Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sitges, Spain

• 30-06-2010 6:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭

Hi i was wondering if anyone has been to Sitges and if so what did you think of it? thinking about going there with 3 of my mates for a lads holiday. What's the night life like? The only reviews i can find seem to be gay holiday reviews which concentrate on gay bars.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,140 ✭✭✭olaola

It's a gay resort, so unless your lads like lads. You're out of luck I'm afraid!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

Sitges is a great place for a holiday: nice beaches, restaurants, fast and frequent trains into Barcelona, but yeah, the nightlife is dominated by the gay scene. Not exclusively gay by any means, but if you're straight lads looking to go clubbing in venues with lots of available ladies I'd imagine the odds may not be in your favour. It's a grand spot for couples, families and gay singles - but maybe not so great for straight single lads on the pull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 24hrhotels

Don't go there for a lads holiday. As already mentioned its mainly catering for the Gay community and definetly won't suit.

Salou is only a short distance up the coast and is awash with bars and clubs. A lot more lively than Sitges and if you have already got flights you will only need to look at Hotel accomodation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Thanks guys. Yea we are all straight so i guess we'll be giving Sitges a miss! I think second choice is probably torremolinos.

You sure do pick em! Torremolinos can be Gay in places but not to the extent of Sitges. Try closer to Benalmadena, The Benalmadena Marina and 24hr square has plenty of nightlife.

Haha well Torremolinos wasn't my choice! Going to Benalmadena in September so don't want to go there twice. Any other recommendations? doesn't even have to be Spain

Its well for some all these holidays! How about the Canaries, Lanzorote, Tenerife, Gran Canaria. Not too far to fly and there are lots of good deals at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭budfox

I agree with the previous posters. Sitges has great nightlife, great clubs but it's deffo not for three straight lads on the pull.

If you considered Sitges, then you should consider Barcelona which you've to fly into anyway. Great city, loads of nightlife and great beaches.

My favourite it Madrid but I'd do this for a weekend as opposed to a week or two. Barcelona is still a city btw....

The other suggestions are good too...you could always go safe and head to the main tourist resorts if it's booze n ladies you're after...

Canaries are slightly longer to get to....and personally I'd stay away from Terrormolinos....

have a great trip. I'm jealous!:D

budfox wrote: »
    I agree with the previous posters. Sitges has great nightlife, great clubs but it's deffo not for three straight lads on the pull.

If you considered Sitges, then you should consider Barcelona which you've to fly into anyway. Great city, loads of nightlife and great beaches.

My favourite it Madrid but I'd do this for a weekend as opposed to a week or two. Barcelona is still a city btw....

The other suggestions are good too...you could always go safe and head to the main tourist resorts if it's booze n ladies you're after...

Canaries are slightly longer to get to....and personally I'd stay away from Terrormolinos....

have a great trip. I'm jealous!:D

My first choice was Barcelona but my mates don't wanna go there. They want a resort type place. I think we'll end up going to Benalmadena even though we are going there in September for a stags.. i'm just looking forward to a break. Thanks for all the responses everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 briancummins79

Hi Howard.
    I know this thread ended ages ago but I am just wondering about the stag you went on in Benalmadena. I am considering going there for my own stag in early June. Theres around ten of us going and its during the european championships. I have heard from some guys that have been there on stags that its lively and full of stags and hens. I was considering either Benalmadena or benidorm. After reading some stuff online about benidorm being full of english lager louts it turned me off. Just wondering what time things close at in Benalmadena? Is there many irish there? Is it cheap for drink? Is it more family oriented? Any info would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭budfox

i know this post was directed at someone else but as it happens i've been in benalmadena also. Personally, I think the place is a dump. it's a mix of tour operator hotels so lots of families and the town is full of your typical skanger clubs and english bar types.

it really depends on what you're after. if it's a weekend of shots and Brighton birds then you'll do as well there as benidorm and a lot of other resorts....all day english breakfast and the like.

if you want something a bit more upmarket, you'll do well to consider Lisbon, Madrid or some other, non-coastal resorts if that makes sense.

a lot of folks dont like Marbella but it's probably the same gig but just a notch above....