Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sheep Shearing Equipment

• 07-07-2010 12:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭

Well lads,

This year there has been a bit of waiting about for the sheep to get clipped. We usually get a neighbour to do them but he is hard to get and I would like them clipped earlier instead of this messing about.

I was looking online for the kit to get an idea of prices. I noticed this one on a UK website...

http://www.hornershearing.com/acatalog/longhorn-complete.html

Has anyone used one like this before i.e. running of a car battery? I wouldn’t have much experience with different set ups like this as the neighbour would just run his clippers from a generator.

Thanks for any info…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭jfh

i've posted a query about this machine over on the british farming forum months ago, and got good feedback on it. wasn't convinced myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭gingerGiant

Have one similar as well as a mains one, the 12 volt on is great for the outfarm, I just drive up, set it up (I made a stand that just ties to the jeep) round up the sheep and shear away, it runs for ages have done 50 with it before and still enough in battery to start the jeep. Seems to run as quick as the mains one and has as much power if you get a few tough to shear ones it does them no hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭John-Holmes

Cheers lads. I might take a punt on them for next year. I just need to hope my back doesn’t give out again lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I'm still on the hand shears, but that yoke looks interesting...

johngalway wrote: »
    I'm still on the hand shears, but that yoke looks interesting...

Hard to beat the hand sheers. Its very satisfying if you have the weather for it (and the back)!

Plenty of weather John, but the back isn't as obliging I'm afraid. I'll have to do some more looking into the electric shears.

I rang a mate of mine last night asking about the Horner machine. He rang a guy he knows who deals in electric shearing machines who reckoned it's a very good machine and that Horner are an extremely good company to deal with in regards to comeback should anything go wrong. He also thought the price they're asking for the machine, including vat, delivery to Ireland and currency conversion is very very reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

my father shears a couple of thousand sheep a year with another lad ant they both use lister machines, supposedly the best along with heininger
    http://www.hornershearing.com/acatalog/lister-nexus.html
    it is pricey though and it doesnt include the cable or handpiece, but they are supposedly the best and my father has his for a good few years now without needing any service

johngalway wrote: »
    I rang a mate of mine last night asking about the Horner machine. He rang a guy he knows who deals in electric shearing machines who reckoned it's a very good machine and that Horner are an extremely good company to deal with in regards to comeback should anything go wrong. He also thought the price they're asking for the machine, including vat, delivery to Ireland and currency conversion is very very reasonable.

Its a very good price alright John when you consider how much some of the more known machines cost for the unit alone never mind the clippers.
    ormondprop wrote: »
    my father shears a couple of thousand sheep a year with another lad ant they both use lister machines, supposedly the best along with heininger
    http://www.hornershearing.com/acatalog/lister-nexus.html
    it is pricey though and it doesnt include the cable or handpiece, but they are supposedly the best and my father has his for a good few years now without needing any service

We eventually got then clipped during the week ormondprop and the neighbour who did them was using the lister brand. He swore by them. He got his (second hand) back in the late 90's. Still going strong now but its had a service or two.

It would take a right few years clipping to pay back those Lister machines. If you took that, the clippers, a stand for holding it up and generator you wouldnt have much change from a grand I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

ya they are expensive but they will last, a few second hand ones can be picked up as there aint too many sheep left around the place, and if there is no knocking or clicking noise in it you can be pretty sure it will be good, if you are any good with a welder u could make up a stand easily enough, my father uses an old steel wheel with a pole sticking up with a par and a hook coming out of it at about 7ft high, he has another t-bar that can be put onto it aswell as another guy shears with him now as he isn't getting any younger:D so they hang both shears (lister) out of them