Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Applying for a first time licence.

• 01-07-2010 12:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭

Sorry i couldnt see a FAQ about this anywhere.
    Ive heard you need to get a medical cert now to apply for a licence. What is this for? Is it to say your of sound mind etc? Can any GP give you one?

Also on the forms i got theres only room for 1 landowner's info. Is this right?

The form is FCA1.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Arcto wrote: »
    Ive heard you need to get a medical cert now to apply for a licence. What is this for? Is it to say your of sound mind etc? Can any GP give you one?

The form is FCA1.

Thanks.

You just fill in FCA1 listing your GP and his number, the Gardaí can ring and find out are you on any meds etc

yes, there is only room for one land owner so give one.

You can supply a cover letter if there is anything you feel is relevant to submit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

Oh thats handy, save me forking out 25+ yoyo's for a cert or something :)

And the section called Proof Of Competence (sec. 2.5) how do you fill that out? Say you have a gun cabinet or something?

Also: Cheapish entry level side by side shotgun for a beginner?

Oh thats handy, save me forking out 25+ yoyo's for a cert or something :)

And the section called Proof Of Competence (sec. 2.5) how do you fill that out? Say you have a gun cabinet or something?

Also: Cheapish entry level side by side shotgun for a beginner?

You can either A show a course you took under NARGC or Similar org.

Or B if you already held a licence you do not have to fill it out.

Baikal are the cheapest S/S

Gun cabinet is under the security section.
    1 shotgun under SI 2009 if only firearm licensed can be broken down to store

Sorry for being n00bish but does that mean I HAVE to do a course?
    Or is it a case that they will be more inclined to grant the licence if you have a course done? Can you leave this section blank if you dont have a course done?

And i was told by a friend that you must own a gun cabinet or a safe to store a shotgun even if you can break it down. Is this the case?

Or is it a case that they will be more inclined to grant the licence if you have a course done? Can you leave this section blank if you dont have a course done?

And i was told by a friend that you must own a gun cabinet or a safe to store a shotgun even if you can break it down. Is this the case?

If you only own 1 shotgun only broken down is OK, However a cabinet is no load to carry.

A person unfamiliar with a shotgun could not assemble a broken one.

You can do a course through the NARGC.

You also need referees, use a fellow shooter you know.
    And for the second ref use a family member.

The Gardaí are obligated to help you fill it out anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Unfortunately the law only says you have to show proof of competence. It's completely up to your local Superintendent as to what that entails. Before doing any course, talk to him first. It's probably most pragmatic to find a local course (the NARGC run some, so do the NASRPC and pretty much every other NGB and club), and ask if that's suitable; and if not, what he will accept.
    There is no course that is guaranteed to be acceptable, it's is completely down to the Superintendent's discretion at the moment.

Nice one guys!
    Ill be dropping down to my super tomorrow so for a chat. Youve been a great help. Ill let ye know how i get on.
    Thanks again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kieran1141

Sparks wrote: »
    Unfortunately the law only says you have to show proof of competence. It's completely up to your local Superintendent as to what that entails. Before doing any course, talk to him first. It's probably most pragmatic to find a local course (the NARGC run some, so do the NASRPC and pretty much every other NGB and club), and ask if that's suitable; and if not, what he will accept.
    There is no course that is guaranteed to be acceptable, it's is completely down to the Superintendent's discretion at the moment.
    if you apply for a first licence in my area your sent to gun dealer he will provide you with letter of competence 80 euro as usual robbed again, 1 letter from farmer some cases 2, but suppose it is differant everywhere you go, and if you join the gunclub no letters needed they will do letter of competence, we live in the same country but laws differ from 1 county to another.

kieran1141 wrote: »
    if you apply for a first licence in my area your sent to gun dealer he will provide you with letter of competence 80 euro
    You're kidding. Your local Superintendent is accepting a letter of competence from the guy selling you the firearm?
    /facepalm

You're kidding. Your local Superintendent is accepting a letter of competence from the guy selling you the firearm?
    /facepalm
    i would be good friends with the gun dealer told me they are sending out lads for letters if you buy the gun there ha ha the letter is 50 euro, otherwise 80, or chairman of gunclub can give it so ive been told. firearms dealer is 50years at it would'nt just write letter for anyone i would say. he would be well respected by the law, but just seems to be differant in every county...... gun dealer in sout tipp told me no problem to get moderator on rifles off there super, differant story in north tipp, i give up iam confused..... was a bit unfair to the guards they were given no training to deal with new licences, in fairness they had to pick it up as they went along.

Doesn't matter if the firearms dealer's been around for a long while or if he's particular about giving out the letters, any Garda worth his salary shouldn't be accepting a letter from someone with such a massive conflict of interest as being proof of competence like that, it makes a mockery of the whole thing (badly thought out and implemented though it might be).

what make a chairman of a gun club any differant than me i hold more guns than him and over 30years, i presumed you would have to do a safety course, another gun dealer has done a course and charges 80 euro aswell but dont know if you have to do a course or from what i can gather he asks a few questions and then give you the letter 80 euro thank you...

kieran1141 wrote: »
    i presumed you would have to do a safety course
    That's precisely what the original intent was. What you're describing is fallout from the original intent not being properly thought through or transcribed into law - if you don't define what courses are acceptable, then people can pull ripoff stunts and scams like the ones you've mentioned.

was away feeding the dogs that has to be done, there was 1 course that i know of done on the grounds that i shoot clays on but never hears of another,most of the guards i know to be fair have not been trained to deal with all the in's and out's all they ask for here is a letter from farmer, letter from firearms dealer or reciept, and insurance cover, whitch is fair enough but it should apply to everyone in every county, dont seem to be a set of guidelines set down,or madey its changed since last september when i went in with my applications nobody would deal with it, they did'nt know what to do, kept telling me to come back again, they did'nt even know how much the licence way 1 guard to me thinks its 120 or 150 euro. even told me thinks there is a 40 euro charge for paperwork, need i say i had 7 guns at that stage and was getting worried. have gun room alarmed door and window full house alarmed wired to phone line new 8 gun safe bolted to wall, and never came to check anything, they told me i needed all this, a well its done. no point in going on about it jus presumed 1 law for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 billyjojason

1 gun doesnt need a safe, but it has to be stored broken AND a have trigger lock, as a broken down shotgun is very easy to put together. also store the ammo seperately.

1 gun doesnt need a safe
    Only if it's a non-restricted shotgun. My air pistol would need a safe if you just had a licence for it, for example.

Is an air pistol restricted, I thougt .22 air and .22lr were ok?

Not evil glock type:(

No, airguns aren't restricted. It's just that the security SI says that you need a safe for any firearms other than a single non-restricted shotgun.

The Farmer rule, as most farmers have a single unrestricted shotty ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

The form is FCA1.

Thanks.

What, you didn't see this:
    Announcement:
    Firearms Licence Renewal Information => Please read this before asking about the changes in the licence this year!
    10-10-2009 Sparks (Category Moderator)
    at the top of the page?

Nobody ever does, it seems :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

I did:D, and very useful it was too:D!

We have the same prob in HS; no one ever sees this:mad:.

But your announcement is bigger than our sticky, that's why I can't believe the OP didn't spot it:confused:.

we want it explained to us Sparky this SI are confusing to us mere mortals.

Even more confusing to the civic guards ;)

we want it explained to us Sparky this SI are confusing to us mere mortals.

From that announcement, after all the Frequently Asked Questions and the summary of the security SI:
    And, though written for ISSF shooters, this may prove useful: How do I apply for a firearms licence in Ireland? Now updated for 2009...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Norwayviking

You just fill in FCA1 listing your GP and his number, the Gardaí can ring and find out are you on any meds etc

yes, there is only room for one land owner so give one.

You can supply a cover letter if there is anything you feel is relevant to submit

Hi tackle

I am just in the same situation here.
    The problem is that i dont have a GP,and the reason beiing because i am captain of a norwegian offshorevessel in the North sea,and work half the year or more away from Ireland,but we have to have a medical taken to be on the ships every 2 years,and this can only be done by doctors approved by the Norwegian maritime directorate.
    The last two years i have been going to a doctor in Dublin though,who is approved,but he is not my GP.
    Do you think that will be good enough for the Gards when applying for the lisence?

Hi tackle

I am just in the same situation here.
    The problem is that i dont have a GP,and the reason beiing because i am captain of a norwegian offshorevessel in the North sea,and work half the year or more away from Ireland,but we have to have a medical taken to be on the ships every 2 years,and this can only be done by doctors approved by the Norwegian maritime directorate.
    The last two years i have been going to a doctor in Dublin though,who is approved,but he is not my GP.
    Do you think that will be good enough for the Gards when applying for the lisence?

A doctor is a doctor.
    if you had to visit a doctor for an exam he has your details.

Put him down, ring him before hand and tell him you are doing so.

Keep it simple and you will SIMPLY avoid problems :D

You have a very specific form, give very specific answers.

Do you have Irish Citizenship?
    have you licensed a firearm here before?

A doctor is a doctor.
    if you had to visit a doctor for an exam he has your details.

Put him down, ring him before hand and tell him you are doing so.

Keep it simple and you will SIMPLY avoid problems :D

You have a very specific form, give very specific answers.

Do you have Irish Citizenship?
    have you licensed a firearm here before?

No still Norwegian citizenship,only had lisence in Norway before.
    Been here 12 years.

No still Norwegian citizenship,only had lisence in Norway before.
    Been here 12 years.

You should look for a european firearms pass.

You may be able to have your firearms here on your Norway licence as Norway is in Europe.

It is a tricky one on me, if you were Irish citizen i would be able to advise better, Sparks is our legal eagle on here.

Citizensimformation.ie may be best people to advise you
    http://centres.citizensinformation.ie/county.php?county=dublin

Or Sparky :D

Firearms pass may be an option
    Although you would have to get that from the Vikings so you could bring your rifles over here.;)

If I get a pass I can travel, but i need a permit from the country also

You should look for a european firearms pass.

You may be able to have your firearms here on your Norway licence as Norway is in Europe.

It is a tricky one on me, if you were Irish citizen i would be able to advise better, Sparks is our legal eagle on here.

Citizensimformation.ie may be best people to advise you
    http://centres.citizensinformation.ie/county.php?county=dublin

Or Sparky :D

Firearms pass may be an option
    Although you would have to get that from the Vikings so you could bring your rifles over here.;)

If I get a pass I can travel, but i need a permit from the country also

Thanks Tackle

I think i will apply for a lisence here instead.
    Just became a member up in the midlands,so to avoid to much hassle,i prefer it here.I have a joint one with my father in Norway,that will do me if i go hunting there,but for target shooting i will get a rifle here on a irish lisence,so i understand that should be ok if you have been resident here for 6 months or so.

Thanks Tackle

I think i will apply for a lisence here instead.
    Just became a member up in the midlands,so to avoid to much hassle,i prefer it here.I have a joint one with my father in Norway,that will do me if i go hunting there,but for target shooting i will get a rifle here on a irish lisence,so i understand that should be ok if you have been resident here for 6 months or so.

Since you are here 12 years but not a citizen i'm not sure to be honest.

As you still are a European.
    You may need references from your local Police in Denmark to help your case.

better to have it and not need it, than need it and not have it.

Do you have a RSI number/Social insurance number in Ireland?
    Without knowing your business it is hard to give half decent advise.

Have you asked in the nearest Garda barracks to your Irish address as they are the ones who will process your application!

Since you are here 12 years but not a citizen i'm not sure to be honest.

As you still are a European.
    You may need references from your local Police in Denmark to help your case.

better to have it and not need it, than need it and not have it.

Do you have a RSI number/Social insurance number in Ireland?
    Without knowing your business it is hard to give half decent advise.

Have you asked in the nearest Garda barracks to your Irish address as they are the ones who will process your application!

Thanks tackle

When i first came to Ireland i was told by the detective that i dont need one because it some EU regulation,and dont needed to get one since i am paying taxes to Norway.
    And i have gotten proof from Police in Norway regarding my past criminal record etc,and also my discharge from the Norwegian army,so i think it should be ok to apply for one.
    As i have seen in other threads about foreigners in Ireland,you need to be here atleast 6 months to apply for a firearms lisence.
    And where is the Oracle(sparks) when you need him lol

Thanks tackle

When i first came to Ireland i was told by the detective that i dont need one because it some EU regulation,and dont needed to get one since i am paying taxes to Norway.
    And i have gotten proof from Police in Norway regarding my past criminal record etc,and also my discharge from the Norwegian army,so i think it should be ok to apply for one.
    As i have seen in other threads about foreigners in Ireland,you need to be here atleast 6 months to apply for a firearms lisence.
    And where is the Oracle(sparks) when you need him lol

Curled up in bed I would think.

6month residence is required yes, The EU thing might be the solution.

You must let us all know your progress :D

And what Rifles you intend to buy :D OR build ;)

Curled up in bed I would think.

6month residence is required yes, The EU thing might be the solution.

You must let us all know your progress :D

And what Rifles you intend to buy :D OR build ;)

Well you know about my stock from Pdc custom allready i believeicon7.gif
    Its going to be semi custom tikka t3 super varmint,have new bolt handle,shroud in metal for it,cause it all comes in plastic,something i dont like,and got a new 20 moa base for it as well,so all i am missing is the rifleicon7.gif
    Scope is a Zeiss conquest 6,5-20x50.
    And offcourse its always nice to have someone to ask if its something i wondering about,thanks once again Tackle.

Well you know about my stock from Pdc custom allready i believeicon7.gif
    Its going to be semi custom tikka t3 super varmint,have new bolt handle,shroud in metal for it,cause it all comes in plastic,something i dont like,and got a new 20 moa base for it as well,so all i am missing is the rifleicon7.gif
    Scope is a Zeiss conquest 6,5-20x50.

Sounds good.

You may bring it out foxing/bunny shooting yet.

What calibre is it? Seems like for ever since I read your first post :D:D:D

Sounds good.

You may bring it out foxing/bunny shooting yet.

What calibre is it? Seems like for ever since I read your first post :D:D:D

Well i am gettin it in 6,5x55se the scandinavian calibre offcourseicon7.gif
    And i might try and get some landowners permissions to try it in the field.icon7.gif
    I have a few friends in Norway getting a permission for some seal hunting in Norway,might give it a try at that lol

Well i am gettin it in 6,5x55se the scandinavian calibre offcourseicon7.gif
    And i might try and get some landowners permissions to try it in the field.icon7.gif

Farmers permissions are fairly easy, especially if you have IFA countryside insurance as all Farmers are IFA members :D

I had a 6.5x55 Mauser 1910 for 3 years and I had a Sako 75 for another 4 years in same calibre.

I got a lot of deer with the Sako.
    I also got a few with the Mauser.

I wish you the best of luck.
    Make sure you go to visit Clonmacnoise to say sorry :D:D:D

A lot of farmers around there will give you shooting if you apologize for the Vikings (joking)

Farmers permissions are fairly easy, especially if you have IFA countryside insurance as all Farmers are IFA members :D

I had a 6.5x55 Mauser 1910 for 3 years and I had a Sako 75 for another 4 years in same calibre.

I got a lot of deer with the Sako.
    I also got a few with the Mauser.

I wish you the best of luck.
    Make sure you go to visit Clonmacnoise to say sorry :D:D:D

A lot of farmers around there will give you shooting if you apologize for the Vikings (joking)

Thanks Tackle

I will try and get one,but first i prefer to do some papershooting in the midlands.And i will certainly apologize for the Viking raids icon7.gif lol

If you ever interested in doing some seal,reindeer or elk hunting let me knowicon7.gif

Thanks Tackle

I will try and get one,but first i prefer to do some papershooting in the midlands.And i will certainly apologize for the Viking raids icon7.gif lol

If you ever interested in doing some seal,reindeer or elk hunting let me knowicon7.gif

Oh I will indeed Sir, I would love all of the above.

I'll get you some bunnies, an Fallow Deer in return :D

Oh I will indeed Sir, I would love all of the above.

I'll get you some bunnies, an Fallow Deer in return :D

Sounds like a good deal buddy.
    I have a friend organizing a seal trip next year,and some deer as well on his uncles land in Norway,so i will get you plenty of notice when the time comes.
    PS and Norway is very expensive,bring alcohol from hereicon7.gif

What, you didn't see this:
    at the top of the page?

Well....yes actually i did but i ignored it as it said firearms renewal. Maybe changing the title might help new people.

Anyway: Sorry for the late check back in. I put a deposit down on a side by side Reno shotgun at my local dealer. Acording to the local garda station my FCA training will cover proof of competence. My mates dropping back my land owners form to me tomorrow so ill be submitting it then. Fingers crossed :D

Thanks again for the help.

Well....yes actually i did but i ignored it as it said firearms renewal. Maybe changing the title might help new people.

Anyway: Sorry for the late check back in. I put a deposit down on a side by side Reno shotgun at my local dealer. Acording to the local garda station my FCA training will cover proof of competence. My mates dropping back my land owners form to me tomorrow so ill be submitting it then. Fingers crossed :D

Thanks again for the help.

Was the same for me, any civie course I did was not a blip on their radar

All they wanted to know how often I did ARP's !

Best of luck!