Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nostalgia. It ain't what it used to be

• 03-07-2010 11:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭

I was watching a few 'Reeling in the years' lately and felt myself getting all warm and nostalgiac.
    But the thing is I was getting all nostalgiac for times I hadn't even experienced, or if I was alive I was too preoccupied with collecting insects to give a damn.

And it got me thinking that I get nostalgiac for a lot of things that are well before my time so it's not really nostalgia at all.

Take that old HB icecream add where you have the youngfella who gets money off the uncle to buy himself an icecream and he tears off down the cobblestone road in his shorts and sandles making a beeline past the horse and cart.

Even watching the likes of the Quiet Man, which for the most part is obviously sh1te, but you see the old cottages and flowery gardens and stone walls (whereas in reality it would be pissing rain and there'd be turf smoke falling down on you)

And this is the king of all nostalgia buzzes for me

The cheers theme tune, looking at all these long since dead folk enjoying themselves at the bar. You see the young fella at the end with his hat tipped at a jaunty angle and the expression on his face kinda saying "yes, here we are, this is the height of it and I'm loving it!"
    And now he's dead and no one know who the feck he is.
    Brings a tear to my eye every time

Anyway, most of my nostalgia is bs, bar the memory of the chrismasses spent at my granny's where she had this big plastic santa on the tree that looked like it was melted in Chernobyl but was extremely cool to me. Then every x-mas eve she's make me sing silent night and hop up and shout "I just saw Reindeer out the window!" and I'd be so happy and excited that I'd sh1te.

Anyways, whats your nostalgia buzz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭Wade in the Sea

Bacon and eggs and big mug a tea. That was some breakfast I had this morning Happy Days ;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Nostalgia is over rated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Pfft, nostalgia is soooo last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Out of complete nostalgia from when I was a kid, I bought an old Renault 4 a few weeks ago. My dad used to drive one & it took is manys a place when we was nippers.

Looks very similar to this one.. http://www.micarro24.com/image_cache/320x/49946113d2e86c3c6855f80ea7884f33_320xpx.jpg... only a lot rustier!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭christ on a bike!

Out of complete nostalgia from when I was a kid, I bought an old Renault 4 a few weeks ago. My dad used to drive one & it took is manys a place when we was nippers.

Looks very similar to this one.. http://www.micarro24.com/image_cache/320x/49946113d2e86c3c6855f80ea7884f33_320xpx.jpg... only a lot rustier!

What a wagon, that's class, fire up a surfboard on the roof and it will even look cool!

I'm gonna get a mk2 Escort if I get some cash together, they're cool anyway but my neighbour used to let me try to drive his when I was 8 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Ah yes nostalgia.
    We had the Punt, we knew what money was then.
    Live at Three was the Afternoon Show of it's day.
    Vanilla ice cream & wafers were considered a fancy dessert, fancier if you had syrup.
    A house was lucky to have one car in the driveway & it was usually a Ford Orion or a Nissan Sunny. No 4x4's for the school run then.
    We had less crime.
    People had very little money, but also owed very little money so were happy.
    There was no mobile phones.
    And there was no talk of buying apartments in Bulgaria.

Simple times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

What a wagon, that's class, fire up a surfboard on the roof and it will even look cool!

I'm gonna get a mk2 Escort if I get some cash together, they're cool anyway but my neighbour used to let me try to drive his when I was 8 :D

I'll have to fix it up first - the engine is shot & I'd say the paint, most of whic is falling off, is probably the only thing still holding it together. Still - it'll keep me busy over the long winter nights!

Best of luck getting the Escort - proper old skool rally car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

tis a broad question so I'll go with TV nostalgia.

Magnum PI

watch?v=JBVHKwf5mSc

Hill Street blues

watch?v=yevI8xCAKuc

'Be careful out there' :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

Ultimate summer nostalgia:

I hope RTE release a Noughties Reeling in the Years, it is one of the better series they make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

LOL. I was in the back of one of those when I was about 7/8. Twas a Garda Patrol Car too!*

* I had an excuse!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

I remember my primary school teacher used to be able to hit me.........don't remember it too fondly tho'.....

Also remember when us girls used to play for hours with a pair of old tights, jumping over and back them

Kerbs was a huge buzz as was a bag of marbles........

A-Team and Fall Guy were the highlight of the TV week assuming ya had a TV.....

A Butlins holiday was the equivilant of going to Disney, Florida!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭Mr Yellow

1. My First Wa*k
    2. Innocence

Not sure in which order though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Morbo the Annihilator

Nostalgia is the most pathetic of human emotions, immediately following a love of petting kittens.

KITTENS ARE TO BE EATEN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

Hula Hoops (not the crisps, but the actual toy). I used to own thousands of them, and utilise about ten at once. They were fab! Never see them now, though.
    Also, skipping ropes. We used to have skipping ropes that would stretch across the road and we could skip the "double-dutch". Very hazy memories, it was back in the eigthies. I guess you can no longer get such huge skipping ropes, incase today's little darlings accidentally lynch themselves on them. But the risk was part of the fun!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Well nostalgia ain't what it used to be but when was it ever what it used to be.
    The 50 year olds are remembering having to walk to school in their bare feet but then people 50 years older than them remember having to use candles and having none of this fancy electricity or moving horse carriages thing. Then the generation above them appreciated their food more due to the owl potato famine then the generation ahead of them remember when there was a load of people living in Ireland. And if you take it back reeeeally far you'd have people remembering the good owl days before they discovered fire.

Personally my favorite nostalgic moment is going on the old yahoo chat-rooms with my microphone and p1ssing off Americans by pretending to be Francis from Nigeria. Ah the good owl early naughties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Mr Yellow wrote: »
    1. My First Wa*k
    2. Innocence

Not sure in which order though

Seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann