Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big Problem with insurance - help please!!?

• 07-07-2010 10:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭

Hey folks,

basically, after 2 years with AXA, no claims etc. They have refused to quote me insurance based on 1 modification to my car.

My old exhaust system on my 1.4 astra was due a replacement so I splashed out on a good quality stainless steel cat-back system.

Just got off the phone with axa there and they basically said that I have 10 days to get a standard system back on at an Opel garage and get an engineers report to prove it....WTF!?

I thought an insurance company was obliged to quote me? I basically told them thats rediculous and that I'd be finding anoher insurance company.

Whats your views on this? I do like being with axa as they are doing a me a good deal but if they're going to screw me over for a modification to MY CAR after 2 years of hassle free driving Im not sure what to do.

Any help appreciated, thanks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭kingbrumak

If it was me I would start shopping around for another company. After being loyal to them for two years and having a full no claims bonus they refuse to quote you...... just plain ridiculous!

Go to a broker and get them to do the leg work of shopping around for you.

Sick to death of insurance companies making unreasonable demands and penalizing us for being genuine car enthusiasts who are prepared to go the extra mile to look after our cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

Sorry chaps, but AXA have every right to choose not to insure people with a modified car. They use risk assesment to plan their business and no doubt modified cars are a higher risk. By not insuring high risk drivers they protect their business and in turn are able to offer more affordable insurance to safer (statistically) drivers.

That said - you should shop around. If you don't like their strategy find a company that doesn't penalise those who modify their cars.

You should be commended for being honest too and informing them of the change!

SG

si_guru wrote: »
    You should be commended for being honest too and informing them of the change!

Well said Si_Guru, there are more than enough irresponsible and reckless drivers out there with little or no regard for anyone that are getting away with driving cars that have totally different engines to what is listed in the log book. Sorry but this is a pet hate, no one should get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

I always assumed they quoted if you have an existing policy. I know a 19 year old that has a policy with them and they quoted him on a DC2 Type R, a bloody stainless exhaust on an Astra isn't going to make the car any more powerful. Get on to the Insurance Federation people, that is a complete joke.

I'm with Quinn and have a Type R, I got the policy and added on the exhaust after, they charged me for it but there was no hassle at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

..a bloody stainless exhaust on an Astra isn't going to make the car any more powerful.

Agreed... but no doubt their research shows it is more like to be in an accident or get stolen. Whether it is true in this one case or not doesn't matter.

Same reason a complete f--kwit aged 55 in a Panda (and who never looks in the sodding mirror) will pay less then a level headed and sensible 23 year old with his total bank acount and more invested in a Civic vTI.

si_guru wrote: »
    sensible 23 year old with his total bank acount and more invested in a Civic vTI.

Unfortunately the true enthusiasts go unnoticed while the t**ts that insist on racing\drifting\ acting the maggot on public roads are what the rest of us are judged on.

This isn't a problem in the UK, they seem to have enough understanding to know the difference between an enthusiast and a t**t and as such they have a selection of companies that deal with high performance and modified cars.

I guess what I'm saying here is that for Irish insurance companies; ignorance is bliss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Thanks folks, I think I will start looking around now tbh.

Bit of a pain in the arse, the girl on the phone was asking "Does it increase the performance on a car?", I was like, "On a 1.4 Astra, not likely". When asked what my reasons for the modification were I stated purely cosmetic and that I needed a new exhaust anyway. Also, the girl said she spoke to a engineer while I was on hold and he said it added performane to the car...LOL!. The only info I gave her was how much it was and that it was a cat-back (a term she'd never heard of).

I love my car and finally have it looking the way i want it over the last year and a half and a new exhaust (silenced i might add) causes uproar with AXA. i was happily willing to pay the extra €100 or whatever I thought they'd charge extra.

Ah well, cant win 'em all.

No way a sodding insurance company are going to tell me how to modify my car.

Cheers guys, I'll let y'all know how I get on quote wise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

They must quote you by law.

Even if its a stupidly high and insane quote,they must quote you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

paddy147 wrote: »
    They must quote you by law.

Even if its a stupidly high and insane quote,they must quote you.

They don't have to quote you.

Take from citizensinformation.ie
    If you are refused motor insurance

Individual insurers have the right to refuse you cover, but they must provide you with a reason for the refusal should you ask for one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

They don't have to quote you.

Take from citizensinformation.ie

well then thats different to what a garda friend of mine told me then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

paddy147 wrote: »
    well then thats different to what a garda friend of mine told me then.

Maybe he meant if you have a policy with them and change your car mid-policy.
    They have to quote you then I believe.
    It's how alot of people get insured on modified cars now.

Insure a 1 litre car then 1 week later tell them you've bought a skyline and you want to switch over.

On the topic of the nightmare associated with getting insured, there's a thread on DTD of a 29 year old fella with full NCB/full license 9 years and he hasnt been able get a quote on a R34 skyline
    The same companies that say "we can only quote over 25's on that car" go on to tell you they can only insure over 30's.

It's a nightmare for any enthusiasts

Just though I'd update, been finding it hard to get a quote to be honest. Don't know why to be honest, its not a "performance" car.

I rang britton and they were unable to find a quote.

I rang setanta and they put me through to an insurance company why weren't looking for any more customers!!?

The only one who quoted me was quinn, and it was €100 more than I was paying with axa so may just go with them.

This country is backwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Thanks folks, I think I will start looking around now tbh.

Bit of a pain in the arse, the girl on the phone was asking "Does it increase the performance on a car?", I was like, "On a 1.4 Astra, not likely". When asked what my reasons for the modification were I stated purely cosmetic and that I needed a new exhaust anyway. Also, the girl said she spoke to a engineer while I was on hold and he said it added performane to the car...LOL!. The only info I gave her was how much it was and that it was a cat-back (a term she'd never heard of).

Have you Technical Data Sheet for the exhaust, for your car? If you can get that, and it shows NO power increase, go back to them and show them it doesn't.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    Have you Technical Data Sheet for the exhaust, for your car? If you can get that, and it shows NO power increase, go back to them and show them it doesn't.

I dont im afraid.

I was trying to explain to them that it does F all difference to a 1.4 car but they were adament it does.

I then tried to explain that if I was to buy a 1.8 litre car that they would probably have no problem, it'd be expensive but they'd quote me.

Gah!!...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

thats ridiculous, when i was driving my accord sir-t i was given my quote from my brokers, then i told them about all the mods. they rang me back and said there was no increase, i had the mods on paper with them too to cover my ass.

get over to 123.ie and get a quote with travellers (not pikeys!!!)

Just rang 123.ie and they don't do modifications!!! :(

I rang quinn back and they quoted me 1300 without mods and then 1700 with mods i.e. the exhaust system and the suspension (forgot to mention that ;)). So i would be completely covered.

Its an extra €400 more than im already paying but, I dont drink very often or smoke which = more $$.

Basically an extra €8 per week for mods. Sounds reasonable i guess. they seem to be the only place willing to quote me. Starting to get fed up with insurance companies, they have some horrible prejudice against modded cars thinking we're all wreckless scumbags that have nothing to do but rally some lump of shite(yes its a 1.4 astra but its very tidy i swear!! :P) around housing estates.

What do you folks reckon?

feck it, €8 a week wont kill me.

kinda funny the fact that im having a conversation with myself but anyway, I've wiggled it down another €100 so now its €1600. Only an extra €5 a week so.

Cheers Quinn.

It looks like it may be the best option is just to bite the bullet and go for it. Another shiny example of how we're taking the high hard one when it comes to insurance!!!