Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever notice when you see a Garda car....

• 29-06-2010 12:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

On a by-pass for example, which i noticed this moring, coming towards
    the Tallaght junction and the M50.

I was tipping along in the inside lane 2 cars back from the Gardai.
    Speed limit is 60k.

Outside/overtaking lane cars are flying, tailgating the usual on that
    road i find......until the notice the Garda car.

Panic...." want to get ahead,but its 60.....ahhhhrrrrggggg"

Everybody just slowed down for a while, until the Gardai were gone.

Then its "Once more into the breach dear friends....."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

I notice it alright, was driving southbound before on M7 and there was a line of traffic stuck behind at Garda Corp SUV doing 110kmh, ah said I - not having this so drove past doing 120 :)

Also another time a friend and I were driving on the M7 - I was a few miles ahead of him, and i was doing 140 until I saw an SUV coming behind me with sirens on thinking oh f**k I have been caught, until it closer and then passed me out, it was an ambulance. Just laughed because my friend thought the very exact same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

on the motorway and the peoples in front of you are at or below the speed limit and yet they still hit the brakes! :rolleyes:

Or those that will not pass out a cop car even if its doing below the limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

on the motorway and the peoples in front of you are at or below the speed limit and yet they still hit the brakes! :rolleyes:

Or those that will not pass out a cop car even if its doing below the limit.
    Unless it's doing well under the limit I'd be loathe to pass a cop car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Muckie wrote: »
    " want to get ahead,but its 60.....ahhhhrrrrggggg"

Everybody just slowed down for a while, until the Gardai were gone.

Then its "Once more into the breach dear friends....."
    They don't want to get points... it's quite simple.
    Max Power1 wrote: »
    then you're just holding up traffic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Max Power1 wrote: »

I used to be like this as well, but now the way I see it if theyre doing 100 on a motorway then why shouldnt I pass them? So long as Im not breaking the law Ive nothing to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭phill106

I overtake them if they are under the limit. Unless my tax is out or something. My car tends to draw attention to some gardai, so no need to give them ammunition :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,862 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I once drove along side a cop car on a slow part of the tallaght bypass, and it felt like i was crawling but i was bang on the limit....some smart ass overtook us both and got pulled in straight away!! Another time i left sligo and had a full garda/military convoy in front of me, i thought F** this if i have to crawl below the speed limit the whole way to dublin, so i overtook the lot of them......10 miles later in Carrick on shannon, the cops read me the riot act, it was unfortunate but the convoy was so long, by the time i got to the end i had just barely crossed a contuinuous white line.....I just quoted all i remember from the driving test about traffic lights and applied it to white lines and he let me off with a bollicking!
    ( i told him the safest thing i could have done was to cross the line rather than sharply pull into the middle of the convoy to avoid it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Mairt

I've seen people panic when they spot a garda car alright. I'd say there are a lot of gardai with a lot of funny stories. It must be a strange experience travelling in a garda car and seeing what other motorists are like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭lovelyhurler

Coming in the M4 by Enfield the other day, everybodys zipping along - then bang - a rush of brake lights as people go from 120 to 90, all because there's a cash in transit convoy doing 90k's. Idiots - istead of staying at 115 or 120 they all panic and nearly cause a pile up.........

Anyway, I had a blue Opel Vectra back in the days when squad cars were that shade of blue (early 90's). I used to have great fun when i'd pull over to the side of the road for some reason and then notice people hit the brakes thinking that it was a speed check.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

steve06 wrote: »
    They don't want to get points... it's quite simple.

then you're just holding up traffic!
    Not if I'm going at the speed limit or just under, and Im behind a garda car who is doing the same speed. If anyone wants to overtake in that situation more fool him!

Plus, I wouldnt be driving in the overtaking lane anyway so there would be room to overtake (if it was the dual carriageway situation I reffered to earlier)

There was a group of bikes doing some tour or other the other weekend, with a garda escort on the motorway at liffey valley (why in god's name is the limit 80???). Anyway everyone is tearing along at 100-120 or whatever until they see the garda car escort. Then they all slow down. Do they slow to 80? Do they feck. 60. SIXTY. You're allowed to go the speed limit people!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,937 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

This reminds me of the time I was collecting a marked garda car for repair and had to use the m50.
    Gearbox was fecked and the car wouldnt do over 50mph and was constantly cutting out after say 10 mins driving.So not wanting the thing to break down in the middle of the m50 I drove into the hard shoulder,stuck on the hazards and was driving back to the garage.

The amount of people that pulled in behind me and drove at less than 50 mph was scary.Apparently there was a tailback of about a mile long on the m50 behind me aswell.One of the lads even said it was on the news about a tailback on the m50.My arm was sore from waving people out around me by the time I got back.

In all fairness it was probably my fault for sticking the hazards on and driving in the hard shoulder but I thought people would pull around me and drive on.

Funny as anything though seeing the amount of people afraid to overtake a Garda car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭a_v525

Coming in the M4 by Enfield the other day, everybodys zipping along - then bang - a rush of brake lights as people go from 120 to 90, all because there's a cash in transit convoy doing 90k's. Idiots - istead of staying at 115 or 120 they all panic and nearly cause a pile up.........

Anyway, I had a blue Opel Vectra back in the days when squad cars were that shade of blue (early 90's). I used to have great fun when i'd pull over to the side of the road for some reason and then notice people hit the brakes thinking that it was a speed check.

Lol, do the exact same thing whenever I see a Dreg mondeo on the shoulder ahead, always turns out to be a sales rep on the phone with a few shirts hangin in the window :rolleyes:
    Also hate when people with houses on national roads park with the nose just out past the front wall, always scares me that theres a gard dryin his hair up ahead :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

To the idiot blond in the black BMW, never undertake a car with a D reg, 3 Ariel Octavia with no garage adverts in Cork while you are nattering aimlessly on the phone, cos like today they will follow you, and when they have their blue lights on you pull over you dont continue for miles totally unaware of what they are at. Thanks for the laugh anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

it's the same in england, everyone slows down for the police on the motorway, but sometimes the SUV is the traffic officer, who's job i've yet to figure out. they stop for broken down cars but don't touch anything. everyone slows down when they see the fluorescence, but when they see the black panels instead of the blue, they just tear off again!