Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

airsoft gear you regret buying.

• 01-07-2010 7:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭

myself have no regrets with what i have bought, buts has anyone ever bought something and lived to regret it????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

There have been a few guns that although I don't regret buying them
    after I received them I got that disappointed feeling when I finally got my
    paws on them due to cosmetic things.

I think there has been only 1 gun I bought where I thought to myself
    Doh! could have bought something else instead after I got it.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

*waits for the slew of angry CA and Sportsline comments*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

my mauri M16 A2 bought thinking ive the perfect vn project ,
    was i mistaken internaly sound ,
    externals , 2 piece outer barrel that wobbled like a drunken sailor and a reciever that was so flimsy it snapped from the carrying handle to the lower reciever after a minor fall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

My first gun, a KWA G36C. Lovely gun, still works perfect, but let's just say that my statutory rights when buying from MIA included being roared at, having to listen to a phone call where a site owner got roared at, seeing the gun get chronoed in the middle of a shop floor with BBs flying everywhere with kids present, and not getting a problem with a gun fixed. Thankfully I've since rectified the problem elsewhere :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

A Galaxy MP7 that I bought from MIA that was on clearance sale. It had issues (battery related); and I had no comeback with the sale conditions. I don't think it's particularly the shops fault in this case, and I only paid €50 for it but still ... would have been nice had it worked.

Bar that, I don't think there's a single gun I've regretted buying.

NakedDex wrote: »
    *waits for the slew of angry CA and Sportsline comments*

And I own two three CA guns, and two of them I've had sterling service out of. The third I just haven't used yet (m24 socom w/fluted barrel). One of them (m15A4) has *never* given so much as a sound of stress despite being loaned to people for a day's skirmishing and generally subjected to dogs abuse. Probably the most reliable gun I own from a maintenance perspective (or lackthereof .. ). The other gun (Steyr AUG A1) was sitting idle for a long time after I cracked open the gearbox to upgrade as an experiment, which admittedly I didn't need to do. She's now working nicely again with a very shiney gearbox (systema parts, lots of systema parts).

It's no secret they have reliability issues in the last few years, and the Sportsline series lives in infamy.
    I never implied they were *all* bad. I have two of their G36's that are still grand. One was the first AEG I bought, so about four years of hard service and it's still fine.
    My comment is based on my experience with first hand accounts of failures, repairs and customers constantly giving out stink about Sportslines and CA in general over the last two years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Lemming wrote: »
    (m24 socom w/fluted barrel).

I want your BDU, your vest and your M24.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭McGilla

STI lawman non blow back - I bought it on here, as part of a deal!

It was my 1st pistol, and I didnt realise it was non blowback! (completely my fault)

i wasnt impressed with its performance, i broke it on my 1st skirmish too!

What they say is true, buy cheap, buy often!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

my first aeg was a classic army sports line m4 and i still have it and use it from time to time. it has always chronoed at .88. never once had a problem with it.

i have heard of a few stories of sportsline trash. but not in my case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭k99_64

m203, just never use the thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

My GBB Scar - though I love it I rarely get to use it. Real cap magazines on a sunday skirmish versus people with high caps - never works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

k99_64 wrote: »
    m203, just never use the thing!

Same here, I have 3 m203 launchers and have used none of them in anger :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭.22 Lover

CA sportline the barrel wobbled an inch in either direction.But completly rebuilt it so problem now over.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

All my Vietnam Gear and gun that I bought/assembled.

Dropped some load of money on it, on a whim, thinking it would be class for some Vietnam themed games. alas it was all talk ( threads up everywhere bout vietnam games going) and I had a serious amount of wasted kit.

Still have the rifle although want rid of it, good performer but just cant deal with another m16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Real cap magazines on a sunday skirmish versus people with high caps - never works.

TBH, look at it more as a challenge to up your game. Try playing a Saturday skirmish with an 8-round rifle, with one magazine (that needs to be reloaded every eight rounds consequently) and a canister of gas to keep it powered ... or running a game with nothing but a pistol just for giggles. Makes you work for your kills but it's sooooo satisfying :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭ShadowFox

My first pistol was a KJ WORKS SIG 226 lovely gun but mags are a pain for releasing gas if you rapid fire it not good in the middle of a game looked like i had chicken pox when the lads were finished with me :D A friend has a KJ WORKS M9 and is having nothing but grief with the mags too Co2 and Green gas
    We are now using WE 1911s and M9s class guns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

A Galaxy MP7 that I bought from MIA that was on clearance sale. It had issues (battery related); and I had no comeback with the sale conditions. I don't think it's particularly the shops fault in this case, and I only paid €50 for it but still ... would have been nice had it worked.

I paid 124 for the same, what a loada bollox. The gearbox itself is decent, everything else is muck.

Also, those clone mesh goggles, they were a waste of time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭flashinbluelite

ESS turbo fan goggles ...... great product but boy do i regret spendin that much money on them......

if only the fan would take away my tears as well as the warm air in the goggles.......

:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭daz801

kjw sig 226. brilliant gun no daubt about that, it's just the fact that i never really used it, was great fun for target shooting at home but i found that with a g36c their was no need to ever use it.

Then to make things worse it got nicked out at fingal airsoft :mad: (little kids renting turning up at lunch and then leaving early about the same time my pistol dissapeared :mad: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

Red dot sight, turns out I hate them. I was recommended one, assumed it had magnification and was very disappointed and left with something I don't like. Oh well

• Moderators Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Big_G

Clone eotech holosight. Sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭General Grobel

Ah a chance to bitch and moan :P

First was an A&K sr25, oh where do I begin. It was supposedly part of a bad batch which I wish I was told about when I bought the damn thing. Accuracy and range was crap from the start. Went ahead and replaced the barrel and hop up unit including rubber with top of the line stuff just to find out that the gearbox had a serious air seal problem. It chronode at .40 something meters per second, FML. Next came a gearbox seizure which I am now certain was caused just by a lock up due to a drained battery. Not knowing this at the time I sent it to the retailer with no name to be fixed, not a serious problem I was told, just a week or so I was told. But then weeks turned into months and months into more months. I still paid full price and then some mind you and I wont get into the rest of it. To this day it is yet to function as it should have in the first place, but I shall rebuild it one day!

Then theres a not so cheapo clone eotech that destroyed itself and countless other useless pieces of china gear that at first seemed like a great deal but as usual you get exactly what you pay for :rolleyes:

Theres also that POS WE 1911 that ate gas like nothing else and also decided to destroy itself despite constant cleaning and lubricating.

Hopefully but probably not lastly theres my beloved G&G 550. Don't get me wrong I love the damn thing but man has she got problems. The receiver wobbles every which direction, the stock wobbles, the grip wobbles and the hand guard wobbles. But thanks to the magical properties of duck tape Ive fixed or alleviated the wobble. Then theres the mysteriously spontaneous electrical problem where if I wobble either of the for mentioned receiver or handguard or both, the power is cut off completely, and I have no idea why. Though that means that I have to grip and shoulder the gun properly which could be a plus :p. Then theres the ultimate pain-in-the-ass-keeps-me-awake-at-night barrel. First it wobbled, then it didn't, then I noticed that it sits in the receiver at something of a 85 degree angle. Yet somehow she fires straight as far as I can tell, the nozzle hasn't ****ed itself over and she still runs after about 10,000 rounds. The inner barrel does fit into the reciever at a slant however so maybe the gearbox itself is at an angle too :confused: But I still love it to bits!

So in short, **** My Life, don't buy cheap china stuff, and I should never buy from the no name retailer ever, ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Hopefully but probably not lastly theres my beloved G&G 550. Don't get me wrong I love the damn thing but man has she got problems. The receiver wobbles every which direction, the stock wobbles, the grip wobbles and the hand guard wobbles. But thanks to the magical properties of duck tape Ive fixed or alleviated the wobble. Then theres the mysteriously spontaneous electrical problem where if I wobble either of the for mentioned receiver or handguard or both, the power is cut off completely, and I have no idea why. Though that means that I have to grip and shoulder the gun properly which could be a plus :p. Then theres the ultimate pain-in-the-ass-keeps-me-awake-at-night barrel. First it wobbled, then it didn't, then I noticed that it sits in the receiver at something of a 85 degree angle. Yet somehow she fires straight as far as I can tell, the nozzle hasn't ****ed itself over and she still runs after about 10,000 rounds. The inner barrel does fit into the reciever at a slant however so maybe the gearbox itself is at an angle too :confused: But I still love it to bits!

By the sound of it the JG is far better :p only issues are not so sturdy stock and badly designed selectors. Annoying but nothing serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭General Grobel

Nah G&G guns usually have a lot of problems with the first batch. The barrel was missing a a screw that kept it centered, replaced that and it stopped wobbling though its still bent :/. And generally fitting wasn't great but tighten a few screws and apply some duck tape and shes grand. One would just think that the retailer would check there stock before selling them to make sure there aren't any faults.

Despite all its issues I'd buy it again though. The finish is great, correct grey receiver colour and OD polymer which feels great. Battery compartment is well handy though a 9.6 battery would be a squeeze. What I might do one day is buy
    a 552 upper from G&G directly so I'd easily be able to switch between barrel lengths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

TBH, look at it more as a challenge to up your game. Try playing a Saturday skirmish with an 8-round rifle, with one magazine (that needs to be reloaded every eight rounds consequently) and a canister of gas to keep it powered ... or running a game with nothing but a pistol just for giggles. Makes you work for your kills but it's sooooo satisfying :D

Lemming - considering the hassle I was having yesterday trying to get the right setting on the npas to set the fps correctly, as much as I was inclined to take your advice I got angryface and threw the scar back in the boot and took out the nice aeg back-up instead! But my next weekend out I'll be sure to have the npas set before I head out (chrono fail this weekend I'm afraid) and I'll give it a try. On the basis of this weekend (granted it was a milsim/larp game) I reckon a single mag would get me through! By the time I'd emptied a mag I'd usually switched sides twice and been killed (that'd be the LARP then...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Oh just remembered.....
    JLS Scar in Black.
    It's came out of the box with paintwork scratched on the metal, a loose stock, a wobbly outer barrell, a very crude crome bit of metal that was supposedly the bolt cover which had the consitancy of the Metal sliding bit from a 3.5inch floppy disk. In order to insert the stick battery you needed to
    remove the Outer Barrell.

It fired over the limit so I took it apart to see if I could snip the spring, it broke my snips, every time I tried to but the gear box back together again, it did not even make a single cycle, the piston cocked and jammed even though I followed all the gear box take down guides.

Its sitting in a room in a few hundred pieces for the last year or two. If I ever get it back to gether again I will use
    it to test spray paint.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Kurbinator

My ghillie.
    The only good use I got out of it since I got it was scaring the crap out of people on holloween.
    Call me mad if you like but I'm convinced it makes my stick out at skirmishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beez

Kurbinator wrote: »
    My ghillie.
    The only good use I got out of it since I got it was scaring the crap out of people on holloween.
    Call me mad if you like but I'm convinced it makes my stick out at skirmishes.

At indoor events?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭kevteljeur

My very first airsoft rifle which I bought from a well-known controversial retailer, an utterly rubbidge clone M15, which on the one hand was enough to get me onto an airsoft field for a game, but on the other hand was a) initially very, very hot (anti-tank cannon hot) b) utterly unreliable (stuck trigger, eventually had to take the whole thing apart) and c) has since started falling apart, slowly. More specific details are floating about here in an old post of mine.

So I sort of regret it. Had I bought defenderdude's G36 first, that might have been even better, or just bought something from Eirsoft, but hey, you have to start somewhere. The initial experience nearly put me off, if it hadn't been for (the artist currently known as) Masada, Rew, defenderdude and the HRTA crew.

If I'd bought the finest kit known to man, then it wouldn't make any difference if the people I met playing the game were a bunch of tits. And on that note, I'll have to get out to a game soon, and see if they're still decent or if they've all been titified since then ;-)

Also: Mid-cap AUG mags (I think they were King-Arms). Cheap sh!te which explode after 5 refills. Useful as pyro replacements, maybe? Oh, and the dreaded belt-attached thigh-holster; probably the best excuse to drop your pants in the field that I can think of. Definitely regret knowing they even exist.

k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Eoiners

My double eagle m83, I bought it from England and after shipping was added it became quite expensive, tuned out to be like .25 joules! Horribly disappointing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭roryk1

ok saw a bb gun seethru m4 in the gadet shops in swords thought wow theyr legal now went down bought it broke on first skirmish every1 was looking at my see thru m4 brought it straight back got a refund thank god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Private Snafu

Magpul gear.... 'cause I'm an addict now :p

Really though, an SRC HK416 I bought here on boards. Turned out it was bought from a notorious Irish retailer and came with the worst drilled cylinder I've ever seen. I seriously thought someone had hammered a nail into it :mad:Turned out to be a money pit in the end:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 red2d2

I regret buying a Thunder b grenade, not nearly as much as i regret buying a second.

The first one i bought, the spoon broke off the first time i threw it and the second one has NEVER exploded during a game.
    I tried it at home and it works (scares the be-jaysus out of my dogs :P) but every time i toss it at someone during a skirmish it instantly becomes a paperweight.

Even if they do explode they're not exactly that useful because most sites wont let you use them for the reason most people would want a grenade; room clearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭thermo

agm gbb m4,,,,,, the mags broke my heart fixing them. had to sell it in the end to keep my sanity,,,,,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

This feckin' Scar! Fired at next to nothing when I got it earlier, now it's over, if I've to open it one more time...

Edit: And it's still f*cking over!!!
    310fps and 16rps...
    Someone give me a few quid...

Several years ago, the day airsoft became legal here, my CA G36k arrived from the now defunct Airsoft Warehouse in the UK on next-day delivery.

Nothing wrong with it, it still works like the day I bought it. Love the thing.

The problem is, it started a slippery slope, and now I'm staring at about thirty-odd devices and a perpetually empty wallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Absolutely everything I've ever bought from ICS.

Beautiful pieces, split level gear boxes, gorgeous detailing.

But they are cursed each and every one of them. They die for tragic reasons and make you wish you had never owned one ... because now you have to live with out it.

Absolutely everything I've ever bought from ICS.

Beautiful pieces, split level gear boxes, gorgeous detailing.

But they are cursed each and every one of them. They die for tragic reasons and make you wish you had never owned one ... because now you have to live with out it.

Do you think this is common or were you just unlucky?

Was thinking about getting a ICS MP5 at some point.

Beez wrote: »
    Do you think this is common or were you just unlucky?

Was thinking about getting a ICS MP5 at some point.

Its mostly the hop units which seem to be a problem across the board in the brand ... or at least they were a few years back. Things may have changed.

Check with Masada or some of the other techies before you buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭hrta

NakedDex wrote: »
    Several years ago, the day airsoft became legal here, my CA G36k arrived from the now defunct Airsoft Warehouse in the UK on next-day delivery.

Nothing wrong with it, it still works like the day I bought it. Love the thing.

The problem is, it started a slippery slope, and now I'm staring at about thirty-odd devices and a perpetually empty wallet.

Was there not a C-mag with that:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Its mostly the hop units which seem to be a problem across the board in the brand ... or at least they were a few years back. Things may have changed.

Check with Masada or some of the other techies before you buy.

I've an ics mp5, the hop on it is fantastic I find, great consistency and range, what was the problem on yours?

Does that have a split gearbox?

My Mp5's hop was very brittle and bit the dust pretty early on (Richie replaced it with another one and apparently it works great now).

The wiring in them was weird though on the A5 model, where the battery wire was routed to the motor through the gas tube ... right where you cant help doing the HK slap. Result? Torn wrapping on the wire causing shorts.

hrta wrote: »
    Was there not a C-mag with that:D

There was. It was used once and promptly sold. What a tragedy that was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭PEP_C

My first gun was an ICS MP5.....brilliant bit of kit....lasted me 2 years before I sold it on, never had a problem with it. My mate has an ICS m4 rifle....never had a problem with it for 5 years now.

Back on topic....Anything I ever bought in ACU. (which was alot)

My STAR M249 para....I love this gun, I hate its trigger mechanism. Must have had it repaired 20-30 times.

My green dot laser. Works brilliantly in the house and in the car park of many a site. Bring it out on the ground....nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I havn't had trouble with my hop, it seems pretty tough and works well. Mine is a back wired model to a solid stock so no wiring issues, the rof was a bit crap from stock though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

did have some problems with the early ics gear, but over the last year or so the quality has increased massively with the latest models such as the l85 that my father picked up i fins great to play with and to work on

PEP_C wrote: »
    My green dot laser. Works brilliantly in the house and in the car park of many a site. Bring it out on the ground....nothing.

Just as well, given they're technically illegal...