Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

deben Lithium Ion 12v Battery Pack

• 27-06-2010 5:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭

hello everyone has anyone got one of the deben Lithium Ion 12v Battery Pack i have spotted them in the local hunting shop and i only know two lads that has them and one says there a great yoke and the other says its a pile of dirt but if you have one whats your view of them because i just want to get the heads up on them before i buy one and if i do i will be using a lightforce lamp on it

http://www.deben.com/lights_lamping/batteries/lithium_ion_battery_pack.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

smokin ace wrote: »
    hello everyone has anyone got one of the deben Lithium Ion 12v Battery Pack i have spotted them in the local hunting shop and i only know two lads that has them and one says there a great yoke and the other says its a pile of dirt but if you have one whats your view of them because i just want to get the heads up on them before i buy one and if i do i will be using a lightforce lamp on it

i dont have one my self but i went out lamping with a lad and he had one .

it gave great light for about 3 hrs constant and then just cut out there was no fade. that was how it went for us.
    in a normal night lamping you wouldn't have it on constant and so it would last all night.
    it was lite and gave great power all the way threw untill it stopped

hope that helps;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Too expensive. Not enough amps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭clivej

Your choices are 8Ah, 10Ah, 14Ah and 22Ah (amps/hour) A LF 170 takes 8.33 amps @100watts so do the math and you get a constant run time of

8Ah < 1hour
    10Ah = 1.2 hours
    14Ah = 1.6 hours
    22Ah = 2.6 hours.

The LF 140 @50watts will give double the time. Using a dimmer control will extend the time greatly.
    This is all theoretical as nothing is perfect so all times will be less than shown.

The biggest advantage is the lightness of the battery pack over a gel lead acid battery pack.

But as I have shown here the LED torches are getting better all the time and weigh little enough, less than the LF 170 lamp on it's own, and throw a good long beam, are easy on the pocket and are light to carry. :D

12052010026.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

clivej wrote: »
    Your choices are 8Ah, 10Ah, 14Ah and 22Ah (amps/hour) A LF 170 takes 8.33 amps @100watts so do the math and you get a constant run time of

8Ah < 1hour
    10Ah = 1.2 hours
    14Ah = 1.6 hours
    22Ah = 2.6 hours.

The LF 140 @50watts will give double the time. Using a dimmer control will extend the time greatly.
    This is all theoretical as nothing is perfect so all times will be less than shown.

The biggest advantage is the lightness of the battery pack over a gel lead acid battery pack.

But as I have shown here the LED torches are getting better all the time and weigh little enough, less than the LF 170 lamp on it's own, and throw a good long beam, are easy on the pocket and are light to carry. :D

thats good information i have a 18amp gel battery at the moment and i am very pleased with its performance but any thing that makes hunting life a bit easier i would welcome i was looking at the led torches like you spoke about on deal extreme and they look impressive but along with a bit of shooting i do lamping with a dog as well but would the led torches be suitable for lamping with a dog as i think a led torch would have to have serious power because sometimes i like to give the rabbit a bit of a head start and get a good race for the dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭clivej

thats good information i have a 18amp gel battery at the moment and i am very pleased with its performance but any thing that makes hunting life a bit easier i would welcome i was looking at the led torches like you spoke about on deal extreme and they look impressive but along with a bit of shooting i do lamping with a dog as well but would the led torches be suitable for lamping with a dog as i think a led torch would have to have serious power because sometimes i like to give the rabbit a bit of a head start and get a good race for the dog

The ones I use have a very tight narrow beam so won't do what your asking. But look at the beam photo's of any of the torches on Dealextream.com and you could get someting that would do the job for you. Run time is about 2 1/2 - 3 hours but batteries are easy to carry in your pockey, BUT don't let them short out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭vixdname

I have the deben batterys for my lightforce lamp (The Sealed Lead Acid type) its the double battery that you can clip like a belt around your waits, its great for walking around fields...no hassles - it would last for at least 3hrs constant but I never have it on constantly just as needs require. Would you consider trying this type ? They're heavier but easy to carry and a bit cheaper moneywise aswell ?
    Either way - they're great never had a bit of bother with them, mine does fade as battery begins to weaken not just go off.

BTW: Lovely setup there Clivej - looks the biz!!!

vixdname wrote: »
    I have the deben batterys for my lightforce lamp and its the double battery that you can clip like a belt around your waits, its great for walking around fields...no hassles - it would last for at least 3hrs constant but I never have it on constantly just as needs require.
    Either way - they're great never had a bit of bother with them, mine does fade as battery begins to weaken not just go off all of a sudden, which sounds a bit odd to me. So whoever told you they were dirt was talking through their proverbial h.o.l.e. - unless they had a bad experience with a dodgey battery once and decided to tag all similar brand product as shiite which isnt very wise to do :D

Are you talking about Lithium Ion batteries, or sealed lead acid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭andyone

vixdname wrote: »
    I have the deben batterys for my lightforce lamp (The Sealed Lead Acid type) its the double battery that you can clip like a belt around your waits, its great for walking around fields...no hassles - it would last for at least 3hrs constant but I never have it on constantly just as needs require. Would you consider trying this type ? They're heavier but easy to carry and a bit cheaper moneywise aswell ?
    Either way - they're great never had a bit of bother with them, mine does fade as battery begins to weaken not just go off.

i used to have these.... sold them on to invest in the lithium ion battery.... they are expensive but in my opinion well worth the money.. i think i spent £175 for mine and it is the 14Ah version.... none of us are getting any younger..... so the lighter set up suits me perfectly.... you wouldn't even know you had it with you.... it is quarter the weight of my original set up... i charged it day one and had it out four nights... before it switched off on its own accord..... i always carry a second light with me any way.... just something small for lighting up the ditches when were trying to get through/over them... so the lightforce only comes on when needed.......

was talking to a fellow shooter the other day, and he was telling me of the good old days when they used to bring out a deisel battery... thank fcuk for progress.....

andyone wrote: »
    was talking to a fellow shooter the other day, and he was telling me of the good old days when they used to bring out a deisel battery... thank fcuk for progress.....

My mate still brings out a car battery, complains bitterly about it every night but it still gets brought!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

I have one and it great!

The freedom of movement again!:D

The lead batteries are too heavy for a one man show! I remember cold winter nights when i nearly sweated to death carry them around.. You need to travel light when jumping fences and climbing gates..

Only thing I'd change now is the lamp! oh ye and its wiring;) TBH the 170 is a bit OTT for my needs. I should have gone for the smaller lamps!

Anyway I'm stuck with the 170 for now as i have the IR filter and a regular red and blue one to boot.. Still have the original batteries and they get used from time to time just to keep'em serviceable!.. They have to be recharged after each use!

I also notice some bitching about the fact that the new batteries performance in terms of the final run out. One of the main selling points on this battery was that fact- namely that the battery output is maintained at a constant level right up to exhaustion of the cell..:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kieran1141

we bought the porta-pack 12v 20ah and lightforce 240 sl blitz with amber cover, its a bit expencive but brillant, hope i say the same thing next year ha ha, shot 29 foxes in 4 nights without charge but we use clear light to spot and then lightforce when shooting.

Seems they've come on leaps and bounds Amp wise since I looked at them last. (Still too expensive :D ).

bit expencive ok 360 for lamp amd battery pack, but helps between 2 people.

kieran1141 wrote: »
    bit expencive ok 360 for lamp amd battery pack, but helps between 2 people.

I can get a 22amp SLA battery in Galway tomorrow for €65.

A 22amp LI battery is €284 from Deben, without postage.

Seems to do a lot more lightening of wallets than anything else. Scandalous price for a flipping battery IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

johngalway wrote: »
    I can get a 22amp SLA battery in Galway tomorrow for €65.

A 22amp LI battery is €284 from Deben, without postage.

Seems to do a lot more lightening of wallets than anything else. Scandalous price for a flipping battery IMO.

Scandalous in deed I'd want a lot more than a battery for that money.

Any creatiev dudes out there know of batteries for alarms etc taht are LiIon.?

Could save us all a packet.

My batteries are too heavy and they are Deben dry cell.
    You'd be in a muck a sweat walking with the two of them on your belt

its a bit silly the price of lightforce lamp amd battery pack, onely 1 season done with it so far so good, but you would expect that for 360 euro, with ammo prices going trough the roof so the say over the sterling, this is what they usually say about 5 min before they rob you in the shop.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

I say its a dead cert that any batteries that are sold to a specific sport are going be marketed to get the highest price!

TBH I'd say yer spot on there Tack with the idea of sourcing these batteries from industry:) Must take a look before you;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

kieran1141 wrote: »
    its a bit silly the price of lightforce lamp amd battery pack, onely 1 season done with it so far so good, but you would expect that for 360 euro, with ammo prices going trough the roof so the say over the sterling, this is what they usually say about 5 min before they rob you in the shop.

I don't even ask fior vaseline anymore :D

There is always an excuse, Th echinese are buying all the steel, th eprice of lead, the Sterling.

Never havwe prices goine down

just take the pants off before you go in, and tell them no need for saddle, the chinese buying up all the steel and onely 3 major steel mills in the world, that was a good 1, got it bareback over the chinese too lol.