Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda prep info???

• 06-07-2010 5:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭

Ok guys as the time is getting nearer to ending the freeze block is there any members of the garda out there with advice you guys used in your preparation in becoming a member of the garda, i have done lots of research in recent months but would also be nice to know what others have done.. thanks guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

sitja wrote: »
    Ok guys as the time is getting nearer to ending the freeze block is there any members of the garda out there with advice you guys used in your preparation in becoming a member of the garda, i have done lots of research in recent months but would also be nice to know what others have done.. thanks guys

there are a lot of people offering courses out there some better than others, ill pm you my two cents as mentioning the names of the companies providing them is not allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭sitja

cool man, thank you, i have basically learned for apt test and the stuff involved in that phase, so just trying to stay on top of things if i am lucky enough to go through that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

There is one lad who runs a day course in Templemore town, he's very good and not one of these organisations milking it for money.
    He's quite reasonable and for what you get I'd say its possibly the best money I ever spent.
    I sent you pm, sitja and random.
    Anyone else want the info pm me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

its not a list, just the ones i used for aptitude and interview, i recommend because i found them good and passed. other people will have passed having done other courses, so its down to you which one you pick...pm sent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

drllbit2 wrote: »
    Hi
    would shakin and itsallgood pm me too please,
    Thanks a million

Sorry drllbit,
    Got new phone and havent got the number at present, surely someone that I gave it to already might send it on to you ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 bill man

itsallgood wrote: »
    There is one lad who runs a day course in Templemore town, he's very good and not one of these organisations milking it for money.
    He's quite reasonable and for what you get I'd say its possibly the best money I ever spent.
    I sent you pm, sitja and random.
    Anyone else want the info pm me

Is that the guy who is a retired garda? My friend used him for the one day course and said he was excellent. Unfortunately he hasnt got his number so could you possibly pm his name or number. Reading these threads a long time but finally logged in and made a post. Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

Can people not pm those posters "in the know" themselves, rather than asking them to PM with info? Must be awful shy folks on here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

I've deleted all the 'Please PM me info' posts as they don't contribute to the thread at all.
    Please PM the poster to ask them to pass on info if they have been generous enough to offer a recommendation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 tiddler169

Hi folks, just wondering if any of you have done a worthwhile prep. course for joining the gardai.

There are loads advertised on the net but if anyone can reccommend any from experience id appreciate it...............cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

tiddler169 wrote: »
    Hi folks, just wondering if any of you have done a worthwhile prep. course for joining the gardai.

There are loads advertised on the net but if anyone can reccommend any from experience id appreciate it...............cheers

OP there is an almost identical thread a couple of threads down the page. Also advertising is not allowed on the forum, I'll merge your post into that thread and you may receive some help in there. I would suggest PMing posters who have offered information.
    Please read the Forum FAQ and the Forum Charter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 killy91

I realise this thread has been inactive for a while but if anyone has the details for the man in Templemore, could they please send me them? I'd like to get my head around a few more things before the new recruitment in 2014.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

i havent them at hand but i could get them

If it's not too much trouble, That would be brilliant !!! :)

i know some one who went to him i must ask them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

thekopend wrote: »
    i know some one who went to him i must ask them.

Thanks. That is very helpful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭annlewis

Anyone here going to the prep course in Dublin today ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Ruginator

Went to the Templemore man, don't gave his name or details, but I came 36th after attending, he was excellent. Could not recommend him highly enough, go there, listen and concentrate fully and you'll have the altitude test in the bag after.

Ruginator wrote: »
    Went to the Templemore man, don't gave his name or details, but I came 36th after attending, he was excellent. Could not recommend him highly enough, go there, listen and concentrate fully and you'll have the altitude test in the bag after.

How can we contact him?!!

lads im after doing a bit of research, the mans name is seamus bourke. i rooted up an old post where he was mentioned http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055066441&page=161 look at post 2414. he's ment to be top notch he's a maths teacher. also found this http://eupseie.com/seamus_bourke/489771 he has the setup out the back of his house. i havent rang him yet, if anyone does be sure to let us know how u get on ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭3fullback

lads im after doing a bit of research, the mans name is seamus bourke. i rooted up an old post where he was mentioned http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055066441&page=161 look at post 2414. he's ment to be top notch he's a maths teacher. also found this http://eupseie.com/seamus_bourke/489771 he has the setup out the back of his house. i havent rang him yet, if anyone does be sure to let us know how u get on ;)

I've been to him and the career services one ! Career services was much better far more informative and much more tips !

Good man!! Cheers, will let ye know how it goes :)

3fullback wrote: »
    I've been to him and the career services one ! Career services was much better far more informative and much more tips !

Well iv heard enough about him to do me, and from two very close friends that's where I got the name. It would be no harm to do the two of them as the aptitude will be of very high standard, will cost a bit but I believe this will be the difference between people who are serious and just doing it because they have nothing else to do. Iv also herd great things about that woman that was mentioned in the old post, she's a former member, that's where I'll be heading if I get to interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Ruginator

The woman in Templemore was very very poor. She told me I woildnt pass the interview and didn nothing for my confidence before the interview. I passed it first time even though she said I wouldnt, I didn't find her to be of any use. I went to a lad in Killarney afterwards who used to be on the interview panel, he was utterly fantastic. Again it's so long back I don't have his name or number cos its so long back, but I'm sure it'll be mentioned in one of the old threads, that man was fantastic prep for the interview, but at this stage it's all about getting the aptitude done well.

I didn't do the careers service but can't believe anyone has better results thsn Seamus Burke has. As for tips, listen carefully to what he says, his method and especially the examples he does that's all the tips you need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Thekid2010

Well iv heard enough about him to do me, and from two very close friends that's where I got the name. It would be no harm to do the two of them as the aptitude will be of very high standard, will cost a bit but I believe this will be the difference between people who are serious and just doing it because they have nothing else to do. Iv also herd great things about that woman that was mentioned in the old post, she's a former member, that's where I'll be heading if I get to interview.

Totally agree with ya man ill be doing exactly asyou are i like the info I am hearing about this guy

Did anyone contact Seamus? I haven't got round to ringing him, must do this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Thekid2010

Did anyone contact Seamus? I haven't got round to ringing him, must do this week.

Yeah he done a class Saturday gone and another one next Saturday going myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭mycro89

Thekid2010 wrote: »

Can some one please pm new the details of the seamus chap mentioned above please

Go back through the posts! His details are in a link I put in a post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭dylmeister

Very good guy in the Sligo area as well very straight and no messing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭Andrea345

shakin wrote: »
    there are a lot of people offering courses out there some better than others, ill pm you my two cents as mentioning the names of the companies providing them is not allowed.
    I would appreciate your input if you could pm me. I have looked at a few but don't know which to go for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭Andrea345

Thekid2010 wrote: »
    This is very far away from me I wouldn't make it. Does anyone have any clue as to whether he would send email with notes instead or video recording or deliver any other method then attending because I can't attend at the moment? Has he an email address?