Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A quick question

• 10-07-2010 2:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭

Hey guys,
    I think this is in the right section, let's hope so.
    I considered putting it under the TV section but it's more about my PS3.
    Anyway, let's cut to the chase.

I've a relatively old American TV here, about 10 years old I'd say. It was an expensive model at the time and it never got any use since I moved to Ireland.

Anyway, my PS3 is quite awkward for my parents wanting to watch the News and whatnot and I had an idea that the old American TV, which is bigger than the one I've been using in the sittingroom, might work with it.

It's a different AV connection or somewhat. (I'm not very au fait with TV terms or anything but I have a slight idea.)

Attached are photos of the problem, but I just want to know whether it can work with this TV? I'd love if it could because it'd mean more gaming time :D

Maybe there's an adapter I can buy?

Last question, it can't do any harm to my PS3 could it?

Cheers lads, appreciate it.
    Doocey

15yvuc1.jpg

It's the normal AV connection for my PS3, rather than the three different coloured wires.

I'm sounding like a stupid cnut here I know. :o

Ye might know what I'm on about.
    Dooce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭eddhorse

Is there any other connectors, like scart etc ?
    That's the only connector?

EDIT : Actually that might some sort of F Connectior is we are looking at it straight on, can you take a pic of the side of the connector?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

as eddhorse says, there should be a scart connection on the TV. If there is then your set

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

That's the only connection I'm afriad so I doubt it'll work?

It's got the F connection that a piece can be screwed on to? That's for 'old style' cable TV though I presume?

No way or putting a scart piece into it?

I dont think it will work. I doubt there is a connector for it as well. Maybe someone else here can help?

Edit: Actually, maybe a scart to coaxial might work http://www.maplin.co.uk/searchtemplate.asp?criteria=SCART%20TO%20COAXIAL%20CONVERTER

I'm certain if u did get it to work, the picture quality would be pretty bad also

Ah right. I'd a feeling she would'nt work.

No point buying some yoke for it if the quality would be bad.
    Cheers for clearing it up though :)

Actually, one more question, the AV cable with the old PS1 fits the PS3 too, will it work for it? And it's ok for use?

Just want to know because my current cable is nearly fallign apart and I'm thinking or using the PS1.

Cheers.

no probs. Yea that will work fine, you shouldnt get any problems

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭bonzer1again

Does the American TV turn on here, don't they work on a different mains of 110V?

I have an American transformer type thing. Basically a box that's plugged into normal connection and the American plug is then plugged into the front of it.