Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dear Culchies: Dublin Doesn't Care.

• 02-07-2010 7:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭

I am from Dublin and take an active interest in the GAA but I am in the minority.

However, I hope the informed and knowledgeable society outside "The Pale" realise that the GAA isn't the 'be all and end all' for your average Jackeen. Dublin is a modern cosmopolitan metropolis. As strange as this may sound to you, I have more in common with the British than the inhabitants of Kerry, for example.

The majority of the Dublin population would prefer to catch a glimpse of a Premiership football match than a whole 70 minutes of your run-of-the-mill GAA game taking place in the back-arse of nowhere (with all due respect). In fact, I didn't even watch the game on Sunday. I was watching Germany and England instead.

Moreover, it seems to, not only be a personal viewpoint, but that of the majority of the "Big Smoke" as it will always be hopelessly and conclusively beyond us how little money goes to the actual performers. Gaelic football and hurling are two ancient games living within an ancient system. While other sports organisations have seemed to progress and evolve, we are stuck now in 2010, as we were back in the days of Parnell with this ignorant, sectarian and bigoted values.

I realise that you guys love nothing better than defeating Dublin, and fair play to Meath this year, however, I just wanted to inform you that this isn't Manchester United Vs. Liverpool...i.e, the majority of the Dubs didn't even know, nor care, who were playing.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭bazza1

I kinda have to agree. I watched the soccer too! The Dubs draw big crowds to Croker for championship games but small crowds for national league games. Jackeens like a big day out and even though Meath deservedly hammered a poor dublin side, the effect is really "So what?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I concur.

I got a bit annoyed when in a pub in clonmel put on the GAA "for the dubs" referring to me and the lads recently, I politely told him I was far more interested in the pink ball of fluff on our table.

I think the vast majority of the dubs would rather remove their eye balls from their sockets than watch it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Limerick_Lass

Are you the spokesperson for the sore loosers of Dublin society :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭thebullkf

speak for yourself.

your moniker gives you away.

i'd watch GAA over soccer any day a chara.

so would most of Dublin ....

as testified by the many 1000's in Croker @ every game.

{btw i never said they weren'tfairweather fans..}

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

bazza1 wrote: »
    The Dubs draw big crowds to Croker for championship games but small crowds for national league games.

Unlike the rest of the country who draw small crowds for both?

Rubbish thread by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Dublin is a modern cosmopolitan metropolis.

That's a weird way of spelling smelly kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

..I have more in common with the British than the inhabitants of Kerry, for example...

I am British and live in Kerry... we should be buddies or something??

..but I take your point. As for Soccer, everyone down here supports the local team - MUFC. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

thebullkf wrote: »

nonsense.

the 1000's in croker for dublin games does not most of dublin make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

thebullkf wrote: »
    speak for yourself.

your moniker gives you away.

{btw i never said they weren'tfairweather fans..}

Since when is 25,000(give or take) most of 1,000,000?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

*yawn*

Been there, done that. OP next time you want to start a debate you could try being a little less provocative.

Closed.