Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will RTÉ please put on The Sunday Game *now*?

• 11-07-2010 9:30pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭

It's Sunday night and most of us have to get up early tomorrow morning. It is now 22.30. Is it too much to ask that RTÉ end its overbearingly pompous soccer coverage and put on the football NOW? It is already a full hour late.

The closing pomp and ceremony of the World Cup might entertain Hello! readers but such vacuous trite taking up the past hour of what should have been one of the best Sunday Games in years is just too much.

They are now saying that analysis, Apres Match and a load more soccer crap is still to come. So, when will The Sunday Game begin? 11.30pm? Do the sages in RTÉ Sport think us GAA supporters have nothing better to do this late on a Sunday night?!!

RTÉ arseholes. Ignorant soccer-obsessed wankstains treating GAA people like this.

/rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Ah come on, its the world cup final, happens once every 4 years. RTE are hardly to blame for it going to extra time. The nature of live sport means that sometimes games go to extra time and schedules are shifted around. Its happened before with GAA games too you know.

We should be just thankful that we have so much top notch sport on free to air TV this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

It's on at 10:40 and over at 12:20. It's an outrage i tell you. It'll be some craic with the Louth discussions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The biggest game, in the biggest tournament, of the most popular sport in the world has to take precedence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭alphapa

Rebelheart wrote: »
    It's Sunday night and most of us have to get up early tomorrow morning. It is now 22.30. Is it too much to ask that RTÉ end its overbearingly pompous soccer coverage and put on the football NOW? It is already a full hour late.

The closing pomp and ceremony of the World Cup might entertain Hello! readers but such vacuous trite taking up the past hour of what should have been one of the best Sunday Games in years is just too much.

They are now saying that analysis, Apres Match and a load more soccer crap is still to come. So, when will The Sunday Game begin? 11.30pm? Do the sages in RTÉ Sport think us GAA supporters have nothing better to do this late on a Sunday night?!!

RTÉ arseholes. Ignorant soccer-obsessed wankstains treating GAA people like this.

/rant over.

unfortunately its not like a gaa final where they just blow it up for a replay without any extra time! so sit tight buddy!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

It's 22.42 and I just lifted the mute button and there is no sign in the world of those four arseholes - Dunphy, O'Herlihy, Giles and Brady - stopping talking.

On my time. And on my Licence money. Give us football!

/rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Munster Minor Final>>>>>World Diving and Whinging Cup Final in South Africa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Had the soccer on for 10 minutes and just had to switch it off cos I kept nodding off. How can ya compare the excitment of the Meath/Louth game to that 90 mins of dullsville.
    And whats with the 'lovely ladies' standing behind all the politicans and players helping to give out the medals at the end. Ugh,give me Tony Davies and Joanne Cantwell any day of the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Cormac2791

In all honesty, I think more people in Ireland will have watched the World Cup final than Louth v Meath on the Sunday Game. *rolleyes*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

The World Cup is bigger. It gets preference.

The biggest game, in the biggest tournament, of the most popular sport in the world has to take precedence.

Not in Ireland where we have a sport which is far more popular and much better supported than this flash in the pan event.

If you were talking about some international TV station you'd have a point.

In all honesty, I think more people in Ireland will have watched the World Cup final than Louth v Meath on the Sunday Game. *rolleyes*

Yeah, well considering we haven't had a choice in the matter for the past 1 hour and 20 minutes I can see why you'd think that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

SantryRed wrote: »
    The World Cup is bigger. It gets preference.

It might be bigger but it ain't better than Thurles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭alphapa

Not in Ireland where we have a sport which is far more popular and much better supported than this flash in the pan event.

the world cup is a "flash in the pan event" o dear! it could do with a few back doors to keep the big teams in it ill give ya that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭golfbgud

22:50 and still waiting.......zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

/rant over.

What an insular and tribal outlook! The World Cup Final is only on once every four years. Even non sports fans will watch the final.

I don't see why they couldn't put the Sunday Game on RTE1. Then everyone would be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

+1....yay think its starting now!:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

LOL

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Koloman wrote: »
    What an insular and tribal outlook! The World Cup Final is only on once every four years. Even non sports fans will watch the final.

I don't see why they couldn't put the Sunday Game on RTE1. Then everyone would be happy.

I wouldn't, a lot of us have a major interest in both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Onthe3rdDay

In my experience looking at people, when your county is not involved the interest quickly wanes.

Not the case with the soccer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭pokerface_me

Lads its started and by Jasus hold on to yer hats, feck the world cup this is entertainment for ya..

What an insular and tribal outlook!

Yes, I'm sorry for not being interested in something you are interested in. Ergo, I must be "tribal".
    The World Cup Final is only on once every four years.

That's fine; good for it. But it has been eating into my time for the past 90 minutes when The Sunday Game was scheduled to be on. The interests of soccer fans are being satisfied at our expense. It is "tribal" of soccer fans to think they have a right to do this.

Even non sports fans will watch the final.

Yes, and (many) non sports fans will watch the Meath v Louth match tonight (if it ever comes on). Your point?

I agree (although the people who wanted to watch whatever it is that's on there will probably not, of course).

Finally! Well done, RTÉ. 23.00!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

It's on now, so thread locked and OP banned for a week for this: