Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Be Careful stopped at lights Dublin City

• 25-06-2010 6:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Had to go into Dublin city today on an errand for work. Haven't been in years. Was the first car to be stopped at lights at the back of the Ilac Centre, the set of lights before the turn that swings around past the Rotunda.

Three "hoodies" approached from the flats to the left side and were walking through the traffic. The second one tried to distract me, while the third one tried to open the door (it was locked)

They kept saying, miss you have a flat, dont drive on it.

I decided the best thing was to drive on, so just took off, even though I drove through a red light. They were either after, my bag if I opened the door to see the flat, or the car (brand new got last week)

Scary stuff, so be careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭bazza1

Op..did you call the police?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

they might have thought that you were a tourist in a hire car and you'd be gullible enough to open the door.

I always keep my doors locking in traffic.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

No is the answer.

I dont think they thought it was a hire drive either. Are they obvious to spot? I think they saw woman on her own, brand new car, either after car or bag or both.

It was the one time I would have loved to have spotted a policeman for running a red light but none about.

Only realised how serious it was when I got back to work after my errand about an hour or so later.

I am just afraid that a more guillable person might get out to look at the flat tyre and they would be away with car, bag, everything!

Busy street, lots of people around and still they try this.

Tell you one thing though, I know if I had not got out of there and was cornered, I would more than likely have run over them to get away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

hoodie6029 wrote: »
    they might have thought that you were a tourist in a hire car and you'd be gullible enough to open the door.

I always keep my doors locking in traffic.

Whaddya mean "they"? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

you should report it to a garda station anyway, they may warn local officers to keep an eye out for it, or even have caught it on the traffic cameras around the CC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Would you have the nerve to just put your hand on the horn? You would get attention and presumably they would take off. I think!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

looksee wrote: »
    Would you have the nerve to just put your hand on the horn? You would get attention and presumably they would take off. I think!
    Stand on the horn and rev the engine. If necessary take off fast.

Well done on not becoming a victim of scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Thinking of getting someone with vag-com or whatever its called to enable the anti hijack feature. (the doors lock automatically once you drive off)

I usually try to lock the doors when in the city but I frequently forget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

well done for having the door locked. In some parts of the world a rock throuigh the window would be used!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

corktina wrote: »
    well done for having the door locked. In some parts of the world a rock throuigh the window would be used!

I've read somewhere, perhaps even here, a potentially apocryphal story about a rat being thrown in through an open window in an attempt to get a stationary female driver to abandon their car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

looksee wrote: »

briliant idea to be honest.

fair play to OP for not lossing head and driving away

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Anytime I'm in town I'm dressed head to toe in armoured gear, best of luck to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭thebiglad

Thinking of getting someone with vag-com or whatever its called to enable the anti hijack feature. (the doors lock automatically once you drive off)

Its on new renaults - RAID - moment you move forward the doors lock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

It's also on my '98 Nissan. Once you go over 20km/h, doors lock.
    I've also seen it on a mid 70's Toyota Crown.
    Hardly a new idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

A good number of cars have this check your manual OP see if yours has it and get it switched on if it already not on.

Fair ****s to you but report it to the Five Oh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ShiresV2

anewme wrote: »
    Had to go into Dublin city today on an errand for work. Haven't been in years. Was the first car to be stopped at lights at the back of the Ilac Centre, the set of lights before the turn that swings around past the Rotunda.

Three "hoodies" approached from the flats to the left side and were walking through the traffic. The second one tried to distract me, while the third one tried to open the door (it was locked)

They kept saying, miss you have a flat, dont drive on it.

I decided the best thing was to drive on, so just took off, even though I drove through a red light. They were either after, my bag if I opened the door to see the flat, or the car (brand new got last week)

Scary stuff, so be careful.

Sorry to hear about that, sounds frightening. From stories heard from friends and family it seems to have been going on in that area since at least the 80's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭robdsherlock

wtf your lucky!!
    my girlfriend keeps telling me to lock the doors whenever we go into limerick city, i prob will from now on!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

thebiglad wrote: »
    Its on new renaults - RAID - moment you move forward the doors lock.

It's been on them for years. My 00 clio had it. They lock when you go over 4mph (or new fancy dan km equivelant :) )

I would have thought it was standard on most cars at this stage. Obviously not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I remember the trick down Holles St. a number of years ago during a particular fine summer was to throw a live rat through the sun roof from the flats.

You can work the rest out yourselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

I remember the trick down Holles St. a number of years ago during a particular fine summer was to throw a live rat through the sun roof from the flats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

OP, well done for keepin your cool. Doubt Id have done the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

A good incentive to keep you doors locked everytime you drive, especially in the city.
    I usually keep them locked but many times I forget. Gonna make sure I never forget to lock them form now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

I have this on my car and to be honest its a real pain in the a$$. Any passengers that I forget to warn about it will almost break off the door handle as they don't realize the 1st pull will just unlock it and a 2nd pull will open it. It's not really necessary around here in the west of Ireland anyway

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Get a BMW, its what real people drive :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Pot Noodle =

Stinicker wrote: »

Get a BMW, its what real people drive :eek:

To good for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

KamiKazi wrote: »
    Anytime I'm in town I'm dressed head to toe in armoured gear, best of luck to them.

Yes, at this stage, we all know you drive a motorbike, and no, your post doesn't help the OP whatsoever by telling them you drive in armoured gear when you're driving a completely different vehicle to them.. :rolleyes: :confused::confused:

I'd love to know what car driver wears a helmet and full leathers whilst driving their car...

Fair play to you "anewme", thankfully you weren't one of those statistics that are found wanting when this kind of incident happens...

PS. Many cars have that sort of setting nowadays. My 2002 Nissan has a default anti-hijack setting..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭mumof2

Scary stuff!! Well done OP for driving off and leaving them there!! I will be locking my doors too from now on!! Shame that we cant even feel safe when driving around like that in a city.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

bazza1 wrote: »
    Op..did you call the police?
    it seems forums are the place to report such serious incidents nowadays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭notel70

it seems forums are the place to report such serious incidents nowadays

cop on to yourself and give the op a break, what would the police do, send a few green cops from templemore down there looking for a few young lads in hoodies, where would they even start.

I think posting this on boards will have more of an impact, id estimate that 90% of the people who have read this thread will lock their doors next time they drive through a rough area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Yeah that was my reasoning behind it allright.....let people know this can happen in broad daylight ( it was 10.45am) and to be careful out there. This can happen anywhere, to anyone. Dont reckon Guards would have done much, so at least trying to warn people via the net might help someone else.

Had thought about sitting on the horn to attract attention as a few people had tipped, but was afraid they might give the car a kick and then it would be damaged and they gone off whereever they sneak off to, so best option was to redline it out of there.

When I got back to the office, I thought about what could have happened and that shook me a bit. Yesterday, good luck was in my corner.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Saw that happen a few times when I was growing up in Rialto only the scummers used to break the passenger window with rock--throw the rat into the car,owner jumps out and then they either rob the car or a handbag or whatever was on the seat.

I hope to god this crap doesnt start happening again--it was rampant at a couple of bridges in Rialto--mainly the one at Securicor cos they had an easy way back into the flats.

Maybe we should invent a super duper anti-hijack device.How about a 220volt inverter wired up to the body of the car.Driver would be earthed by the tyres but the scummer would get a nasty shock if they tried anything.Actually maybe not-pedestrians would get it aswell if they touched the car--so back to the drawing board with that one :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

wtf your lucky!!
    my girlfriend keeps telling me to lock the doors whenever we go into limerick city, i prob will from now on!!

Ah but we only want a chat! :rolleyes:

I have my doors set to auto lock anyway. I've heard it happening before, and it's happened me once, and two people I know. You just have to be careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Yeah that was my reasoning behind it allright.....let people know this can happen in broad daylight ( it was 10.45am) and to be careful out there. This can happen anywhere, to anyone. Dont reckon Guards would have done much, so at least trying to warn people via the net might help someone else.

Report to Gardai , because there are enough victims of crime , and these guys will prey on another innocent person .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Oliver1985

I always keep my doors locked anywhere I drive!!
    It was on fm104 a few weeks back some woman got thrown out her Bmw x5 on O Connell Bridge and hoodies drove off in it!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Vertakill wrote: »
    Yes, at this stage, we all know you drive a motorbike, and no, your post doesn't help the OP whatsoever by telling them you drive in armoured gear when you're driving a completely different vehicle to them.. :rolleyes: :confused::confused:

I'd love to know what car driver wears a helmet and full leathers whilst driving their car...

Fair play to you "anewme", thankfully you weren't one of those statistics that are found wanting when this kind of incident happens...

PS. Many cars have that sort of setting nowadays. My 2002 Nissan has a default anti-hijack setting..

This guy does, even when he's waiting for the train!!! :D
    Hellrazer wrote: »
    Saw that happen a few times when I was growing up in Rialto only the scummers used to break the passenger window with rock--throw the rat into the car,owner jumps out and then they either rob the car or a handbag or whatever was on the seat.

I hope to god this crap doesnt start happening again--it was rampant at a couple of bridges in Rialto--mainly the one at Securicor cos they had an easy way back into the flats.

Maybe we should invent a super duper anti-hijack device.How about a 220volt inverter wired up to the body of the car.Driver would be earthed by the tyres but the scummer would get a nasty shock if they tried anything.Actually maybe not-pedestrians would get it aswell if they touched the car--so back to the drawing board with that one :D:D
    I believe some brands such as Citroen offer laminated glass in the side windows, but probaly not in Ireland though.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭RobertM

Had thought about sitting on the horn to attract attention as a few people had tipped, but was afraid they might give the car a kick and then it would be damaged and they gone off whereever they sneak off to, so best option was to redline it out of there.

When I got back to the office, I thought about what could have happened and that shook me a bit. Yesterday, good luck was in my corner.

I`m quite surprised actually. I often pass through there and I've never seen this happening, but from now on I'm going to lock my doors as well. 'tis true, that area is not the safest, but I believe there's loads of CCTV there because it's close to O'Connell street. There is a small Garda station just on O'Connell street as well.

My OH thinks it's funny that I always lock my doors when driving, I think I'll show him this thread...

I'm glad to hear it had a good ending OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I'm terrible for not locking doors when I drive, that will be changing now!

Also After hearing that rat thing I may never open my windows again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

This trick isn't new to be fair. It happens in cities the world over. In Dublin I keep my doors locked at all times regardless of the area I'm in ever since an aquaintance of mine pulled upat a red light at 11 am just across the road from Stillorgan shopping centre, a relatively nice area, and had a door opened and a wallet taken in broad daylight. Message learnt-always lock your doors and never open them to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

As well as locking the doors, I always try to keep a 6-10 foot gap between me and the car in front when stopped at the lights in the city.

It gives you a bit or room to manouver if necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭dylbert

I got a Clifford installed with Blackjax anti hijack system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Message learnt-always lock your doors and never open them to anyone.

And also don't leave stuff like handbags or wallets, phones etc lying in full view on the seat either beside or behind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭ICE HOUSE

Let them have a go at my car. I tend to travel alot with my 2 rottweilers and rhodesian ridgeback. Id love to see the outcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

My "startup routine" is...

- Open door, get in, start car, dip lights on
    - Select gear, lock doors
    - drive

It's automatic/habit at this stage..

Friend of mine was in town picking up his gf one night and had stopped at a red light when the back doors opened and 2 drunk girls got in, having mistaken him for a taxi.

All ended without any problems, but as the OP says, not always the case.
    Better safe than sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

In fairness to the OP or rather those berating her for not reporting it to the Gardai its hard to see what they could have done even if they came around the corner. Clearly these guys were attempting some sort of crime but I don't think a crime was committed here or at least one that could be proved in court. The advice about locking doors and especially keeping handbags and other valuable out of sight is good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Which is why I always have one of these in my car:

425_mouse_trap.jpg
    notel70 wrote: »
    cop on to yourself and give the op a break, what would the police do, send a few green cops from templemore down there looking for a few young lads in hoodies, where would they even start.

I think posting this on boards will have more of an impact, id estimate that 90% of the people who have read this thread will lock their doors next time they drive through a rough area

It's not like it's either/or, though - OP could tell the Gardai and still post here. I know it's not fashionable to defend the Gardai in any way, but even if they can't actually arrest anyone involved, surely it's better to make them aware of what happened than not.

But fair play OP for having the presence of mind to get out of there pronto.