcuk you bastard mother fcukers!!!

hope ye all get horrible diseases and the worst luck imaginable be bestowed upon you all

what the fcuk are we like for takin all this bull****!!!!????!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

listen to ivor at 17:11 pm on rte mary wilson drivetime

the guy is laughing at us 'the many tax paying leprachauns of ireland'

the little people

and did ya hear him

I could have come here with a bunch of solicitors but I didn't as the truth is crystal

cork is my main residence

I love it wen politicians dig their heels in defying the inevitable that they are dead meat

see ya later Ivor ya big prick!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Elevator wrote: »
    look the sooner we all admit that these guys/gals are only a shower of chancer fcukers the better

these clowns shouldn't be left in charge of the television remote

get to fcuk you bastard mother fcukers!!!

hope ye all get horrible diseases and the worst luck imaginable be bestowed upon you all

what the fcuk are we like for takin all this bull****!!!!????!!!!!
    Not a fan of politicians then??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

cnuts the lot of them time for a new right leaning political group doing away with thieves, scammers and PC bullsh1t

blueser wrote: »
    Not a fan of politicians then??

I have to upmost respect for the good guys but as far as any of them that try to wriggle their way out of trouble they can kiss my arse on the way back down

they have done unbelieveable damage to us all and we should see spike island reopened for him, cowen, drumm, etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Surfsmurf

And a smile that would butter bread.

on both sides:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

Not unless of course both sides passed a brown envelope...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

sligopark wrote: »
    Not unless of course both sides passed a brown envelope...
    An honest politician is one that when bought stays bought.