Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

quick vid

• 12-07-2010 10:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭

have been a bit slack with the retreive training lately so thought i better do a bit with her today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

dicky82 wrote: »

have been a bit slack with the retreive training lately so thought i better do a bit with her today.

A really well trained dog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

thanks tack, i wasnt saing that 20 mins before that she was acting like a premadonna but came good with a cross word. :rolleyes: shes a smashin little dog though. :D

this is the second retreive.
    the only thing i can say on this is . . . . . name that tune. :D:D

this is the second retreive.
    the only thing i can say on this is . . . . . name that tune. :D:D

If you be my body guard, I can be your long lost pal ;)

thats quie an offer tack.:D you got it in one.
    that damm phone never fails to go off when i least want it to. :mad:

thats quie an offer tack.:D you got it in one.
    that damm phone never fails to go off when i least want it to. :mad:

Mine is, the Good, The bad and the ugly :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Mine is, the Good, The bad and the ugly :D:D

Bet i can guess which one you are!!!:p:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

you seam to have that dog under control. you should be in top form for the season:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

lovely dog dicky, as said you should be flying come the start of the season.

best of luck

Eddie B wrote: »
    Bet i can guess which one you are!!!:p:D:D

None of the above :D

jap gt wrote: »
    lovely dog dicky, as said you should be flying come the start of the season.

best of luck

thanks, lets hope the birds are flying too, and more importantly that i can bladdy hit some, hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

and more importantly that i can bladdy hit some, hahaha

+1 ;)

Dog looking sharp Dicky- how's she going on the ditches & blind retrieves??

thanks ep, that dog lives for the retreive, she'd fetch that dummy all day long, (i dont over do it of corse) her blind retreives are good, i have'nt lost a dummy yet with them (touch wood).
    shes obedient with the ditches and going into cover although there is the odd time she wont go in but i put that down to her knowing there is nothing in there or alternatively that there is something in a bit further down. but shes pretty good besides.
    to be honest im really chuffed with her, first dog ive ever trained,
    might try my luck with a hpr dog now, hahaha.

thanks ep, that dog lives for the retreive, she'd fetch that dummy all day long, (i dont over do it of corse) her blind retreives are good, i have'nt lost a dummy yet with them (touch wood).
    shes obedient with the ditches and going into cover although there is the odd time she wont go in but i put that down to her knowing there is nothing in there or alternatively that there is something in a bit further down. but shes pretty good besides.
    to be honest im really chuffed with her, first dog ive ever trained,

how old is she dicky

Fair play - she's a credit to you in fairness. Few birds will finish her off.

Now you talking. Don't get me wrong springers are a joy & I'm training 1 as well now but the HPR are a different class of animal IMO. Love watching them work & respond at few hundred yards.

Although hard to beat a good woodock day though with a Springer!

Ah jaysus just get both like me & you can't lose!! :D

cant really comment on the woodcock day, although ive seen a good few when out last season i always found myself looking going hmmm think that was a woodcock probably should have taken a shot. :rolleyes::o.

ive always loved the look of the english/llewellin setter now im getting a soft spot for the irish setter and you cant deny that the gsp's and ep's are a class looking dog both working and idle. . .

so tally it up, :rolleyes: 2 rotts, a jacker, a springer, an english and irish setter, an ep and a gsp, 30 odd poults and two ferrets. . . and most importantly the six numbers for the euro millions this weekend. that will be me happy out. :D

cant really comment on the woodcock day, although ive seen a good few when out last season i always found myself looking going hmmm think that was a woodcock probably should have taken a shot. :rolleyes::o.

ive always loved the look of the english/llewellin setter now im getting a soft spot for the irish setter and you cant deny that the gsp's and ep's are a class looking dog both working and idle. . .

so tally it up, :rolleyes: 2 rotts, a jacker, a springer, an english and irish setter, an ep and a gsp, 30 odd poults and two ferrets. . . and most importantly the six numbers for the euro millions this weekend. that will be me happy out. :D

Finding the time for them all is the thing. Get the jacker working with the springer if you can & that's 1 more that gets exercise.
    Pick a setting dog you like but wait til after this season to see how the springer gets on. Might need another season yet you see. Could easily work 2 springers together with 1 on heal if you liked on a Sat & the setter on the sunday. 3 gun dogs is easy manage if you can get out 2 days & have trained them all with some time apart.

That woodcock thing happens everyone. They are so silent in flight. After awhile the reaction will be natural & the gun will be on the shoulder. Good to see your not just blasting at everything. You'll also learn to read the dog & know when she's on a trail so be keyed up.

sound advise as always ep. yeah i take the jacker out with the springer alright he just potters along with us but is getting more and more interested.

ah im just procrastinating about getting all these pooches. if i did get a hpr dog it would probably be the llewellin setter a nice lemmon one i think. be a while off yet though.

heres another quick video. just acting the maggot at the end of the garden with this one.

sorry or hijacking dicky, but my question is hardly worthy of a thread..

i have my setter bang on with the recall and she will retrieve 9/10 dummys, but no way will she bring it back to me, she will recall but will keep running away from me with the dummy, any advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭irish setter

Finding the time for them all is the thing. Get the jacker working with the springer if you can & that's 1 more that gets exercise.
    Pick a setting dog you like but wait til after this season to see how the springer gets on. Might need another season yet you see. Could easily work 2 springers together with 1 on heal if you liked on a Sat & the setter on the sunday. 3 gun dogs is easy manage if you can get out 2 days & have trained them all with some time apart.

That woodcock thing happens everyone. They are so silent in flight. After awhile the reaction will be natural & the gun will be on the shoulder. Good to see your not just blasting at everything. You'll also learn to read the dog & know when she's on a trail so be keyed up.

is one day a week enough to be working your dog?? training and walking are fine but it's not the same. that's the main reason i started trialling because the season just wasn't enough for dog or me. just a question

jap gt wrote: »
    sorry or hijacking dicky, but my question is hardly worthy of a thread..

i have my setter bang on with the recall and she will retrieve 9/10 dummys, but no way will she bring it back to me, she will recall but will keep running away from me with the dummy, any advice

hijack away my friend, its only a thread not a boeing 747.:D

this does however put weight to the arguement for a sticky on dog training. :rolleyes:

im no expert, but from what ive been told and shown my advise would never chase the dog if it has the dummy, you'll start a game that the dog will aleways want to play.

try kneeling down and clapping and encouraging the dog to bring the dummy back. if this isnt successful, try hupping the dog when it shows signs of doing a runner, at least when its hupped its stationary, then try the recall??

hope this helps. ;)

is one day a week enough to be working your dog?? training and walking are fine but it's not the same. that's the main reason i started trialling because the season just wasn't enough for dog or me. just a question

Probably wasn't vey clear.
    During the season I run the pointer on a Sat morning & the Springer on a Sat after dinner. After 3-4 hours in our country (very wet) the dog will hardly come out of the box so I know they've had their fill for on day.
    Then on a Sunday I alternate again.

So Thats about 8 hours a weekend per dog.
    This usually keeps em tired looking til about Tuesday before their back bouncing off the ground so I rest & feed em up on Monday.

I work mid week so don't have time to get out for a shot before it's dark so the dogs exercise is limited to having the run of the garden when I'm back every day & to come jogging with me 2 times mid week every week regardless of weather.

They get obedience & dummy work at every meal (2 times a day) 2-3 throws each, heel, sit stay etc) 10 mins max.

Off season They get 3 jogs a week plus water work & training. Agreed not the same as hunting but my runs are 10Km, 10mile & 10km on a 3 day cycle & up to 10 mile,16mile,10Km coming up to marathons so they cover enough ground to keep them fit believe me. (all bar 1st mile on grass BTW)

At times I find it hard to keep weight on the pointer especially. No shortage of exercise my friend & all the time they are under control - heeling, recall when on the bank etc cause I let them have the run of it so they probably cover twice as much ground.
    They love it and they know all too well the difference between a hunting day & a run the minute I come out the door so there are no detremental affects in their training as far as I can see- if anything it helps the bond.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Donalmit

Hi Jap.
    have my setter bang on with the recall and she will retrieve 9/10 dummies, but no way will she bring it back to me, she will recall but will keep running away from me with the dummy, any advice

A couple of things you can do.....

1. Start off on a laneway or narrow quiet road. Throw the dummy for her; keep her on the drop for a few seconds, then send her for the retrieve. Call her up on the whistle. If she tries to run past you, grab her (not the dummy), love her up a little and take the dummy from her. Only praise her while she has the dummy in her mouth. You don't want her to be dropping the dummy as if this happens with a lively duck you could loose it.
    2. If she is walking to heel it is easier still.. Still on the laneway.....Start off with a nice but strict "walking-to-heel" session. Throw the dummy for her as before and send for the retrieve. When she has lifted it, whistle her up and start walking away from her; as she catches up with you call her into heel. If she passes you out, turn away from her, walk the other direction, and call her up again. Keep doing this and her turns will become shorter and shorter and eventually she will heel in close to you. Let her carry it for a few yards....stop walking and tell her to sit. Praise her big-time and only then take the dummy from her.A few other things that may help.
    1. Try to get down to the dogs level when calling them into you.
    2. Don't look into her eyes as she approaches you.
    3. Three retrieves is plenty in a session.
    4. If she starts mucking about with the dummy, stop the session straight away and do something else.
    5. Teaching a dog to heel is unbelievably simple and the benefits from a dog safety and retrieving point-of-view are huge.
    6. A dog is never too old to learn something new.
    7. A maximum of 3*15 minute sessions per day is enough to train up a dog to a very high level.

Hope this helps a little

Rgds,Mitch