Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First years 10/11

• 01-07-2010 12:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

Hi guys,
    Just wanted to get some feedback from new first years starting 10/11. Im from cork and am a going to be living away from home just wondering if there was anybody on this starting the marketing course in sept???

Jen:D
    xxxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Icky Thump

hey Jen congrates for getting in:) im starting the Architecture course in september woooooooooooooo:D

im from limerick(ahem the posh part:D) only been to waterford once in my life so really hope i like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Doylers

Waterford pretty boring guys , Im living here all my life. I will say WIT is a fantastic col to be going to, the lecturers are great and friendly.Hop you enjoy your stay.

Oh ps. whatever you do don't stay in student accommodation I haven't heard anything good about them. Rent a house with people.

Doylers wrote: »
    Waterford pretty boring guys , Im living here all my life. I will say WIT is a fantastic col to be going to, the lecturers are great and friendly.Hop you enjoy your stay.

Oh ps. whatever you do don't stay in student accommodation I haven't heard anything good about them. Rent a house with people.

youll always feel that way no matter where your from. i think limerick and im sure the OP thinks Cork is boring.

besides ill be there:) ill liven up Waterford for ya:D

yea im a young mature student so while i dont wanna be stuck surrounded by students i also dont wanna be stuck away from everything. ill find a one bedroom apartment me thinks:D me bachelor pad lol

Oh no but it is especially boring here lol nothing ever happens :( Thats good, you can bring the place to life :D
    I no what you mean like it would be boring to be away from the fun but like the on campus apartments are cold and you get stuck with 2 people. So are the river walk ones and the other ones. I was saying in another thread to a person that they stay in railway square, there really nice and your beside all the bars and clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭mousehouse

hey im starting the Bachelor of Business Studies (Hons) in September got offered the course today mature student im 28 really looking forward to it, I live in Kilkenny so will travel up and down only 25 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Sparkles:)

1. cork is never boring!

2. lived in river walk first year and it was good, lived in templars 2nd year and i went down hill!!!

if ye know people student accom is grand, you just dont wanna be stuck with 2 best friends, haahaa which the four people that lived with us over the year did... heehee

sparks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭imported_guy

theres alota cork people around, but ive only met 2 in my 2 years in waterford, im from cork too :) gona be living in college field appartments hopefully, waterford is okay, but cork is better, im here for the summer and come over most weekends etc have fun in WIT see you around :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 jennicork

ive been out in waterford loads of times n love it up there so really am looking forward t goin der !!!
    even if its fair quiet well make sum sort of a laugh ne way peeps haha :D
    excited much ....:cool:

jen xxxx

jennicork wrote: »
    ive been out in waterford loads of times n love it up there so really am looking forward t goin der !!!
    even if its fair quiet well make sum sort of a laugh ne way peeps haha :D
    excited much ....:cool:

jen xxxx

Its going to get better in the next few years, some of the main clubs have been sold. so expect better music,better offers and an allround better time :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭purplefighter

Anyone starting Arts this year as a mature student? I'm 25, starting Arts, thinking of Spanish and psychology. I'm so nervous and excited! I don't know a sinner in Waterford!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Its going to get better in the next few years, some of the main clubs have been sold. so expect better music,better offers and an allround better time :):)

Yeah the man who owns the Foundry in Carlow has bought Rubys so expect something big for that place soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 daveevo8

Ah sure waterford is good craic depends who your with if its good or not, any time i go out always have a a laugh with the lads and im livin here all my life 2, im also in the wit for 10/11 doing mechanical engineering cant wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 crowbar27

daveevo8 wrote: »
    , im also in the wit for 10/11 doing mechanical engineering cant wait.

hope you like maths and lots of it first year there is loads of it. there is also a high drop out rate too because of the amount of hours class per week its sumthing like 28hours a week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Sarah9

Hey Guys, If any of yee are looking for a room to rent we have one in our house, Two third year girls...dont worry if your 1st years were not that mature haha, love having the craic but like the house being clean!! Let me know :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,007 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

missed out on Multimedia in CIT so will be going to Waterford instead...WOOOOO :D:D

looking forawrd to going to college now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭deravarra

Rent a house with people.

How much would they cost?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 edel92

I am sooo excited about livin in waterford. il be doing arts! :D Anyone else livin in riverwalk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 a_coe

just accepted my offer, c'mon Arts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

just accepted business studies. second go after dropping outta architectural technology last year. ha

deravarra wrote: »
    How much would they cost?

well im going for a cut down price anyways:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Blueshooter

Ya I accepted the Business today aswell, I might try get the french with it aswell as I have all the points/grades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭DylanJM

Got my offer for BSc in entertainment systems in WIT. Dunno whether to accept it or not. I'm from Dublin so I'd have to move down, but I'm a dropout from last year so I have to pay full fees for a year, on top of accomodation, on top of registration fee, on top of the cost of living. Hmmm, may have to settle for DIT then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭Eroticplants

I accepted Bachelor in Business Ordinary and have applied to stay in Manor Village. I'm from Galway and I actually don't know ANYONE in Waterford, kinda weeing muself but sure college is for making friends anyways! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Mysterious&Shy

Hi all.

Congrats to everyone on getting into their courses!

Just a quick question! My younger brother got WIT for Accounting which he is delighted with! But he wants to know when you have to pay the fees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭Eroticplants

You pay on registration day, from what I know. They should be sending out info to him in the next few days anyways, so they'll let him know I'm sure.

as far as i know wit will send out stuff for us, online registration is open for 1st years on the 1 of september, and the registration days are the 2nd and 3rd, you'll be told in your letter when you're in.

when you get the letter i think you get a bank giro form and you pay that and bring it in on the 2nd/3rd or pay online with credit/laser ad print your email receipt and bring that on the 2nd/3rd.

you can apply for the wit card online too when you register online (very handy b/c you can pick your own pic) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Mysterious&Shy

You pay on registration day, from what I know. They should be sending out info to him in the next few days anyways, so they'll let him know I'm sure.

Thank you!

What if you cant afford the fee`s guys i.e your awaiting a grant (which i dont now if i have been approved??)

I'd say if you ring the admin office they'll be able to tell you. I've heard they're quite good with that.

If your getting a grant you still pay the reg fee. Then the wit will post your money back out to your then when your paid and all set up. The fee will be paid online using credit card or your can pay by direct debit. You will get a student number and password to allow you to pay online . YOU DONT HAVE TO PAY REGISTRATION DAY. Now everyone be happy they got in, im trying to learn calculus by 9 tomorrow so I can get back in lol

Hating to be a pest here. But is there like a definitive date where you must have paid??

Ah your not being a pest now lol your there I not sure tbh but would assume before the end of Sep. Theres late fees of 150 also if you fail to pay by a certain date.

Link: http://www.wit.ie/News/News/MainBody,42347,en.html

In terms of the Maintenance grant (Which i will be depending on for fees and to assist me in accommodation etc)

What if I dont have such a letter by the end of september?? i.e they havent got back to me. I am sure Im elgible for this grant like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 alisonm703

hey i have an offer for this course and i dont know should i accept. i was wondering if anyone has experience with the course or even the college itself? Anything good or bad to say about either and anything else you might like to add!
    Anything at all would be most helpful!

In terms of the Maintenance grant (Which i will be depending on for fees and to assist me in accommodation etc)

What if I dont have such a letter by the end of september?? i.e they havent got back to me. I am sure Im elgible for this grant like.

Well I'll tell you what happened to me. So i applied for the grant and wait to bet my CAO choices, I got my CAO and then accepted the course I wanted. I then sent an acceptance of CAO form to the vec. After that I think I was told I was getting a grant not too sure. I then got more forms from the vec to bring to the school and get signed and stamped to prove I was actually a registered student, then school also needed a copy to refund the reg fee. After that I returned the forums and I got my three installments in November,January(I think) and May(stupid I no).

Now a friend of mine hes not an Irish or EU citizen. His reg fee was like 8grand or something like that and on reg day they were like are you getting grant, OH OH bring your acceptance form if you have it on reg day, anyway he didn't have an acceptance form so he went to the vec and got it all sorted that day, no way in hell he could afford 8grand.

alisonm703 wrote: »
    hey i have an offer for this course and i dont know should i accept. i was wondering if anyone has experience with the course or even the college itself? Anything good or bad to say about either and anything else you might like to add!

Whats the course lol The place itself is great really nice people and staff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 alisonm703

applied social studies

Oh wow nope not a clue about that im forensics :) You'll prob be on de college street campus though, thats the one closest to the town. Its meh down there im not a fan its all small and the library sucks lol The main campus has all then good stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

If you have applied for a grant, and have been accepted, just provide this letter to the college on registration day and the college will register you temporarily. You'll still have access to all the student resources and you'll become fully registered when your grant is processed. For the following years, they'll know you're in receipt of a grant and automatically register you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Moonmad

I've finished the course last year absolutely loved it. I'm going into my second year of the MA now.
    At the end of the day it's applied social studies, the subject range is very broad and most of my class are doing very different things now. You'll have to work at your degree and make sure you choose different placements so you have experience in different settings. Having a social care qualification allows you to work in many fields but you'll be the one that has to choose which are you work in and cater your placements to gain experience in that field. It's not like a youth work degree where at the end of it you're a qualified youth worker.

You'll be in the college street campus, which is nice and small so very easy to get around and everyone is really friendly and chilled out around there.

The only thing is the facilities there are pretty piss poor, it has a small library but you might find you'll have to go up to the main campus to get books you need. You're also gonna find printing facilities leave a lot to be desired.

Anyway hope some of that helped, if you want to know anything more specific feel free to ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 daveevo8

crowbar27 wrote: »
    hope you like maths and lots of it first year there is loads of it. there is also a high drop out rate too because of the amount of hours class per week its sumthing like 28hours a week

Ah sure no course is easy if it was everyone would do it lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭hippy_hi

Moonmad wrote: »
    I've finished the course last year absolutely loved it. I'm going into my second year of the MA now.
    At the end of the day it's applied social studies, the subject range is very broad and most of my class are doing very different things now. You'll have to work at your degree and make sure you choose different placements so you have experience in different settings. Having a social care qualification allows you to work in many fields but you'll be the one that has to choose which are you work in and cater your placements to gain experience in that field. It's not like a youth work degree where at the end of it you're a qualified youth worker.

You'll be in the college street campus, which is nice and small so very easy to get around and everyone is really friendly and chilled out around there.

The only thing is the facilities there are pretty piss poor, it has a small library but you might find you'll have to go up to the main campus to get books you need. You're also gonna find printing facilities leave a lot to be desired.

Anyway hope some of that helped, if you want to know anything more specific feel free to ask.

Thanks very much for that info...im starting BA in socail studies next week and am really nervous. That sounds nice and relaxed and shur I can just travel up to the main campus for anything in particular to use the library etc. Looking forward to it now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Et Cetera

Sarah9 wrote: »
    Hey Guys, If any of yee are looking for a room to rent we have one in our house, Two third year girls...dont worry if your 1st years were not that mature haha, love having the craic but like the house being clean!! Let me know :D

pics?

(joke)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 shmivy

anyone no how many hour a week the higher business is?