Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

chances of gaining 2nd court order against new neighbour

• 12-07-2010 11:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭

hi guys,last year i suscessfully gained a court order against my neighbour for noise.6 months ago they thankfully sold up and moved.however the new owners are becoming as bad as last owners.saturday night they came home with 3 friends and had loud music till 3am.i rang gardai an when they left they simply turned music back up.this is their 3rd party in last 2 months.i was wondering would my chances be just as good as gaining a 2nd court order against the new owners or could the judge frown on me and think im the 1 with the problem.which clearly im not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭horsebox1977

kerrylad1 wrote: »
    hi guys,last year i suscessfully gained a court order against my neighbour for noise.6 months ago they thankfully sold up and moved.however the new owners are becoming as bad as last owners.saturday night they came home with 3 friends and had loud music till 3am.i rang gardai an when they left they simply turned music back up.this is their 3rd party in last 2 months.i was wondering would my chances be just as good as gaining a 2nd court order against the new owners or could the judge frown on me and think im the 1 with the problem.which clearly im not.

Sounds to me like your the one with the problem.
    Did you knock over to your neightbours and ask them to turn down the music?

It's Saturday night and 3 parties in 8 weeks isnt too bad.
    Personally I'd put up with it.
    Get a set of ear plugs or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

A party on a saturday night isn't really that big a crime. Where you not invited?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

If you have a baby who is woken up by the noise, or if someone in your house has to be at work early next morning you could consider calling to your neighbour to discuss matters, or invite them into your house for a chat.

Having four friends in doesn't seem like a huge party.

"putting the law" on neighbours either thru Garda complaint or solicitors letter should not be done lightly. As Churchill said "jaw jaw better than war war"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 cagney88

Believe me, I like my peace and quiet as much as the next person, but frankly, I think you're being unreasonable. If it was 3 parties a week, Id understand, but 3 parties in 2 months....that's normal!

Fair enough if you work Saturdays and Sundays like myself, it can be annoying but if not...maybe you should look for a detached home.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

3 parties in 2 months with only 4 friends isn't much tbh. 3am on a saturda night. Not like it's all the time every weekend til 6 am. Maybe you should move to a detached house in the middle of your own land :D

You may have to kill a few sheep and cows to make sure they get the message tho.

To answer your question, I think your're right re the judge. He might see it as you being a bit up tight about small amounts of noise. Are you counting the housewarming party as 1 of the parties? Most people still throw a party for a few friends to celebrate buying their house etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It really depends on what kind of neighbour - attached/detached/apartment?

And of course on how loud the music is. A "party" with 4 people, I doubt the music was all that loud, otherwise they wouldn't have been able to chat.

As others say, if this was a constant problem and it was occuring midweek, OK. But 3 parties (presumably on a Saturday) in the space of two months I wouldn't consider to be nuisance neighbours.

Talk to them. Nothing like a legal letter in their mailbox to make neighbours think you're the local crank/nutcase and steer clear of you.

I can be pretty bad for loud music. I like my music. A few years back I was living in a semi-d, and the neighbours beside us had 3 youngish kids. I was in my early 20s, so children were a foreign concept. One day the doorbell rang, the mother from next door very nicely explained that her youngest two were trying to sleep and if I could keep the noise down a little, that'd be great.
    I often could often hear noises coming from their house through the walls, so I understood how the music could be disturbing them.

That sorted the problem from their side, I wasn't annoyed and there was no need for any animosity, let alone Gardai or court dates.

Talk to them, they probably don't realise that you can hear what's going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

guys,when they had their house warming i didnt ring guards and had a word the next day to tell um its not on.they apoligised and were nice an quiet again for about 2 months and then 1 nite again were very noisey.i rang the guards and they havent looked at us since, so talking to them is out of the question.i just want peace and quiet and i just wonder would i get the judge to order another nosie order against them too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

To be fair I don't think you would be successful. Just because you don't have parties doesn't mean they can't have any whatsoever. They don't do it often, it's been what 4 parties in 4 months?

The house warming, 2 month wait then 3 parties in 2 months. By party were they large in anyway or just literally the 3 -4 friends? I had 3 lads down and we drank a couple of beers and played the wii etc. We were load cos we were ahving a bit of craic so laughing a lot. We didn't even put any music on at all. But we were loud by simply laughing and chatting. I'm sure the neighbour would have heard us but he didn't mind at all.

If they are just being a bit loud every now and then I think you're over reacting big time. If it was every weekend or 3 times a month you'd have a point. I'd ignore you too if I had the 2nd party 2 months later and you called the guards, that was a huge over reaction.

If you get easily stressed by any noise at night perhaps a talk with a doctor may be needed. Not saying you need to, but 1 party every now and then and you go calling the guards I think some sleeping pills might go a long way...