Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda and NCT and boy racers

• 10-07-2010 06:48PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭

Someone told me that AGS are trying to negotiate with NCT to have the centre open after hours so that boy racers, if stopped, can have their cars taken to a centre and tested there and then. Anyone know anything of that?

I think it is for boy racers who change the exhaust to pass the test then change back. I think there would be a charge of not having a valid disc if found to be louder than should be

Surely a roadside sound measuring meter would be more convenient

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭PrimalTherapy

Surely a roadside sound measuring meter would be more convenient
    Don't thin you could test to nct standards with that? AFAIK it is about the NCT disc not being valid if they fail to meet the standards, and, I cannot be certain but i think there was a mention of 5 penalty points if it failed? Could be wrong on that, but it was garda who said it anyway during a radio interview which i did not hear myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭pitkan

The whole purpose of the NCT is to ensure that your vehicle is in proper roadworthiness. This thread is referring to youths who remove alterations in order to pass the test and then replace them having passed the test. It would appear that this is a wrong thing to be doing but the irony of the test is that most cars are left into a garage for a pre NCT and things like the one headlight working/the tyre wearing etc etc are rectified then though up to that point the car was not in what would be deemed roadworthy. Then, after the test, the other headlight fails etc etc and it`s left on the long finger to be rectified.
    Slightly off topic but as it would seem the Gardai are targeting young drivers in this case - the Gardai over the past few years have managed to alienate a whole generation of young people by their undivided attention to the boy racer set. These youths will be the people of the future whom the Gardai will be hoping for information from but which may not be forthcoming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

pitkan wrote: »
    The whole purpose of the NCT is to ensure that your vehicle is in proper roadworthiness. This thread is referring to youths who remove alterations in order to pass the test and then replace them having passed the test. It would appear that this is a wrong thing to be doing but the irony of the test is that most cars are left into a garage for a pre NCT and things like the one headlight working/the tyre wearing etc etc are rectified then though up to that point the car was not in what would be deemed roadworthy. Then, after the test, the other headlight fails etc etc and it`s left on the long finger to be rectified.
    Slightly off topic but as it would seem the Gardai are targeting young drivers in this case - the Gardai over the past few years have managed to alienate a whole generation of young people by their undivided attention to the boy racer set. These youths will be the people of the future whom the Gardai will be hoping for information from but which may not be forthcoming.

Lets get this cleared up.The Gardaí target everyone. This is just another method to tackle ONE area of crime. It is very narrow minded to think the Gardaí spend an unfair amount of time targeting one area or aspect of law. The reason 'Boy Racers' do get pulled over and thoroughly policed when stopped is because of the ridiculous volume of their exhausts, the lack of licence plates, constant lack of licences and insurance certs on hand and the general state of the vehicles that would possibly not pass a vehicle inspection etc...
    i think this idea of opening a 24hr NCT centre is ridiculous and cant see it happening. Although his is the first i've heard of it.

pitkan wrote: »
    the Gardai over the past few years have managed to alienate a whole generation of young people by their undivided attention to the boy racer set. .
    Boy racers alienate themselves with their anti social behaviour. I do not think the garda have give them undivided attention, more the pity. Hopefully this NCT thing will happen

cursai wrote: »
    Lets get this cleared up.The Gardaí target everyone. This is just another method to tackle ONE area of crime. It is very narrow minded to think the Gardaí spend an unfair amount of time targeting one area or aspect of law. The reason 'Boy Racers' do get pulled over and thoroughly policed when stopped is because of the ridiculous volume of their exhausts, the lack of licence plates, constant lack of licences and insurance certs on hand and the general state of the vehicles that would possibly not pass a vehicle inspection etc...
    i think this idea of opening a 24hr NCT centre is ridiculous and cant see it happening. Although his is the first i've heard of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,411 ✭✭✭Tefral

ridiculous volume of their exhausts, the lack of licence plates, constant lack of licences and insurance certs on hand and the general state of the vehicles that would possibly not pass a vehicle inspection etc...

Im sorry, but do you have any evidence to back this up or are you just making it up? And its not a legal requirement to carry around your insurance certificate.

I suppose you have the NCT stats to say that modified cars consistantly fail inspections?

If not, stop talking bull****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,058 ✭✭✭civdef

England has a Vehicle Defect Rectification System for this eventuality, if you get pulled over with a possible (but not immediately dangerous) failure, you get a VDRS ticket, and have to get the vehicle fixed and then tested at a MOT centre within something like 7-14 days (can't remember the specifics).

Useful for loud exhausts, non standard licence plates etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

The reason 'Boy Racers' do get pulled over and thoroughly policed when stopped is because of the ridiculous volume of their exhausts, the lack of licence plates, constant lack of licences and insurance certs on hand and the general state of the vehicles that would possibly not pass a vehicle inspection etc...

Theres nothing wrong with not carrying your insurance cert, if there was then whats the point in having an insurance disc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Boy racers should just be castrated on the spot tbh. How in the name of God anyone can justify spending 1000's on a ****ty ugly little piece of crap civic and attaching a dinner-plate sized exhaust make my head spin. When you think of the marques, albeit old, you can get for the same money these days it's sickening.

sdonn wrote: »
    Boy racers should just be castrated on the spot tbh. How in the name of God anyone can justify spending 1000's on a ****ty ugly little piece of crap civic and attaching a dinner-plate sized exhaust make my head spin. When you think of the marques, albeit old, you can get for the same money these days it's sickening.

I think that people who spend thousands every year on drink, puke on the streets and wake up with a hangover the next day the same...

Dont get me started on the people wasting thousands of euro on cigarettes...

Id rather spend my money on my car and have something to be proud of then waste my money like above and have nothing to show for it expect bad breath, bad skin and an empty wallet.

Anyway i do believe this is getting off point.

The NCT is only a test of your car at that moment, that applies to ANY car, you could drive out of the nct drive down the road hit a pothole and your bulb could blow, and your tracking could be off as a result that can happen in a standard car as much as a modified one

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Someone told me that AGS are trying to negotiate with NCT to have the centre open after hours so that boy racers, if stopped, can have their cars taken to a centre and tested there and then. Anyone know anything of that?

I think it is for boy racers who change the exhaust to pass the test then change back. I think there would be a charge of not having a valid disc if found to be louder than should be

It is an offence to change your exhaust in any way from standard and the Gardai prosecute this offence and always have.

cronin_j wrote: »
    The NCT is only a test of your car at that moment, that applies to ANY car, you could drive out of the nct drive down the road hit a pothole and your bulb could blow, and your tracking could be off as a result that can happen in a standard car as much as a modified one
    that is right but there must be some way or they would not be trying to do this arrangemet with nct and the sooner they deal with the modified muppets the better

Chief--- wrote: »
    It is an offence to change your exhaust in any way from standard and the Gardai prosecute this offence and always have.
    then why are there so many of them around?An it is also an offence to have no conforming number plates and there are loads of them too. Good for the gardai who prosecute but not always.

Can you tell me is there a special time they stop for these exhausts as have seen them ignore them on several occasions?

sdonn wrote: »
    Boy racers should just be castrated on the spot .
    i don't think there is anything there, must be compensating for something:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

This thread caught my eye, and I'd just like to say they(AGS) don't just pull over boy racers and check their cars over, I was stopped in January 2 weeks after my NCT, the officer checked all the lights and the tires etc. When I pointed out that I'd just passed the nct I was told, "you'd be surprised how many people swap tires etc just to pass the nct, then put the old ones back". I was on the side of the road for 5 mins, with 3 kids and 2 dogs in a Renault Clio, and I'm a woman. All insurance, tax and license etc were correct and I got a "thank you very much, everything is in order madam" when he was done.
    As I pulled away he was pulling over a santa fe with a trailer.

I have no problem with someone altering their cars to suit their taste, its their money, or playing music loudly on massive speakers, its the ones that break the law that I have a problem with or the ones that do stupid dangerous things like my neighbour who drives with the kids standing on the seat with heads out the sunroof.

Edited to add, I like looking at modified cars(some look great, some hilarious) but those bloody exhausts roaring up and down the roads into the wee hours of the morning I could happily do without.

then why are there so many of them around?An it is also an offence to have no conforming number plates and there are loads of them too. Good for the gardai who prosecute but not always.

Can you tell me is there a special time they stop for these exhausts as have seen them ignore them on several occasions?

Ive seen more non conforming plates on standard cars than i have on Modified ones.

To the modifying community having a non conforming plate is like waving a red flag to a bull, its not worth it to have slanted writing or whatever.. Plus it looks shite

mymo wrote: »
    , "you'd be surprised how many people swap tires etc just to pass the nct, then put the old ones back".
    i heard of someone borrowing a catalytic converter to pass the emissions part of nct

Ive seen more non conforming plates on standard cars than i have on Modified ones.

To the modifying community having a non conforming plate is like waving a red flag to a bull, its not worth it to have slanted writing or whatever.. Plus it looks shite
    Is the modified community the loud exhaust. not being smart, want clarification. Would loud exhaust not
    cause as much red flag/bull as plates?

There is no special time. It is up to each Garda as to who they prosecute and for what.

Take a trip into a district court (any member of the public can enter these) on a traffic offences day.

You might be surprised as to how many people end up in these and for what offences.

Is the modified community the loud exhaust. not being smart, want clarification. Would loud exhaust not
    cause as much red flag/bull as plates?

I think youll find the real enthusiasts dont drive around at night with cannons hanging off the back of our cars.

I have a modified exhaust which is a "Mugen Twinloop", its proven as being QUIETER than the standard one on my car, while increasing torque.

So before you pull out the big oul brush of tar maybe you should actually inform yourself, even the members of the AGS here have stated the existing laws are more than adequate.

In fact ill inform you a little, that the NCT dB test for the exhausts in 99dB while the law of this land : (Passenger Car Entry into Service) (Amendment) Regulations 2008, states that no car can have an exhaust dB level above 74 dB unless its a diesel where your allowed 75 dB, the guards have testers for this too...

that the NCT dB test for the exhausts in 99dB while the law of this land : (Passenger Car Entry into Service) (Amendment) Regulations 2008, states that no car can have an exhaust dB level above 74 dB unless its a diesel
    how come some cases fail then because they say there is no way to prove how loud a car is and it has to be in opinion of garda?

where your allowed 75 dB, the guards have testers for this too...
    if you mean noise meters then not all guards have them

how come some cases fail then because they say there is no way to prove how loud a car is and it has to be in opinion of garda?

What your referring to is whereby a person is summoned to court by the garda exercising his powers under the "Construction, Equipment and Use of Vehicles regulations 1963", however there are ways around this, and those of us well informed use these avenues to dispute the gardas opinion. At the end of the day the person with the most evidence in court wins.. Sometimes a gardas evidence just doesnt stack up. In fact its a common occurance whereby the garda doesnt even bother to show up and the judge strikes it out.
    if you mean noise meters then not all guards have them

The gardai do have these decibel testers at their disposal, as you say not all may have them, but 50 of them made their way to garda stations along with the training, about this time last year.

At the end of the day the person with the most evidence in court wins.. Sometimes a gardas evidence just doesnt stack up. In fact its a common occurance whereby the garda doesnt even bother to show up and the judge strikes it out.
    i do not understand how, if it is a law as you say,
    that the NCT dB test for the exhausts in 99dB while the law of this land : (Passenger Car Entry into Service) (Amendment) Regulations 2008, states that no car can have an exhaust dB level above 74 dB unless its a diesel
    and the guards have meters their evidence could be disputed
    i know of one case taken recently where the garda did not have a meter

i do not understand how, if it is a law as you say

Because like everything in law, the whole thing has grey areas, im not about to educate anybody on how this is possible, because morons will use it to their advantage, at the moment the only people who know how its done are educated and have a brain. Ie. Guys & Girls who generally dont have 10" exhausts on their car.
    and the guards have meters their evidence could be disputed
    i know of one case taken recently where the garda did not have a meter
    Well put it this way, how you take the measurements are VERY specific, if only one of these dont stand up in court, well the reading is invalid..

Because like everything in law, the whole thing has grey areas, im not about to educate anybody on how this is possible, because morons will use it to their advantage, at the moment the only people who know how its done are educated and have a brain. Ie. Guys & Girls who generally dont have 10" exhausts on their car.

Well put it this way, how you take the measurements are VERY specific, if only one of these dont stand up in court, well the reading is invalid..
    i think they already do. if they are not breaking the law why do they have to know. And anyway it is not the preserve of a few, i can find out from other sources

Because sometimes the Gardas opinion of someone or something may not always be objective, even the most professional of people have a human element and im going to leave that there...

And your right its not the preserve of the few, its printed in our laws, on the internet etc, but its generally educated people know where to look, im not about to help the guy in the micra keeping kids up a night, who likes to look at boards every now and again get off easy for driving a **** box with a huge exhaust, in my opinion the Garda can screw him all the way to the court.

Ok I think we can all agree this is not going to happen. Whoever told you is talking rubbish.

Aswell as that having a NCT Certificate and your car being road legal are two different things.

Thread has run its course.

Thank You.