Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ke70 estate restoration

• 30-06-2010 8:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭

not sure if i posted this here before, have this yoke a while but only gettin back to working at it now so i'll just copy my original posts from another site

found this yoke at the back of a house with a load of other scrap while out on a random spin down a road that was signposted scenic route!!! shes rough enough around the back windows but the floor and sills and chassis legs are absolutely mint. sittin up since 02 and she went after a few turns and a shot down the carb. got owners manual and books with it aswell!!
    what do ye think?
    DSC00782.jpg

DSC00783.jpg

DSC00786.jpg

DSC00785.jpg

DSC00784.jpg

DSC00789.jpg

DSC00792.jpg

DSC00793.jpg

DSC00794.jpg

DSC00800-1.jpg

DSC00799.jpg

DSC00796.jpg

DSC00788.jpg

DSC00787.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭ep71

pulled her in and stripped a few bits off, not too bad overall

DSC01195.jpg
    DSC01193.jpg
    DSC01192.jpg

DSC01189.jpg
    DSC01188.jpg
    DSC01187.jpg
    DSC01186.jpg
    DSC01185.jpg
    DSC01184.jpg
    DSC01183.jpg
    DSC01182.jpg
    DSC01181.jpg
    DSC01180.jpg
    DSC01179.jpg
    DSC01178.jpg

in the meantime i managed to get a set of quarter panels from a van so i set about stripping them from the inner panels today. as the van was a 2 door there will be a bit of fiddling to make them fit, nevertheless i'll give it a go and see how i get on

had an absolutely torturos day removing one of the van quarter panels from its inner panel, going to try a different approach on the next one

Image0039.jpg
    Image0040.jpg
    Image0041.jpg
    Image0042.jpg
    Image0043.jpg
    Image0044.jpg

wishful thinking:tasty:
    Image0045.jpg
    Image0046.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭rugbyman

I just love reading posts like that. Keep them coming EP
    Rugbyman

i'll try! donations welcome for drillbits and isopon:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Nice one! Rare beasts them!

Odd too see one with an '87 plate. What's the story behind her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

well done for saving it , did i loan you a dewalt drill ?

the estates and vans were kept rwd until the 87-92 shape came in. she was bought in early 87 by a man in sligo who used it to travel around selling clothes out of the back of it.

kasper wrote: »
    well done for saving it , did i loan you a dewalt drill ?
    i borrowed it from my father!

a certain self appointed king had a 2 door van it was red 87 dl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Excellent work there,this picture just about sums up old japanese steel for me..
    DSC01183.jpg

@ kasper, the van i cut up was zs dublin reg

@ carchaeoligist, if it was italian there wouldnt be any steel in the picture at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

ep71 wrote: »
    @ kasper, the van i cut up was zs dublin reg

@ carchaeoligist, if it was italian there wouldnt be any steel in the picture at all

come on my fulvia had less rust than that!

But the floors look very good, nice project best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

if it was italian there wouldnt be any steel in the picture at all

The Italians used cheap Russian steel back in the 70s. Very poor quality but some say not as bad as Japanese steel of that era :D

And with that said, late 80s cars should not be rusting much at all!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

unkel wrote: »
    True to a degree,but that Corollas design goes way back into the '70s...

ya i heard that story about the russians and italians trade deal! in fairness she aint bad for a car thats been sitting up since 2002, it seems to me that genuine irish cars rot up high around the windows etc because of the rain whereas uk cars rot in the floors sills and wheelarches from the salt on the roads. i know which one i prefer!

unkel wrote: »

i often wonder just how mid to late 90s fiestas and in particularly transits manage to fall asunder with rust when the germans, japs, italians etc can hold out just fine
    True to a degree,but that Corollas design goes way back into the '70s...

indeed it does 78 or so was when the first ke70s came on the scene

I saw a Mercedes slk a couple of weeks ago that came in from the UK and the sills and the wheel arches were rotted out of it likewise there is a clio wiliams 1 Iv'e seen locally and the sills are fairly rotten on it too was very surprised to see that modern cars are still suffering with the dredded tin worm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

My Micra K10 (1990) doesn't have much rust either (the sills are getting a bit dodgy though). It's holding itself together well for a car that's 20 years old now.

Even the Escort Mk3 doesn't have too much rust (and that spent most of it's life near the coast in Waterford).

it depends how well treated they were when they were being assembled

bit more scullin today, decides to cut out the old panel in bits trying not to damage the inner panel

Image0047.jpg
    Image0051.jpg
    Image0052.jpg
    Image0053.jpg
    Image0054.jpg
    Image0058.jpg

gettin closer to fitting nicely

unfortunately this bitch needs a little bit of lovin before i can get the new screen fitted so i'll probably go at that tomorrow

Image0048.jpg

made another burst at making up the gaps correctly, coming together really well

Image0059.jpg
    Image0060.jpgImage0061.jpg
    Image0062.jpg
    Image0063.jpg
    Image0064.jpg
    Image0065.jpg
    Image0066.jpg
    Image0067.jpg
    Image0070.jpg
    Image0071.jpg

bit more trimming to do, cant wait to spark up the mig and make it permanent

didnt get an awful lot done today, mostly the awkward bits like trimming the panel to fit perfect and sorting out the door gap and height between the quarter panel and door where they meet.
    Image0072.jpg
    Image0073.jpg
    what it should look like
    Image0080.jpg
    my effort
    Image0074.jpg
    Image0077.jpg
    Image0078.jpg
    Image0079.jpg
    factory
    Image0082.jpg
    my way!
    Image0081.jpg
    overall
    Image0083.jpg
    Image0084.jpg
    Image0085.jpg
    thats all for now folks, have a bit of prep work to do on the inner panel and the lip of the wheelarch before i can start welding and i'd really like to have her up on the lift for that which means getting the charmant sorted out ready for her new windscreen on tuesday. i'll also have to clear out all the stuff ive been storing under the corolla and get the jack in to turn it around before i can move it out into the middle of the floor and get it on the lift. busy weekend ahead anyway!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Nice work. Body was manky though for the year wasn't it?

Lots of cutting, patching, rust remedy, seam sealer, and underseal needed.

You can do it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Nice work, always hated doing 1/4 panels, line it up from the door gap and then do the back.

Just noticed the leaf springs!!!!

I Was VB wrote: »
    Nice work, always hated doing 1/4 panels, line it up from the door gap and then do the back.

Just noticed the leaf springs!!!!
    yep she's a real old workhorse!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

You're mental!! but nice work all the same.. she'll make a great motor.

excellent work and it's coming along pretty quickly. It's a bit late now but I know where there is one of those for parts and I think the rear quarters are good on it as well.

kev if you could get me a front passenger side door id be forever in your debt

The guy that I put in touch with you about the ke 20 windscreen will get it for you I'd say if you still have his number.

kev1.3s wrote: »
    The guy that I put in touch with you about the ke 20 windscreen will get it for you I'd say if you still have his number.
    i got a new phone recently and lost his number unfortunately. would you be able to pm it to me or else get him to call me at soem stage, will be badly stuck for that door in a few weeks and he mentioned that his brother might have one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Nice work. Body was manky though for the year wasn't it?

My grandad had a '91 EE90 Corolla saloon up until recently, one of the wings was half rotten (alternatives were made to hold the headlight in place) and there was a pretty big hole appearing under a corner of the rear windscreen. The Carinas from around then seem to be holding up a bit better - maybe they did some actual rustproofing with them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

the estates and vans were kept rwd until the 87-92 shape came in. she was bought in early 87 by a man in sligo who used it to travel around selling clothes out of the back of it.

Was that the great Johnny Ch_ _ _ _ a former teacher in Summerhill? :eek:

The moment I saw the first pic I thought I recognised the car. If its him he had a red Sunny estate for most of the mid 80's, EI 6*** (cant remember the number). His wife, a lovely lady used to run the sweet shop in Summerhill College. The man was a legend in his own lifetime, used to let us in free to the Sligo Rovers matches, pure gentleman.

thats him indeed, i did a bit of reading up about him one of the days, he sure did love sligo rovers, might bring it to a match when its finished for the craic:D

back at this again after spending the last 2 weeks at other random stuff.
    the lip on my inner arch was in fairly bad nick
    Image0127.jpg

so i decided to cut a piece off the donor panel and weld it in.
    Image0128.jpg
    Image0129.jpg
    Image0130.jpg
    Image0131.jpg
    Image0132.jpg
    Image0133.jpg
    Image0134.jpg
    Image0135.jpg
    Image0136.jpg
    Image0137.jpg

pocket repair.

Image0138.jpg
    Image0139.jpg

all going well i should get that ground down tonight and get the quarter panel lined up for good and tacked in place at least if not fully welded.

few more bits of surgery!
    Image0141.jpg
    Image0143.jpg
    Image0146.jpg
    Image0147.jpg
    Image0148.jpg
    Image0149.jpg
    Image0150.jpg
    Image0151.jpg

mostly welded on now and its all looking good!

its lining up nicely good work

got a bit of another crack at this today, awful hard find the motivation to keep at it when theres so much to be done and everything seems to take forever.

pulled it outside for a look first anyway
    Image0164.jpg

then checked to see how the window fits, all was good here!
    Image0165.jpg

started at the door gap where the new panel meets the old. welded it up along the line then ground it flush
    Image0166.jpg
    Image0167.jpg
    Image0168.jpg

i then decided that i wasnt happy with how the panel was lining up with the door so i cut it and pulled it out a bit

Image0169.jpg

then i had to reweld again
    Image0170.jpg

looks good
    Image0172.jpg

Image0173.jpg
    Image0174.jpg
    Image0175.jpg

now had to start into the bit in the corner. this was rusted out of the car completely so i had to make up bits to fit in and fill it with weld!

Image0176.jpg
    Image0179.jpg
    Image0180.jpg
    Image0181.jpg
    Image0182.jpg
    Image0183.jpg

after a lick of the grinder
    Image0184.jpg

and for comparison, what it should look like (kinda)
    Image0185.jpg

Image0186.jpg
    Image0187.jpg

some day i'll have a car for myself:dudu:
    Image0189.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Blue Punto

Really lovin this thread

My dad had 3 of these
    FZS 798 which when it was new he had trouble taxing it cause a car in Donegal had the same reg:eek:
    His was bought new from Linders in Smithfield so he was Ok

ISI 601
    177 GZL

All met blue in colour and all estates
    Many a trip to shn airport was made back then
    Good memories

Cant wait to see the car when its finished

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭1948Wolseley

Loving the thread too, good work! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭12 element

Have you been slacking Ep71?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭1948Wolseley

Saw a mint one in Cork today, didn't get a chance to grab a pic though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭superfly35

Very great job ep71!!! :)

When I see the work you are doing and want I have to do, I think "Jaysus, i should take the finger out and do it!!"

I have a patch whom need to be done on my car which I am restoring at the moment and it is going very slowing!

Hopefully I will get there soon.

Keep the good work coming.

been busy enough with fixing mates cars lately and a few more hours at work lately so no updates just yet! give me another couple of days lads!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Great work lad