Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Duddy - the post fight postmortem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭BoxingIrel.com

20100627chavez006.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭whaaames

That picture says it all,,..

I really hope this doesn't destroy John now...

whaaames wrote: »
    That picture says it all,,..

I really hope this doesn't destroy John now...

yeah, thats why I posted it to be honest. I've never seen that face on him before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

If ever there was a picture to tell someone to think hard about what they do for a living, it is this. Now, I know even great fighters can look like this, but with Duddy, it's almost
    a given that he takes a hell of a lot of punishment in each fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

My heart goes out to him , he fought like a warrior .

He cant fight like that each and every time without doing himself damage in the long run :(

This was Duddy v Campos all over again , great fight , great heart , loads of big shots sustained .

I hope he makes the right choice for his future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

He has a tremendous chin.

Every time he took a big shot he threw one back straight away (rarely landed though).

With his fighting style it was inevitable that he would get destroyed like this, fortunately it wasn't against a massive puncher that might have beaten him into submission.

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

The man's a machine, Whatever he achieves or fails to achieve he should be proud of what he does. The heart of ten Lions. Fair play John, I idolize people like him, He just never gives up.

i'd imagine Duddy will have gathered a lot more admirers for his efforts the other night, even tho he clearly and comprehensively got beaten he fought like a savage and would've never EVER gave up..
    Obviously i'm delighted he didn't suffer serious damage but he was brave and had a fighting spirit a lot of people will admire...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Hey he just fought for the silver championship of the World so surely he's still a World class boxer.....
    Gotta love him though and i wish him all the best. I hope he gets a big payday against Foreman and calls it quits after that, he took some big punches against Chavez and he lost pretty heavily so i guess it's time to think hard about retiring before he could get seriously damaged longterm.
    Amazingly tough man with a great chin and done Ireland proud.

Duddy seems settled in New York - can anyone see him returning to Ireland?

To be honest he is more popular in the States than he is in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Boooourns wrote: »
    Hey he just fought for the silver championship of the World so surely he's still a World class boxer.....
    Gotta love him though and i wish him all the best. I hope he gets a big payday against Foreman and calls it quits after that, he took some big punches against Chavez and he lost pretty heavily so i guess it's time to think hard about retiring before he could get seriously damaged longterm.
    Amazingly tough man with a great chin and done Ireland proud.

I don't know if you were being sarcastic there or not :confused: John Duddy was never a world class boxer.

I'd rather him not fight Foreman for health concerns also. It would be another one sided beat down. But if the fight happens I wish him well and hope he enjoys his pay day. He gave us many entertaining scraps and is nice guy to boot. It was horrible seeing him lose that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

Duddy seems settled in New York - can anyone see him returning to Ireland?

To be honest he is more popular in the States than he is in Ireland.
    He barely made the newspapers here. In fact most of the Northern fighters don't get any coverage in the South. McCloskey (after his fight against Lauri) didn't appear in any newspapers in the south or was on the News ( i think). :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:Lindsday is getting an IBF World title eliminator fight and nothing is reported in the press here:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,374 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I hope Arum is true to his word. Duddy deserves one big payday. Hopefully he won't suffer any long term damage and maybe then he could have one last marquee fight back in Ireland against Lee or Macklin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 jjm

I just hope for his sake he doesn't turn into a journeyman. I can see how his style and guts would be well suited for giving contenders a good workout. Too nice of a guy for that. He should have a couple of more big money fights, stash away some dosh and move on ....

Anyone know what the purse and split was for this flight?

For what its worth here is the post fight press conference.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AZSUvcJApjM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Boooourns

magma69 wrote: »
    I don't know if you were being sarcastic there or not :confused: John Duddy was never a world class boxer.

I'd rather him not fight Foreman for health concerns also. It would be another one sided beat down. But if the fight happens I wish him well and hope he enjoys his pay day. He gave us many entertaining scraps and is nice guy to boot. It was horrible seeing him lose that way.

I sure was being serious mate.....nah i was being sarcastic, i've never rated Duddy and i backed Medina to beat him in the last fight but if he can get one more big payday then i'd love to see him grab it and then pack it in when he does lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

jjm wrote: »
    I just hope for his sake he doesn't turn into a journeyman. I can see how his style and guts would be well suited for giving contenders a good workout. Too nice of a guy for that. He should have a couple of more big money fights, stash away some dosh and move on ....

Anyone know what the purse and split was for this flight?

For what its worth here is the post fight press conference.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AZSUvcJApjM

He'd fit the bill of dangerous journeyman in a few years alright. Bit like Yori boy, will keep coming at ya but not the hardest of guys to hit.
    Awful pity the Phillips fight never came off for Duddy, hope he can enjoy some success in the near future be it here or in the states. If Macklin wins the euro i can see him vacating as soon as a world title shot comes his way so that could be an option.

joepenguin wrote: »
    If Macklin wins the euro i can see him vacating as soon as a world title shot comes his way so that could be an option.

I'm not sure i can see John being interested in fighting for a european title,..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 willmc83

Duddy is right to go for the Foreman fight, he was held back and protected for a reasonably long period of time and had his disputes etc with managers and promoters which caused delays in getting the Pavlick fight and the Billy Lydell fight didn't help matters either.

It was interesting during the Medina fight that the commentators said h isn't getting any younger and isn't getting any better and he's as well going for it now. I have to agree with them and think Foreman should be his last hurrah- if unsuccesful.

What we all learned from the Chavez fight is that Chavez is a lot better than everyone gave him credit for- especially the Latino fight community who heavily criticised him. There was harm in him loosing and there is too much credence given to manufactured 'zero loss' records nowadays.

Good luck to Duddy in his world title conquest but I think it will go unfulfilled. A shot at the European title when the Macklin/Barker and possibly Lee box off is resolved could be a more realistic prospect.

I always felt sorry for him that he didn't get his big purse against Pavlik, i think he deserved it, a least a shot...I never imagine he'd have beaten Kelly but would've been savage to ahve seen him box for a world title...

I just think he seems like a person who wouldn't be that interested in the european title route, i could be wrong but i just dont get that vibe from him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

whaaames wrote: »

I just think he seems like a person who wouldn't be that interested in the european title route, i could be wrong but i just dont get that vibe from him...

Yeah to be fair he never showed any interest that i can remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 willmc83

yeah, I agree.

A lot of boxers just see the european title as a platform for a world title and I think Duddy would just consider it a poor consilation prize as and in itself plus I think he already held the american continential title but I reckon he would be enticed if the holder was either macklin or lee.

there is a lot of talk about who the best irish middleweight is and back in 2006 there was even talk of him fighting jim rock so i reckon it's a case of watching this space. i would be a nice feather in the cap to claim to have beaten the best irish lads out there, even just for the bragging rights never mind the european title.