Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speeding in Italy

• 30-06-2010 1:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8

Folks

Just wondering if anybody has had any experience in receiving a speeding ticket while driving a rental car in Italy. I was there last week and fear that there may be a fine on its way to me. I was driving at the average speed of other cars, however this was often over the limit. I am aware it is totally my fault and responsibility, I am just wondering how much the fine might be.

Don:(

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Can you elaborate? Were you flashed by a camera or was there something else to make you think you were caught?
    Did you pay the hire car company with a credit card?

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭CarMuppet

Have spent a few holidays over the years in Italy driving both rentals and once my own car.

Before I get flamed here... this is my PERSONAL experience:

I've driven the A1 from Rome to Florence and onwards a few times and the local police seem relaxed on the autostrade/motorway as long as you're in and around the 'general' speed of the traffic and not acting the maggot. I've overtaken both the Poliza di Stato & the Carabinieri on motorways slightly above the official speed limit a few times with no ill effects.

A constant 90/95mph I found was ok on the motorways assuming near perfect driving conditions. I think the speed limit was 80mph (130kph)... anything faster is just scary in heavy traffic. I heard there were some roads being considered for a 93mph/150kph speed limits some time back... don't know if this is true or not...

In cities and towns itself I think the speed limit was around the 30mph... but to be honest I didn't speed in built up areas because I was lost most of the time.. :) but again I've seen lads go mental in the city centre for short bursts with no poliza chasing them down.. The local police seem to have a certain tolerance for speed if you're in control of you car. (again my opinion).

Where/how did you think you were caught? What speeds were you doing?

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭privateBeavis

Got a fine myself for "something", details here:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=66074895#post66074895

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭CarMuppet

Got a fine myself for "something", details here:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=66074895#post66074895

:eek::eek::eek: I had no idea! Interesting..

I think though if you're driving a Fiat, Lancia or Alfa you're exempt right? :P

EDIT: Just after reading all of this link... the fines were for restricted areas of towns and city... not for speeding right?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

doshea003 wrote: »
    I was driving at the average speed of other cars, however this was often over the limit.

Not excusing / encouraging, but to me that looks like you were keeping in line with the traffic around you.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,222 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Kind of a given, I just drive the same speed as the traffic around me.

you'll know theres a speed camera ahead when your going faster than everyone else !

• Registered Users Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

my 2 experiences of Italy are that they don't seem to care all that much if you aren't going insanely fast. Was cruising along one of the motorways keeping pace with traffic and after a while noticed I was doing 160kph just to keep up with the slower people, plenty of others flew past in that time.

160 is not a pleasant experience in a Smart 4four

• Registered Users Posts: 8 doshea003

Thanks folks, I will update with any information (fines/correspondence) i receive. What has me most concerned is that I read on the net, that Italy use average speed cameras / detectors, thus, if I was driving at the average speed of traffic in the fast lane (usually approx 10 - 15 km over limit) for a prolonged period from Bologna to Cortona roughly about 240km, I may have picked up a number of fines. The locals may slow down for periods of the journey at different intervals; however in my ignorance I was unaware of this.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,634 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I thought you only got fines for driving too slowly in Italy :D

Nah, you get a fine for not waving your hands around like a lunatic while talking or by not touching your genitals while a funeral passes.

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭Irishrossoblu

doshea003 wrote: »
    The locals may slow down for periods of the journey at different intervals; however in my ignorance I was unaware of this.

The locals slow down for Speedcams, or 'Autovelox' as they are know in Italian. They all do it. Thats what you gotta watch out for. Lived in Italy for a few years, and never knew anybody who got done for speeding, despite the fact that they were all driving their Punto's and Lancia's at mad speeds.

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭privateBeavis

CarMuppet wrote: »
    :eek::eek::eek: I had no idea! Interesting..

I think though if you're driving a Fiat, Lancia or Alfa you're exempt right? :P

EDIT: Just after reading all of this link... the fines were for restricted areas of towns and city... not for speeding right?

I'm afraid it was a fiat (Fiat Idea) :eek:

Wasn't speeding, yeah was something to do with restricted area, never noticed anything at the time so no idea!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,841 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Slightly off topic, but what the hell. In Italy for World Cup in 1990, 2 camper vans containing 10 Irish cretins on a drinking spree. Pulled into a campsite and met a quiet lad with a Big Kwacker bike. He used to tour around Europe for 6 months of the year, every year. He was telling us he saw loads of Italians going around without helmets (They would never have got them off again with all the Brylcreem!!:eek:) on their bikes, in front of cops. Fair dos, he thinks to himself, I'll do that too. Almost straight away blue flashing lights and pulled in, lid on his elbow. They pointed out that he had to wear the helmet, and he would have to pay on the spot fine. "How much?" says he, pulling out the wallet...
    "Yes, that much..." says the cop pulling every note out of the wallet in one go (£120 or 240,000Lit......).
    "Can I have a receipt?"
    "Sorry, no speak Englese...."
    Talking to a cop who was on holiday there, told us never take out the wallet. As an EU citizen he had the right to have the fine sent to his home.....
    Boy, did the air turn blue for about 20 minutes......:D

whiterebel wrote: »
    Slightly off topic, but what the hell. In Italy for World Cup in 1990, 2 camper vans containing 10 Irish cretins on a drinking spree. Pulled into a campsite and met a quiet lad with a Big Kwacker bike. He used to tour around Europe for 6 months of the year, every year. He was telling us he saw loads of Italians going around without helmets (They would never have got them off again with all the Brylcreem!!:eek:) on their bikes, in front of cops. Fair dos, he thinks to himself, I'll do that too. Almost straight away blue flashing lights and pulled in, lid on his elbow. They pointed out that he had to wear the helmet, and he would have to pay on the spot fine. "How much?" says he, pulling out the wallet...
    "Yes, that much..." says the cop pulling every note out of the wallet in one go (£120 or 240,000Lit......).
    "Can I have a receipt?"
    "Sorry, no speak Englese...."
    Talking to a cop who was on holiday there, told us never take out the wallet. As an EU citizen he had the right to have the fine sent to his home.....
    Boy, did the air turn blue for about 20 minutes......:D

Ticket sent to your home ..... The Dutch make you pay on the spot if you don't have a registered address in the Netherlands. I was escorted to an ATM, did get a receipt though !

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,841 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Ticket sent to your home ..... The Dutch make you pay on the spot if you don't have a registered address in the Netherlands. I was escorted to an ATM, did get a receipt though !

And if you've no cash or CC on you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I've heard the Police in the north will do the same but I've not had the pleasure of been done for speeding there.