Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where to repair?

• 01-07-2010 8:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭

Hi lads,

A neighbour backed his jeep into my car a while back and damaged the rear (hatchback) door. It was a genuine mistake and the hatchback isn't heavily damaged. However I took it to the garage to get a repair quote. A new rear door (unnessesary imo) was 250 and labour was around 750 euro - I didn't know that a brain surgeon was required to put a door onto the back of a car. Between the VAT and little extras the quote topped 1400 euro. I know my neighbour works for himself and his business is suffering at the mo, I'm not prepared to hand him that quote (despite all my mates telling me just to get it done)

I think the dent can probably be repaired without a new door being fitted.
    Does anyone know of a place who could have a look at it for me?

I'm in north Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I've used Crofton Motors before (following recommendations from here) and found them good and quite reasonable - maybe give them a call? Tell them you're paying out of your own pocket.

http://www.croftonmotors.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,523 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

New door and paint is where the parts are, will take a number of hours to prep and paint the door and get it to match the rest of the car, that's where the expense is. Your best option is to source the exact same colour car in a scrap yard and then it should just be a case of swapping it with your own and connecting some cables for electric windows and central locking if the car has them. Labour to fix the dent may be uneconomically viable for the end result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Your best option is to source the exact same colour car in a scrap yard and then it should just be a case of swapping it with your own and connecting some cables for electric windows and central locking if the car has them.
    I tried this before, you'd be surprised how often the same colour isn't exactly the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

New door and paint is where the parts are, will take a number of hours to prep and paint the door and get it to match the rest of the car, that's where the expense is.

ah that makes sense, i thought it was just a rip-off figure but I can see how prepping it would take time.

I'll head to Crofton Motors Anan, thanks for your advice.
    I'll post when I get it fixed and let y'all know how I got on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Fair play to ya for being considerate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭CarMuppet

gpf101 wrote: »
    Fair play to ya for being considerate.

+1 you are proof that decent folk exist! :)