Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Military coup. Would it be a bad thing?

• 02-07-2010 10:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭

Sorry, I know it's not a good idea. But when everything that makes you proud to be Irish is exemplified by the outstanding peacekeeping work done by our armed forces; from Chad to Lebanon to Sierra Leone (work that is respected internationally, by soldiers and politicians alike) it makes you wonder.

I suppose it only struck me last week when a great Irish man, a patriot, a gentleman, and a soldier passed away. He was everything that I aspired to as a football player. When I grew older, he was everything that I aspired to as a man.

Lt.Gen. Dermot (It's Diarmaid:)) Earley.

We were lucky to have you.

May you rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

They generally don't have a great reputation for working out well in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

if you are of the opinion a miliary take-over is a good idea i want you out of my country and out of boards now...

NOW GODDAMNIT OR I'LL SEE TO IT YOU'RE COURTMARTIALED AND SHOT ON SITE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It would be like the last time. The instigators with the good ideas would be disposed of early on, leaving the country to be run by a bunch of power-mad greedy **** when it was all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

the irish army doesn't really have the experience in running a country

i know the current shower don't really either but come on, the army, nah they should stick to the peacekeeping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

It'd be like boards with the Generals acting like Mods and banning meaning taking them behind the sheds and executing them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Depends on whether the tank is in for repairs that weekend or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yes it would be a bad thing. Any attempt to oust the government with military force would require the EU to intervene with military force. Our economy would collapse and not insignificant numbers of people would be killed in the clashes.

And at the end of it, we'd still end up voting in a pack of incompetent ****wits to replace those that have been ousted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Sure why not? An economy based solely on showjumping might even see us through this recession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

seamus wrote: »
    Yes it would be a bad thing. Any attempt to oust the government with military force would require the EU to intervene with military force. Our economy would collapse and not insignificant numbers of people would be killed in the clashes.

And at the end of it, we'd still end up voting in a pack of incompetent ****wits to replace those that have been ousted.

Have read the first eight responses, and ye're right.:(

*Invites EjZmatec for a pint*

Edit: Although there should be a Dermot Earley appreciation thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

It would be a bad thing, an armed force exists to protect and serve a country and its people, not to exploit or suppress them.

I know were corrupt, but we are not some African hellhole or some South American statelet that relies upon cocaine for economic growth (because if we were international coke suppliers, we wouldnt have a recession).

So democratic process and the will of the people must prevail. Even if there are still retards who will vote FF.

Bambi wrote: »
    Sure why not? An economy based solely on showjumping might even see us through this recession

If we can arrange for politicians to take part in show jumping at the Cliffs of Moher, we can kill loads of birds with one stone, and the Pay Per View charges will clear the deficit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Chicken Coups = Good

Military Coups = Bad

Military Mexican food = Ta-coup Bell

Chicken Coups = Good

After the chicken coup, would they form a pullet-buro?

That joke is fowl.

A bit of a hatch-it job on my part. I admit.

The only thing worse than a shower of clueless, megalomaniacal, narcissistic, conservative, religious lunatics is a shower of clueless, megalomaniacal, narcissistic, conservative, religious lunatics with Bullpup rifles. As bad as what we have now is, a military coup is just on the other side of insanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Are these the boys you want to plan a coup?

Editited.

Department defends €3m blunder on Chad helicopters

THE Department of Defence failed to inspect two helicopters when it spent €3 million hiring the aircraft which proved unable to carry soldiers for an EU mission in Chad.

Shocked TDs were also told the Irish army only became aware of the embarrassing mistake when Dutch troops pointed out the contract blunder.

Labour’s Tommy Broughan said it seemed the defence forces were like some sort of Dad’s Army because of problems with equipment.

The initial Air Partner contract was extended from 10 to 16 months after the UN had taken seven hours to airlift an injured Irish soldier who had broken his arm, TDs were told.

http://archives.tcm.ie/irishexaminer/2009/11/13/story105483.asp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

We are talking about the Irish army here, the only reason they would get of their arse is if they stopped serving cheap beer in the camp,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Labour’s Tommy Broughan said it seemed the defence forces were like some sort of Dad’s Army because of problems with equipment.
    The Irish army is one of the few (only?) public sector areas that has managed to reduce costs year after year while maintaining service. One of the ways it has achieved this is by picking up second hand equipment from other defence forces at a very low cost, high quality modern equipment I might add. If the rest of the government agencies showed as much wisdom we wouldn't be in our current predicament.

On-topic, I am glad that the professional soldiers in the Irish army would never dream of countenancing such an insane move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

danniemcq wrote: »
    It'd be like boards with the Generals acting like Mods and banning meaning taking them behind the sheds and executing them

What if you are only temporarily banned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭conorhal

That hasn't been a good idea since the day after they shot Michael Collins.

Would you seriously put a bunch of Curragh gombeen men in charge? What would their policies be exactly? A hundred grand for everybody that says wha, I can't hear you?
    We already have FF in power for fock sake, no need for leadership with less of a clue then those feckers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Any Irish Army members I know are lazy wasters counting the days to retirement, so no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

From travelling in taxis a lot and as a result meeting many ex members of our defence forces let me be the first to table a vote of no confidence in a military coup.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Another 150 years and we will all be owned by China anyway, whats to discuss!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

if the army took over the dail

who would we look to to defend us when we are in our next international war?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Editited.

THE Department of Defence failed to inspect two helicopters when it spent €3 million hiring the aircraft which proved unable to carry soldiers for an EU mission in Chad.

Shocked TDs were also told the Irish army only became aware of the embarrassing mistake when Dutch troops pointed out the contract blunder.

The initial Air Partner contract was extended from 10 to 16 months after the UN had taken seven hours to airlift an injured Irish soldier who had broken his arm, TDs were told.

Do you understand the difference between the Dept of Defence and the Defence Forces?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

This is why i love Boards.

Plenty of people with "valid opinions" who coincidentally havent a feckin clue what they are actually talking about!

Military Coup = bad idea whatever way you look at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Bleedin Delish

Im pretty sure that 3 overweight, off-duty, half sloshed guards with 3 legs between could overpower the Irish army fairly quickly and quash this coup then go back to their pints!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Military coup... I'm touching that one with a ten foot pole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

"Lisa I am so sad because my country has been taken over by the benevolent General Krall!!! All Hail Krall and his glorious new regime!!!!

Sincerely Little Girl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It would be like the last time. The instigators with the good ideas would be disposed of early on, leaving the country to be run by a bunch of power-mad greedy **** when it was all over.

you mean it would end up exactly the same as it is now ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Apart from the fact that the OP reads more like an obituary than a call to arms, I don't think it'd be very wise.. what with the military being propped up by the same government they're supposed to topple and all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

I dont think it would be a good idea

But give me an example of a country where a military coup lead to an anyways good outcome and I might be prepared to reconsider

danbohan wrote: »
    you mean it would end up exactly the same as it is now ?

Unfortunately, yes:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Editited.

You do realise that the people who procured the helicopters were civilians working in the Dept. of Defence don't you?
    laugh wrote: »
    Any Irish Army members I know are lazy wasters counting the days to retirement, so no.

Yeah, at the tender age of 21 I'm definitely counting down the days until retirement. I can't wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

NOW GODDAMNIT OR I'LL SEE TO IT YOU'RE COURTMARTIALED AND SHOT ON SITE

Which site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

The people that have been alienated by the Stag Hunting ban have a better chance of owerthrowing the government. The Defence Forces would probably check with their union to see if it was legal! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Dempsey wrote: »
    The people that have been alienated by the Stag Hunting ban have a better chance of owerthrowing the government. The Defence Forces would probably check with their union to see if it was legal! :pac:

It would help if we had a union, rather than a representative association.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Do you understand the difference between the Dept of Defence and the Defence Forces?

The defence forces make compo claims and the dept of defence pays out compo claims? is it a trick question?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Jibbs

I'm all on for a military coup, provided its carried out by the German Army. If they're unavailable, the Canadians will suffice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Biggins wrote: »
    Another 150 years and we will all be owned by China anyway, whats to discuss!

Depressing, but probably true