Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think this counts as littering?

• 07-07-2010 4:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭

Was in the car today and had finished an apple. I was in the countryside so when finished with the apple core i threw it out the window into the ditch. My mother gave me a look as if i had murdered someone.
    I would never throw something like that in an urban area because it would make the place look shabby however i dont see a problem out in the country side where it will probably decay within 48hrs or so.

What do the wonderful folks of AH think?

Do you think throwing an apple core into a ditch is littering? 7 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 7 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 dubes

dfghdfhgodakfgpjboidjvpkfdpobisdapgks[pd

tl;dr

No it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

Sounds fine to me, it'll decompose in a few weeks and return to the earth from whence it came!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

So you threw rubbish out the window and you want to know if you were littering?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

er... why wouldn't you just... ya eat the core? fecking waste of food man...

Ok I just read it.. Unless your mum likes to eat apple butts, bit silly to give ya a look..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I think it counts to a garda but I don't have a problem with it if that helps...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭christ on a bike!

No thats fine, firstly you wouldn't see it and secondly it would decompose pretty quick.

I do it all the time, banana skins too but I always wonder would a nasty litter warden do me for it. Not that you'd get them on a country road anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

As long as you shout BIODEGRADABLE! when you throw it, it's not littering in my book!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I'm actually arguing a fine for doing this exact thing at the moment..
    I lobbed an apple core out the window into a hedge, same situation, nowhere near a built up area.

Either someone reported me or there was a litter inspector in a car behind me but a letter with the time and place showed up at my door three weeks later.

The bastids want 150 yoyo :eek:
    Madness all together

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

its hardly littering when it will decompose to nothing in a few days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I threw a flagon of cider out of me Hiace the other day and me ma gave me the same look. It's made from fookin apples I told her, it'll break down in no time. Feckin women...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

think of the hungry little mouse's that you've just fed for an entire day or a months supply of food for an ant family...;)
    i throw my t bags and veg peeling inmy ditch at the back of the house
    whats different... :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Wazdakka wrote: »
    I lobbed an applecore out the window into a hedge, same situation, nowhere near a built up area.

Either someone reported me or there was a litter inspector in a car behind me but a letter with the time and place showed up at my door three weeks later.

Madness all together

Was done for doing it myself :o

Litter warden was sitting watching me though so no way of arguing it, it's waste and and I disposed of it illegally

But no, I still don't consider it littering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

It might get you out of the draft for Vietnam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭christ on a bike!

I lobbed an applecore out the window into a hedge, same situation, nowhere near a built up area.

Madness all together

Thats nuts in fairness, sure what is it gonna do but feed some birds and maybe a hedgehog. It's left over food that will decompose or disappear and doesn't take away from the area.

By that logic we shouldn't be allowed to feed stale bread to ducks or swans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Madness all together

Yes, my friend got done for throwing orange peel out the window of her car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Littering is strange....

If you throw something on the ground its littering.

however...

if you 'place' something on the ground, it doesnt feel as bad for some reason?

(i dont do either)

cbyrd wrote: »
    think of the hungry little mouse's that you've just fed for an entire day or a months supply of food for an ant family...;)
    i throw my t bags and veg peeling inmy ditch at the back of the house
    whats different... :):)

You feed the hungry little mouse's t bags and left over veg?? You tight baxtard ya!! I'll have the ISPCA on to ye!!

Einhard wrote: »
    You feed the hungry little mouse's t bags and left over veg?? You tight baxtard ya!! I'll have the ISPCA on to ye!!

jaysus hahaha no i don't....
    i put them in a pile with the grass cuttings and things..the tea bags
    not the mice .. the mice can eat the apple.. unless they're meat eating only then they wouldn't bother...ya know...??? :confused:

cbyrd wrote: »
    jaysus hahaha no i don't....
    i put them in a pile with the grass cuttings and things..the tea bags
    not the mice .. the mice can eat the apple.. unless they're meat eating only then they wouldn't bother...ya know...??? :confused:

So ye feed em t bags and grass?! Not even a bit of left over veg?? That's even worse!! They're hardly gonna get their five a day from that diet! Jaysus, ye might as well throw the feckin mouse's out the car window along with the apple if that's what yer gonna feed the poor mites!!

Einhard wrote: »
    So ye feed em t bags and grass?! Not even a bit of left over veg?? That's even worse!! They're hardly gonna get their five a day from that diet! Jaysus, ye might as well throw the feckin mouse's out the car window along with the apple if that's what yer gonna feed the poor mites!!

ok i've just been reliably informed by peppa pig that the worms will eat the apples.. the mice can feck off and eat out of the dogs bowl while he watches like they usually do.. !
    mind you it probably wouldnt' do them any harm just to have an apple a day anyway!! and they should be grateful.. i usually boil the grass for stock for stew and the tea bags are usually hung on the line for future use!! beside the toilet roll that was only used on one side.. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I don't see trowing an apple crick into a ditch as littering at all, quite the opposite in fact, you're planting tree seeds and helping to protect the environment. When I was little I used to go pony trekking and we'd pick apples from a tree that had grown from a dropped crick 10 years earlier. Throwing apple cricks is good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

You fed an animal or the worms or planted a tree i would say no it is not littering:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

kylith wrote: »
    I don't see trowing an apple crick into a ditch as littering at all, quite the opposite in fact, you're planting tree seeds and helping to protect the environment. When I was little I used to go pony trekking and we'd pick apples from a tree that had grown from a dropped crick 10 years earlier. Throwing apple cricks is good.

Stop saying cricks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Stop saying cricks!

Cricks! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

An apple is not littering but a water melon or pumpkin yes.

Stop saying cricks!

Crick, crick, crick, crick, crick, crick, crick, crick, crick, crick, crick, crick, crick, crick, crick, crick.
    Crick
    Crick
    Crick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

I doubt if wikipedia would have it. I've always assumed it came from either 'crioc' or 'croi'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Poll result is comprehensive.

/end thread.

Next...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Caco wrote: »
    Sounds fine to me, it'll decompose in a few weeks and return to the earth from whence it came!

Well I just received a brown bin last weekend and they want €4 to collect it.
    Sounds like I have every right to just throw the contents in the countryside.
    It'll biodegrade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Don't worry OP, they're after the big fish , not you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

Can we have a poll about whether crick is actually a word.

I vote no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Jenroche

I remember reading in school a story about a man called Johnny Appleseed who walked all through America eating apples and planting the cores to grow trees. Wonder if he was alive now would he get done for littering?

Jen ;->

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 CosmicCrusader

Well technically it is littering. However, I personally wouldn't find anything immoral about since it'll just decompose. Apples fall from trees all the time. Is the tree littering.

A little unrelated side note:
    The apple will actual imrove the quality of that patch of soil when it decomposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Was done for doing it myself :o

Litter warden was sitting watching me though so no way of arguing it, it's waste and and I disposed of it illegally

But no, I still don't consider it littering

Should have stood there for 3 weeks arguing and then said "ok fine, now wheres the evidence" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

By that logic we shouldn't be allowed to feed stale bread to ducks or swans

Am..your not actually supposed to feed stale bread to swans either:
    The nice folks from Galway and Claddagh Swan Rescue say "Please do not feed the moulded, stale or white bread to the swans ... white bread has no nutrition or fibre and consequently is indigestible for swans".

I learned that on boards, galway city forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Jenroche wrote: »
    I remember reading in school a story about a man called Johnny Appleseed who walked all through America eating apples and planting the cores to grow trees. Wonder if he was alive now would he get done for littering?

Jen ;->

They would probably string him up as a warning to other seed-planting terrorists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I lobbed an apple core out the window into a hedge, same situation, nowhere near a built up area.

Madness all together

I'm in the same boat.....I threw a brick at a garda station in a built up area.

Pr*cks want to send me down for 6 months.....

Madness eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Could be a good livin' to be made sellin' apples in the country and noting down customers reg plates:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

Sure apples fall of trees all the time & rot, fecking dirty apples trees littering the place like that!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

Just another example of how stupidly PC and anal this world is getting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

It's grand, nothing to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Hogzy wrote: »
    Was in the car today and had finished an apple. I was in the countryside so when finished with the apple core i threw it out the window into the ditch. My mother gave me a look as if i had murdered someone.
    I would never throw something like that in an urban area because it would make the place look shabby however i dont see a problem out in the country side where it will probably decay within 48hrs or so.

What do the wonderful folks of AH think?

Don't worry Hogzy, that core will feed some of the fauna who abound in that ditch.
    Give yer Ma a boot in the crotch and tell her to wise up.