Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

milk price for june?

• 05-07-2010 3:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

any one hear anything yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭babybrian

I havent heard anything yet anyway, maybe the journal will have something Thursday.
    At the moment i'd rather rain than hear about milk price, Im in the midlands and all we got last week was 16mm, it was burnt off again a few hours later!! cows are getting 3kg of silage and 4kg of a nut and will go tomorrow and get citrus to give them another 1kg of that/day.
    I was in australia for 16 months and this place is beginning to look like Oz!!! RAIN PLEASE....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

did you have to feed them last year too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

I imagine it will be much the same as May, maybe a little more . would be a little concerned about the back end though, supplies are well up world wide and the cows are just starting to calve 'down under' so I think we will do well to hold price up

l@@king for rain also yields just starting to slip, feeding 3 kgs of nuts we had in the bin and will ring the feed merchant to to see what can buy worth the money,

for us feeding silage at this stage would be the last resort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭babybrian

@ whelan, no didnt feed silage last year but I wasnt around to witness the terrible summer weather that ye got(thankfully).

Our cows(mostly british fr) are milking well even though they are on silage, 26ltrs and 1.84kgMS/cow. since feeding silage protein has dropped to 3.25 but bfat has risen to 3.85. thats where maybe feeding soya will raise the protein a few percent, anyone have experience of feeding soya as a straight feed??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭red bull

no grass feeding 7kgs 18% low solids ground conditions great. If milk price does not increase for June I dont think I can afford to stay in milk production. Its a story of being either too wet or too dry. Arrabawn supplier :(

we are the complete opposite this year thank god , feeding 0.5kg of meal and loads of grass;) but we had a desperate year last year and the year before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Ford4000

Varying between 28 and 33c p/litre in Donegal here going on what a few farmers told me yesterday !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Rain is on it's way over the next ten days.

its raining in the north east - glory be:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Kerry should be announcing tomorrow Friday. should give us an idea how the rest will react.
    liquid price looking dire at moment.
    fmp meeting tomorrow hoping they have the balls to stand up to glanbia for our sake. if not i could have some liquid contract to dispose of. :eek:

fmp are a total joke we havent had a local meeting here in nearly 3 years:eek: yet they get money each month off our milk cheque for what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Will someone now please turn off the taps.;)

The amount it has rained in the past 24 hours is incredible.
    Although it was necessary as the grass was burnt, the rain they are predicting for the next 7 days isnt necessary.

some one said the weather always balances itself out , so i guess its making up for a dry june:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I reckon we always get the same amount of rain every year, so far this yr has been really dry. We could be in for another wet autumn and winter, lads on wet land watch out.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Whatever about rainfall:p we are told we have the same amount of grass growth each year all i can say is im looking forward to it BETTER LATE THAN NEVER. Maybe second cut silage yields will surpass first cuts:):)

so any word on the milk price:o

How about 30c + vat:D

whelan1 wrote: »

no

was on to the feed merchant though , (it will be about 2 weeks before we have grass built up every place is grand and green but very little cover)

looks like feed prices are rising, ffs :mad:

whelan1 wrote: »

got the sheets to day

31.2c/ltr.