Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this a legal number plate location?

• 01-07-2010 3:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33

Hi, this is my Soarer, and I want to relocate my number plate to here:

Sdc10852.jpg

Sdc10851.jpg

I can't find out any of the official government websites if this would be legal or not, but I've seen loads of cars, and pics of cars with the number plate in similar locations.

I think it will be legal as I read somewhere that as long as it's visible from the front it's legal.

Can someone confirm this for me please, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

It has to be visible on a vertical plain.

So it cant be placed lying down like that.

Just get a square Jap number plate, there much tidier for the likes of a soarer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

The law says it has to be vertical or near vertical, just relocate it you your front window..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

Yeah put it there.... if you like talking to the Gardai everyday.

Just get a mount from a EU car and put it on the bumper where it should be.

si_guru wrote: »

Its fully legal to mount your number plate to your front windscreen, the op is obviously trying to do something with the numberplate so it doesnt take away from his bumper.

Draffodx's suggestion is grand, because alot of jap cars have them mounted off to the side anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

cronin_j wrote: »
    Its fully legal to mount your number plate to your front windscreen, the op is obviously trying to do something with the numberplate so it doesnt take away from his bumper.

Draffodx's suggestion is grand, because alot of jap cars have them mounted off to the side anyway.

Right.. of course how silly of me...

http://www.prestigecarswalsden.co.uk/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/soarer.JPG

Question answered.

Im assuming your trying to make some sort of point here?

Your post shows a soarer with a factory bumper, the OP's bumper is clearly aftermarket...

Ill refer you to my previous post..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Atominist

Just get a mount from a EU car and put it on the bumper where it should be.

I've never been pulled over yet :D

Thanks guys for your reply's. I did want to place it on that lip, but if it ain't legal then hmpfff. I might just take a risk and do it anyway.

You say it's legal to just put it in the windscreen? Cos a Soarer windscreen is far from "near vertical" :)

Atominist wrote: »
    I've never been pulled over yet :D

Thanks guys for your reply's. I did want to place it on that lip, but if it ain't legal then hmpfff. I might just take a risk and do it anyway.

You say it's legal to just put it in the windscreen? Cos a Soarer windscreen is far from "near vertical" :)

A supras Windscreen aint far off the soarers one and Judge Donnacha O Buachalla ruled in the case: GardaVincent McCarthy against Greg Davis on the 10/6/09 in a wicklow court that under SI 318/92 Vehicle Registration and Taxation Regulations 1992 that a windscreen was sufficient to satisfy :
    Vehicle registration plates must be affixed to the front and back of your vehicle and clearly visible at all times

The point to note here is the word "affixed" it cant be just left on top the dash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

A supras Windscreen aint far off the soarers one and Judge Donnacha O Buachalla ruled in the case: GardaVincent McCarthy against Greg Davis on the 10/6/09 in a wicklow court that under SI 318/92 Vehicle Registration and Taxation Regulations 1992 that a windscreen was sufficient to satisfy :

The point to note here is the word "affixed" it cant be just left on top the dash.

....sunstrip-as-reg plate, anyone ?

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Hi, this is my Soarer, and I want to relocate my number plate to here:

Sdc10852.jpg

Sdc10851.jpg

I can't find out any of the official government websites if this would be legal or not, but I've seen loads of cars, and pics of cars with the number plate in similar locations.

I think it will be legal as I read somewhere that as long as it's visible from the front it's legal.

Can someone confirm this for me please, thanks.

might as well lob it onto the bleedin roof

Na, I don't need another spoiler :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭zubair

What's wrong with where it was? Moving it there doesn't look better imo.

Have you looked into getting a new plate holder and moving it to the side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

What about taking off that number plate holder altogether and fixing the number plate directly onto the bumper? I don't think it would take away from the look of the car too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

Are those "stick on" type plates legal?

It might follow the contour of the bumper better and still be vertical?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭martydunf

Correct me if Im wrong but I believe the idea of off-setting the jap style number plates to one side originated from turbo cars having a massive FMIC up front and moved the plate off to one side to allow as much cold air flow into the intercooler as possible. Im presuming the Soarer in question is turbo (Twin Turbo :confused:) which is grand, but I hate it when 17 yo's think its cool to do it to there non turbo Glanza's etc!:mad:

Yeah it's a 2.5 twin turbo 1JZ-GTE engine, and it has a big Blitz FMIC behind the bumper.

I wanted the plate on the lip as I like the look on other cars that have had it done, like this:

1604119-1.jpg

And I was considering modding the bumper where the plate holder is at the mo to let more air into the FMIC/air box.

Yeah it's a 2.5 twin turbo 1JZ-GTE engine, and it has a big Blitz FMIC behind the bumper.

I wanted the plate on the lip as I like the look on other cars that have had it done, like this:

1604119-1.jpg

And I was considering modding the bumper where the plate holder is at the mo to let more air into the FMIC/air box.

That looks pretty ok to me, only way to find out is to place the plate there and see how much hassle, if any, the guards give you over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

martydunf wrote: »
    Correct me if Im wrong but I believe the idea of off-setting the jap style number plates to one side originated from turbo cars having a massive FMIC up front and moved the plate off to one side to allow as much cold air flow into the intercooler as possible. Im presuming the Soarer in question is turbo (Twin Turbo :confused:) which is grand, but I hate it when 17 yo's think its cool to do it to there non turbo Glanza's etc!:mad:

yeh, how dare them people try to be different

do what i do, put a nct one in the window (for legal reasons ofc ) and put a little motorcycle size on on ur bumper to the side facing the kerb.

copeyhagen wrote: »
    yeh, how dare them people try to be different

It aint being different its just being sad...along the same lines of a Type R replica Civic, whats the point of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Dangerdunf

I've seen a red 200sx with the plate on the lip before. It had red neons glowing down on the plate. Now im not a fan of neon lights at all but it did look very nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

martydunf wrote: »
    It aint being different its just being sad...along the same lines of a Type R replica Civic, whats the point of it?

some people (myself included) think it takes away from the look of a decent front bumper to have a plate smack in the middle of it, i think it looks nice on the side.