Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alleged Russian Spies in USA

• 28-06-2010 10:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭

Didn't the Americans and Russians just announce that they were best friends?:pac:

I wonder whether there are any Irish passports involved in this case?:eek:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/jun/28/ten-arrested-allegedly-russian-spies

Ten 'Russian spies' arrested in US

Eight of 10 were detained yesterday for supposedly carrying out "long-term, deep cover assignments" in the United States on behalf of the Russian government. Two others were arrested for allegedly participating in the same Russian intelligence operation.
    All of them were charged with conspiracy to act as an agent of a foreign government, which carries a maximum penalty of five years in prison on conviction.
    The cases were filed in the US district court for the southern district of New York. Federal law prohibits individuals from acting as agents of foreign governments within the United States without notifying the US attorney general.
    Nine of the defendants were charged with conspiracy to commit money laundering, which carries a maximum 20 years in prison on conviction. FBI agents arrested the defendants, two of whom were named as Richard Murphy and Cynthia Murphy from Monclair, New Jersey. They were appearing today in a federal court in Manhattan.
    Three other defendants also were being taken to federal court in Manhattan Vicky Pelaez and a defendant known as "Juan Lazaro" who were arrested at their residence in Yonkers, New York, and Anna Chapman, who was arrested in Manhattan yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Uhoh. Is this our four minute warning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

That's undone all Rockys' hard work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

America probably do the same thing in Russia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Looks like all the gun shops in the states will be busy for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Those crazy Yanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Hey man whaddya expect? This is the the 80's after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Everyone spies on everyone. Yanks spy on the Brits and vice versa. It's not just "enemies" who spy on each other. Even the Echelon grouping of so called "friendly" countries set up to share information are very cagey about doing so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Takes me back to being a nipper, we had almost no cares in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

Maybe they were just roleplaying From Russia With Love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Looks like all the gun shops in the states will be busy for a while.

Strange coincidence from the same newspaper:eek:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/jun/28/gun-lobby-victory-american-right-to-bear-arms-ruling
    Gun lobby victory as every American's right to bear arms upheld by ruling

Supporters of gun rights in the US won a major legal victory today, when the highest court in the country ruled that an individual's constitutional right to bear arms applied to every corner of the country and throughout its 50 states.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

prob more murphys in Yankland than here, so there isn't necessarily Zionist involvement

Is this actually serious?
    Anyone know the last time a spy was caught?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Is this actually serious?
    Anyone know the last time a spy was caught?

Henry Gale in Lost.

prob more murphys in Yankland than here, so there isn't necessarily Zionist involvement

Some Irish emigrants with a lousy sense of direction, could have ended up in the US via Moscow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

mike65 wrote: »
    Takes me back to being a nipper, we had almost no cares in the world.

Remember Threads...? :eek: :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/world/us_and_canada/10445353.stm

"Allegations that Moscow ran a spy ring in the US are baseless and a throwback to the Cold War, a Russian foreign ministry official has said. The claims had set back attempts by President Barack Obama to reset ties with Moscow, the official added.
    The response comes a day after 10 people were arrested in the US."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Crazy stuff, a throwback to 20/25 years ago.
    ejmaztec wrote: »
    Some Irish emigrants with a lousy sense of direction, could have ended up in the US via Moscow.

Very nearly the house is a 10 min walk from my gaff and i have a buddy who lives on the end of the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

any of them working on nuclear wessels?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

the zionist lobby wouldnt make the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

To be fair, I'd be absolutely shocked if there weren't spies operating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Didn't the Americans and Russians just announce that they were best friends?:pac:

I wonder whether there are any Irish passports involved in this case?

Ummmm, . . . .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

To be fair, Russian spies teams never went away.
    A lot of them just moved from political motivational reasons to industrial reasons more so for spying.

I read an inner department report some time back in the States about how the Russians and Chinese (they just being the main two - North Korea was in there too) were still continuing their spying efforts.
    The political/military aspects of the stuff they were seeking was downgraded to some extent and what become equally important to their governments was the stealing of tech info/patents, etc just as equally as once military plans or blueprints for opposition military info/machinery/equipment.
    They are equally operating as to curtail any outside (of their home state) opposition to the present home governmental system.
    As one report put it:
    The collapse of the Soviet Union nearly 15 years ago did nothing to curb the Russian appetite for espionage.
    There is still a significant Russian spy presence in Britain, mainly represented by the GRU military intelligence and the SVR, the new name for the overseas operations of the old KGB.

The FSB, which some claim was behind the alleged assassination plot, is Russia's internal security apparatus - the equivalent of MI5 in Britain.
    It is MI5's job through its counter-espionage branch to keep tabs on spies in Britain but it has to do less than formerly because of the current preoccupation with terrorism.
    One estimate yesterday suggested that there were 30 or more spies based at the Russian embassy. Partly, they carry out ''old-fashioned" spying, finding out what the host government and its agencies are up to. But they are also monitoring the Russian dissident population here.

An SVR unit called Line X is involved in technological espionage - trying to acquire scientific secrets. Despite this continuing activity, there is concern that MI5 is not able to devote enough resources to the threat.

During the Cold War, counter-espionage was the main focus of the service's work. Even in 1999, it devoted a quarter of its resources to combating the spies. Now it accounts for around six per cent of the budget.
    Dame Eliza-Manningham-Buller, the head of MI5, told a Commons intelligence committee a few years ago: ''There's not less of it [espionage] about, we are doing less work on it, we are being more selective about the priority cases."
    http://www.martinfrost.ws/htmlfiles/nov2006/spy_games.html

Long story short: the spies never went away - they just partly moved/changed tactics with the times we live in.

A news report from a few years ago:
    Russian agents are as active in Britain now as at the height of the Cold War, senior Whitehall officials have said.
    The sources told the BBC's Frank Gardner there were more than 30 identified intelligence officers trying to get secrets by covert means.
    Targets include military hardware, scientific know-how and technology, and inside tips on Westminster politics.
    Businessmen who may have access to sensitive information are also of interest, as are Russian dissidents.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/6452519.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Meh.

When the aliens take over? At least we'll have pro russian and american spies. Because theyve spent the last 50 years sparring with eachother.

Ireland has the most effective spy-network on the planet, so fuckin good, that not one of them has ever been caught.

Discuss.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Dudess wrote: »
    Remember Threads...? :eek: :(

I actually chickened out of watching that (I probably prefered Whoops Apocalypse!). Can't even recall if its been repeated, I'm sure it must have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

You can see one of the girls facebook page :D
    http://www.facebook.com/chapmananya#!/chapmananya?v=wall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Maybe if it was JAcyntha Murphy could'v been irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

mike65 wrote: »
    I actually chickened out of watching that (I probably prefered Whoops Apocalypse!). Can't even recall if its been repeated, I'm sure it must have.
    You can watch it on YouTube. It really is petrifying... :(
    There's a whole plethora of those nuclear holocaust movies, but that's the scariest by far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Strange coincidence from the same newspaper:eek:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/jun/28/gun-lobby-victory-american-right-to-bear-arms-ruling
    Gun lobby victory as every American's right to bear arms upheld by ruling

Supporters of gun rights in the US won a major legal victory today, when the highest court in the country ruled that an individual's constitutional right to bear arms applied to every corner of the country and throughout its 50 states.

The ban wasn't exactly working in Chicago (or anywhere else for that matter). You could literally walk across the street and buy a gun in a suburb and then walk back into Chicago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kielmanator

Makes one wonder though doesn't it?

• Israel use Irish passport(s) to elminate some fella in Abu Dhabi or whatever 'tis called
    • 11 Russian spies caught in the US, possessing one (if not more that have yet to be found) Irish passport
    • A Russian Cabinet Minister (not sure if it's the foreign or not) has gone to Israel for "TALKS".

\o/ I give up. All this collusion and conspiracy is making my head spin and giving me whiplash.:(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Dudess wrote: »
    You can watch it on YouTube. It really is petrifying... :(
    There's a whole plethora of those nuclear holocaust movies, but that's the scariest by far.

4 minutes worth of various clips of that and I'm scared. The woman pissing herself kinda brought home what it must be like.

Scary as hell.

Of course, when you arrest an alleged spy on an FBI international arrest warrant, you have to give them bail, because there's no way that the alleged spy is going to do a runner, is there?:o

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/jun/30/russian-spy-ring-cyprus

An international hunt is under way after Christopher Metsos, the alleged paymaster of the deep cover Russian spy ring, skipped bail in Cyprus.
    The Cypriot police issued an arrest warrant when Metsos failed to report to a police station in Larnaca, a condition of his bail after he was detained on an international arrest warrant issued by the FBI.
    However, the Americans, who were astonished that Metsos was freed on bail in the first place, will be working on the assumption that he has been whisked out of the country by the Russian intelligence service. One potential route of escape is via the Turkish-run enclave in northern Cyprus which is not recognised by the US or most other countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭kieran26

see i told ye! now maybe more of ye will join me in my campaign to boycott russian goods that'll teach em lousy ruskis.......not vodka tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

It seems like you get a free Irish passport with every packet of spy cereal.

laugh wrote: »
    It seems like you get a free Irish passport with every packet of spy cereal.

I'd do a bit of spying for them, for a stretched Lada, I'm not greedy. I'll just get a bit of practice in, and stare through my neighbour's letter-box for 7 hours, before reporting his activities to Moscow Centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Well, let's just hope we're consistent and, if the Russians are found to have forged an Irish passport, we throw out one of their diplomats, as we did with the Israelis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Cinful

Slips into Russian mink (nothing else). READY!

Cinful wrote: »
    Slips into Russian mink (nothing else). READY!

Jeez, I hope you at least warned the mink beforehand...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭pablo_escobar

seen that on the news other day...gee..the russians are really behind the times.aren't they? i think an irish man would make a better spy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Cinful

Einhard wrote: »
    Jeez, I hope you at least warned the mink beforehand...
    The Russians Were Coming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Sounds like a red herring to stop everyone talking about BP.

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Sounds like a red herring to stop everyone talking about BP.

Eh, Crazy Conspiracy Theories forum is that way
    >