Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Painting a motor.

• 30-06-2010 10:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭

Morning lads.

I bought a 08 Land Rover Defender for work and it is a joy to drive and work with. Thing is, and i know this is a bit derisory but im not too pushed with the colour. It was the only one i could lay my hands on but it is green with a white roof, the traditional colour for the Defender.

I am thinking about getting it sprayed black or deep blue. What are the drawbacks to this? Its not metallic paint but i intend to drive this for 7 or 10 years, will the new paint chip or fade quickly?

Is it worth doing? I might get used to the green colour or i might get pissed off with it even more over time.

Thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Get it done properly and it'll be fine.
    You should be able to get a good job done for under 2k.
    Where abouts are you?
    I might be able to recommend someone.

Maybe you want to be a little adventurous.
    Here's a picture of my mate's 90 done in Yellow and Black.
    He sprayed it all himself too.

5855_101583913187060_100000063556946_46282_4471983_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

From a purely financial viewpoint it makes no sense - you're paying a couple of grand to devalue it. On the other hand, if the colour change is worth it to you then why not? IMO, Defenders look a bit funny when they're too shiny anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

A friend of mine sprayed his Defender black with Hammerite paint. Came out the finest.

I wouldn't pay anyone 2k to spray a Defender, it's probably the easiest thing to spray.

Get a few prices, but I wouldn't pay more than €1,200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

A friend of mine sprayed his Defender black with Hammerite paint. Came out the finest.
    I was just thinking a Defender is one of the few cars i'd go at with a brush!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

couple of cans of Halfords black primer and 2-3 hours work
    :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Get it done properly and it'll be fine.
    You should be able to get a good job done for under 2k.
    Where abouts are you?
    I might be able to recommend someone.

Thanks Armin,

Leitrim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Depending on the OP's expectations, a Defender is one of the most difficult to paint. Think about it. Have you ever seen one with a straight panel anywhere on the car? Any defender I've seen is like something that's been parked on a golf range (And properly so, the things are meant to be used!) If it's to be a factory quality respray, every panel will have to be straightened back out again - so it should end up costing more than a standard car.

I'd go with Lightning's recommendation. Vinyl wrap it in the colour you want.

Maybe you want to be a little adventurous.
    Here's a picture of my mate's 90 done in Yellow and Black.
    He sprayed it all himself too.

That looks good.

Might put up some before and after pics.

Any defender I've seen is like something that's been parked on a golf range (And properly so, the things are meant to be used!)

They come out of the factory like that!

You tip the dents out with a hammer, prime and spray. Simple as, it's a Defender, the next fella isn't going to be worried about the quality of the paint!

@Anan1, He used a bit of thinners to lighten the paint (I think) and then used a gun!

What is this vinyl wrap stuff, any idea where it can be bought?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭PaddyFagan

Google found this bunch - http://visionsign.ie

I'm sure there are others.....

Paddy

Caoimhín wrote: »
    What is this vinyl wrap stuff, any idea where it can be bought?

A vinyl wrap will cost you stupid money and is a complete and utter waste of money on a Defender. Unless you do it yourself, but it's fairly hard.

They're not so expensive. They're only mad money if you digitally print images onto the vinyl wrap, but if you just use a coloured wrap material it can be done cost effectively. Used to sell/repair the digital printing machines years ago when they first came out.

Ok irrelevant to the expensive, unless you were into modifying and the Defender scene, covering a Defender in stickers is a waste. Cheap paint job is the only way if anything!

PaddyFagan wrote: »
    Google found this bunch - http://visionsign.ie

I'm sure there are others.....

Paddy

Cheers Paddy, i was thinking about getting the company name and logo done on the side of it. Although having a forestry company logo on the side of a motor can attract unwanted petrol bombs from some of our more inbred countrymen :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

its a defender ... its supposed to look abused and crappy paint (and yes i still would love one)

a few cans of sparay paint and your sorted... matt finish of course

or better still this hamerite spray gun will sort it out... spend a bit of time on masking and away you go
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Hammerite-Metalmaster-Electrostatic-Metal-Paint-Gun_W0QQitemZ180276075494QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_DIY_Material_Paint_Varnish_MJ?hash=item29f94a9be6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Interesting! Obviously you could use thinner but is there different consistency Hammerite for the sprayer - the stuff in the tins is like tar?

If it was an old defender I'd go with the DIY solution, dunno if I'd be as brave with a 08

That looks good.

Might put up some before and after pics.

Or if you really want to be adventurous you could do it up like this beauty I came across in my travels :eek:

pinktruck.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

jeep.jpg

I like the black alloys on that one. Although i would only destroy them on forest roads so i wouldnt go to the expense, it has a hard life ahead as a work horse, not a show pony.

langdang wrote: »
    Interesting! Obviously you could use thinner but is there different consistency Hammerite for the sprayer - the stuff in the tins is like tar?

If it was an old defender I'd go with the DIY solution, dunno if I'd be as brave with a 08

I honeslty don't know, but if I remember I'll ask him.

The only down fall is, when it's any bit hot the whole thing smells like a gate!

OP, Pm coming your way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

The only down fall is, when it's any bit hot the whole thing smells like a gate!
    y

what do gates smell like?
    can't say I've ever noticed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Dont forget that a colour change should be reported to your insurance company, and MUST be reported to our friendly Motor Tax Office.

You will have to apply for a new tax disc after you change the colour of the car; using the following form:
    Change of particulars Form (RF111).

Other than those 2 stupid issues, go for it with the colour you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Ok irrelevant to the expensive, unless you were into modifying and the Defender scene, covering a Defender in stickers is a waste. Cheap paint job is the only way if anything!

I dont get it, Vinyl wrap is the perfect solution in this case:

- Can be removed so wont devalue the vehicle
    - indirectly protects the paint work, will look mint (or as it does) when/if removed
    - Costs half as much, or even less, than paint
    - has no colour matching problems like painting, vastly better than a "cheap" paint job
    - full range of colours and finishes, including the crazy race finishes photoed

What has a Vinyl wrap got to do with modifying and the defender scene!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭JamBur

They're not so expensive. They're only mad money if you digitally print images onto the vinyl wrap, but if you just use a coloured wrap material it can be done cost effectively. Used to sell/repair the digital printing machines years ago when they first came out.

Good ol' Solas Data:)

Matt Simis wrote: »
    I dont get it, Vinyl wrap is the perfect solution in this case:

- Can be removed so wont devalue the vehicle
    - indirectly protects the paint work, will look mint (or as it does) when/if removed
    - Costs half as much, or even less, than paint
    - has no colour matching problems like painting, vastly better than a "cheap" paint job
    - full range of colours and finishes, including the crazy race finishes photoed

What has a Vinyl wrap got to do with modifying and the defender scene!?

Get a quote for wrapping a Defender in black, I'll continue an argument when I know the cost of it.

Again, 98% of people buying a Defender won't devalue it because of the colour of it. Infact, spraying it black might actually add to the value.

A 2 year old defender won't have nice paint work in the first place, if it's been used. Wrapping it over the rivets/hinges, lines, water channels etc. would be a very time consuming job, and I can't imagine the finish coming out nice at all. To be honest, just looking at a Defender here, I'd love to see one finished. Because there are lots of bits that would be hard to get at!

And from what I've heard a vinyl wrap actually costs nearly as much, if not more than actually respraying a vehicle.

How will you have "colour matching problems" if the whole jeep is going to be resprayed at the one time?

As regards a Modifying scene, I couldn't see anyone who owns a Defender agreeing to wrap it in an sticker over painting it, unless it was a trailer queen, or something that was used to go to the local shops. A farmer isn't going to have an overstated crazy paint job on it in either case.

I'm all for wraps, the roof on my Golf is wrapped and I'd love to get a car done at some point, I think they're a great idea, just not a Defender specifically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

I'm all for wraps, the roof on my Golf is wrapped and I'd love to get a car done at some point, I think they're a great idea, just not a Defender specifically.

Maybe you are right, but Im picturing this "local" Vinyl wrapped lotus:
    Ella%20008.jpg
    It looks very fiddly to do too, but came out excellent.
    Cost was approx EUR1000. Ive seen them offered for EUR900.

I know someone that asked a more expensive Vinyl wrapping place than those guys how much for a 5 series Touring and was quoted EUR1500. Thats about half of a paint job (and a not very competitive price), and IMO, is money much better spent with more predicable outcome and zero devaluation concern.

JamBur wrote: »
    Good ol' Solas Data:)

Indeedy James :)

what do gates smell like?
    can't say I've ever noticed :D

Trust me, if you smelt it you'd know straight away!
    Matt Simis wrote: »
    Maybe you are right, but Im picturing this "local" Vinyl wrapped lotus:

It looks very fiddly to do too, but came out excellent.
    Cost was approx EUR1000. Ive seen them offered for EUR900.

I know someone that asked a more expensive Vinyl wrapping place than those guys how much for a 5 series Touring and was quoted EUR1500. Thats about half of a paint job (and a not very competitive price), and IMO, is money much better spent with more predicable outcome and zero devaluation concern.

There's a big difference between wrapping a Lotus and a Defender!

If you get a chance to look at a Defender, do, and let me know what you think.

I'm only talking Defender specific here, I'd wrap most other cars.

And matt is the ONLY effect that I'd wrap a car in besides a shiny white.

The wrap looks good, particularly the matt black. But i wonder how tough it is. I mean that this Defender is going to be driven around forests and the back roads of Leitrim. Would branches, briars and the odd scrape of a rock ruin it?

LOL, I'd imagine so, but I'm up for being proved wrong. It's a sticker at the end of the day!

Could you post a picture.
    I'm interested in seeing what it looks like.
    I've been thinking about getting my car done in a wrap.
    Something similar to that Lotus, which looks absolutely stunning.
    Does anyone know how durable those wraps jobs are?
    I'd hate to get it done only to have bits peeling off after a month.

/Sorry Caoimhin for the hijack :o

No worries, id like to know if it peels off after the first wast myself..

Could you post a picture.
    I'm interested in seeing what it looks like.
    I've been thinking about getting my car done in a wrap.
    Something similar to that Lotus, which looks absolutely stunning.
    Does anyone know how durable those wraps jobs are?
    I'd hate to get it done only to have bits peeling off after a month.

IMG_6320copy.jpg

That's the best pic I have at the mo. Durabiltiy has been excellent on the roof anyway! No peeling etc. and it's on nearly a year now!

Wow, that is in great condition. I have an 05 Golf and it looks like it has been dropped off a cliff.

Well actually I drove it off a cliff, a small one.

It's changed a bit since then buts that's what the roof is like LOL