Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting Guys to Join Musical Societies?

• 08-07-2010 5:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭

I'm involved in a couple of societies and we have the age old problem of trying to get guys for our shows. Now okay so it might not be the coolest thing to do...but when you figure that women outnumber guys at least 3-1 in most societies...(and in the case of Teachers almost 10-1)...surely that has to count in favour of musicals?

The guys I know who do shows all love it...but why are guys scared to come along. Any ideas to help with recruiting men?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

athtrasna wrote: »
    why are guys scared to come along. Any ideas
    Because they're straight. :D

• Moderators Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

Trick is to get them young - doing a show like Oliver, will get a gang of thieves involved, then try get them roped into doing the Panto or other fundraising shows and events.

We did Oliver in '97, and again this year....the Oliver from '97 played Fagin this time round....

Another trick is to get the kids parents involved in the show too.
    All of my family is involved in the musical society back home, from on stage to off stage, fundraising, technical, costumes, props....

But it is extremely hard to get guys involved - we've had issues for years, often having to draft in the stage crew for walk on parts like guards, nazis, roman guards etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

Nolanger, sexual orientation has nothing to do with being in musicals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Apologies, thought the thread was called Getting Gays to Join Musical Societies? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Nolanger wrote: »
    Apologies, thought the thread was called Getting Gays to Join Musical Societies? :D
    Alas, it should have been called 'Nolanger take a fortnight break'

• Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

As said, you need to get some interested while they are young - more likely to be free from peer pressure oppression and open to self expression. For the slightly older, simply pitch the fact that girls outnumber guys 10-1 :)

We did a musical every year in school (optional) and I usually joined - was just good fun. Guys will often want a friend to join (as happened in my case)...so you're not just pitching to an individual unfortunately but to two or more potential recruits.

Also meant to say that sometimes you need to go against the traditional image of musical societys ("oh great, I'll get to do Oliver"). First play I took part in was Pirates of Penzance - off the wall and hugely entertaining to be a part of. Also was great banter between all involved. First actual play with a proper musical society was either Chess or Jesus Christ Superstar...again, not quite the norm but fun to do.

Plenty of guys very concious of the lack of notes in their head (same situation) - I survived :)

🤪

tales of quick costume changes on side stage and the nudity that come with it also sway the boys lol

• Registered Users Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭wet-paint

star-pants wrote: »
    Alas, it should have been called 'Nolanger take a fortnight break'

Oof, I thought that reply was a nice save!

And he kind of has a point. A lot of guys are scared off musicals because they think it's the domain of the gay guy. If you want to attract a lot more men, do something that'll try and break this stereotype. Advertise a show that has a lot of male parts, or at least a lot of fraternal bonding in it, Whorehouse for example.

Likewise, stop using the idea of sex to try and lure them in, it's pretty patronising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

I tried the musical route but found that there was too much politicking and in-fighting for the lead parts, too much waiting around in order to get your 5 minutes of singing, too much dancing and costume changing which I am not interested in and too much acting, also which I am not interested in.

In order to like musicals you need to be good at and interested in all of the performing arts:- dancing, acting, as well as singing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

That's what musicals are though? If you want to sing join a choir, if you want to dance, join a dance group, if you want to act, join a drama group - for all three in one place, Musical Theatre all the way!

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭AndrewJD

Musical Theatre all the way!
    Cross the sky!
    So intense!

It's just the same stereotypes at work that stop a certain percentage of guys wanting to watch to musicals in the first place. I'd do Sweeney Todd if I were you. Blood, guts, shouting etc. Not the best musical for a society to do (not massive numbers of lead parts...) but not bad in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Deamonn

I think the problem with getting men into musicals has a lot to do with our worlds rarely crossing over. I would love the chance to sing in a musical but I know absolutely no one involved in one. I sing and play music in many bands but auditions sound so daunting and clinically professional so taking the first step seems impossible. Also everyone who sings in a musical also seems to be perfectly trained!

Deamonn wrote: »
    I think the problem with getting men into musicals has a lot to do with our worlds rarely crossing over. I would love the chance to sing in a musical but I know absolutely no one involved in one. I sing and play music in many bands but auditions sound so daunting and clinically professional so taking the first step seems impossible. Also everyone who sings in a musical also seems to be perfectly trained!

So not true in all cases, I know in our local musical society the only auditions are for leading roles (or soloists with regards singing), the chorus just show up :D
    I think its great that if you are a newbie and don't want to go through the hassle of auditioning you can still take part, get to know everyone, work on your talents and think about progressing from chorus to lead the following year!

I also know in recent years they have been organsing get togethers prior to the whole audition/rehearsal schedule so people can meet the members and just socialise with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 seess

Trick is to get them young - doing a show like Oliver, will get a gang of thieves involved, then try get them roped into doing the Panto or other fundraising shows and events.

We did Oliver in '97, and again this year....the Oliver from '97 played Fagin this time round....

Another trick is to get the kids parents involved in the show too.
    All of my family is involved in the musical societyr4 back home, from on stage to off stage, fundraising, technical, costumes, props....

But it is extremely hard to get guys involved - we've had issues for years, often having to draft in the stage crew for walk on parts like guards, nazis, roman guards etc.
    That sounds good, but it is a little difficult to do it. I have similar experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭Larkenn

You could choose a show that appeals more to men such as 'Guy and Dolls', 'West Side Story', 'JCS', 'Whorehouse', 'Sweeney Todd'. Anything that is considered 'manly', instead of shows such as 'Hot Mikado', 'My Fair Lady', 'Hello Dolly'.

Also getting them in young is a great idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭sheesh

I'm doing my second musical at the moment. I started in a choir 5 years ago and got involved in a musical from that side of things. I would get them singing first. I wouldn't underestimate lure of dancing girls either.

I love the choral singing its a great addition to my life its 1 night a week. but the musical is more intense experience and alot of hard work but great fun it is a big commitment as the show date approaches we will be rehearsing the eight nights before the musical .

btw I'm 39 op could try looking for older people or people looking to do something different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 wingsnfire

What about holding a karaoke type showtunes sing-a-long in a bar? Costumes optional! It would show also that not all musical theatre is like THE SOUND OF MUSIC there are great newer works like CHESS (OK that one isn't so new) or KRISTINA by Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus. Then there is the US composer Jeremy Schonfeld who did DRIFT and I think may be staging IRON & COAL. Part of the trouble could be that musical theatre appears stayed because newer shows don't get put on much by societies, the newer shows may appeal to younger people.

Was reading a biog in a programme last week from a guy doing his second musical (he's 19) and he said he can't understand why his friends don't want to join even when he tells them how much fun shows are and the male/female ratio ;)

Almost every society in the country needs more men, all ages.

The issue with new shows is money. A musical costs a minimum of €20,000 to stage so it needs to be something that will draw an audience, particularly in these times. And so the old faithfuls are being done most places because they are what get bums on seats. Wingsnfire believe it or not Chess is an incredibly difficult show to sell, I know at least two societies that regretted staging it because it's not a great show for the audience outside the handful of big numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

I did a musical the year before last cos I hadn't done one in years. I was one of about 7 men in the cast of 30-odd. Had a great time but between paying subs, taking time off work to rehearse, taking the week of the show off work (I work evenings, y'see) and the expense of petrol etc, I ended up losing about 1.5grand over the course of the whole thing. Added to that, the society kept holding fundraising events that I was obliged to go to, it was something I really don't wanna do again. Which is terrible cos I had an amazing time doing it. Loved the show, made some great friends, love being on stage. It's just too many cons to justify... If I worked regular hours, I'd consider it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 wingsnfire

I never realised CHESS wasn't a real go'er. DRIFT is about a guy who gets divorced and how he deals with interactions with his daughter so it may be a difficult sell as well but a male centered musical may get more men involved.

This is pie in the sky thinking but I'm wondering how product placement would work in a production? Or how about this, getting a piece of artwork donated for the set by the artist and then auctioning it off at the end of the production. It would be a showcase for the artist and give the fans of the production a piece of the set to take home. It would make a good talking point in someones home and help with the cost of staging the musical. Might well work well during tourist season.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭Paul.M92

I know this is an old thread but i though i'd weigh in on it. A big way from personal experience to getting lads involved is to keep an eye on local secondary schools... and see what musicals they are doing and when they are on. Then aim for having auditions or announcing the start of rehearsals maybe 2-3 weeks after their show finishes as timing is crucial.... Creating a momentum in relation to this is easy after that because a lot of lads will keep coming back after having been involved with 2 shows... It's the fear of the unknown that keeps them away tbh... Like "what if an actual musical society is different to a school musical" Well it is... in some respects but that doesn't mean it will deter people from joining...

Paul.M92 wrote: »
    I know this is an old thread but i though i'd weigh in on it. A big way from personal experience to getting lads involved is to keep an eye on local secondary schools... and see what musicals they are doing and when they are on. Then aim for having auditions or announcing the start of rehearsals maybe 2-3 weeks after their show finishes as timing is crucial.... Creating a momentum in relation to this is easy after that because a lot of lads will keep coming back after having been involved with 2 shows... It's the fear of the unknown that keeps them away tbh... Like "what if an actual musical society is different to a school musical" Well it is... in some respects but that doesn't mean it will deter people from joining...

This was the case previously but legislation that comes into effect on March 1st will mean few societies will welcome members under 18. Any shows involving kids eg Oliver will have to be done in conjunction with stage schools or other organisations where all members are garda vetted.

And so the problem continues.

This was the case previously but legislation that comes into effect on March 1st will mean few societies will welcome members under 18. Any shows involving kids eg Oliver will have to be done in conjunction with stage schools or other organisations where all members are garda vetted.

And so the problem continues.

Athtrasna - which legislation is this?

I'm not certain of the name, we're having a presentation on it on Thursday night. What we have been told is that if we want to accept members under 18 all members who regularly have contact with them (typically everyone in a musical society) will have to be Garda vetted.

There are already complications with having under 18s in the cast, such as separate dressing rooms from the adults, chaperones and more...it really adds so much extra work and responsibility for the committee of a society.

I'm not certain of the name, we're having a presentation on it on Thursday night. What we have been told is that if we want to accept members under 18 all members who regularly have contact with them (typically everyone in a musical society) will have to be Garda vetted.

There are already complications with having under 18s in the cast, such as separate dressing rooms from the adults, chaperones and more...it really adds so much extra work and responsibility for the committee of a society.

Think this is it http://www.oireachtas.ie/documents/bills28/acts/2012/a4712.pdf

Could you give an update after your presentation?

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭hames

fonpokno wrote: »
    Nolanger, sexual orientation has nothing to do with being in musicals.

Seriously??

I'm one of the least homophobic guys you could meet... you disagree there is any link?

Even the fact that there is any perception of a link would be enough to prevent most guys from taking part; I assume that is part of the reason for the OP's difficulties.

What else explains it, in your opinion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Just as an FYI, fonpokno was responding to someone who was trolling in threads/forums and who has been since site banned for doing so.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

I miss being in musicals. My local Theatre group had a falling out over something and i havent been back since.

I think the fact i was guaranteed a few solos and knew everybody got me into a comfortable rut and having to
    break in with a totally new group is stopping me finding one. Id join a new group for Les Mis in a heartbeat though.

Les Mis is not available to adult groups. Nor is Phantom, Cats, Miss Saigon, Joseph, Hairspray, Avenue Q and more. Student and youth groups can get the rights but the rest of us miss out.

Our society (Coolmine, Dublin 15) have just announced that the November show will be Jesus Christ Superstar so hopefully that will attract some guys. Will post audition info on here when it's announced, will most likely be May/June