Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

size of wheels and distance from wheel arches

• 25-06-2010 4:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭

I understand gardai can prosecute for overly large wheels with not enough space between them and the wheel arch.

Is there a size of wheel/distance from arch or is this in the opinion of the garda? And what is the issue or danger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

The danger is that the wheel will foul the body when the vehicle is moving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

si_guru wrote: »
    The danger is that the wheel will foul the body when the vehicle is moving.

Or worse you could have a blow out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭PrimalTherapy

Ok it occurred to me since posting that if something got stuck in the wheel it could hit the body too. Does anyone know is there is a speciifc size in law?

@johnos1984 and si_guru;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Ok it occurred to me since posting that if something got stuck in the wheel it could hit the body too. Does anyone know is there is a speciifc size in law?

@johnos1984 and si_guru;)

I don't know but I would recommend you call an NCT centre as they are most likely to tell you if its too big.

Possibly someone else will know

johnos1984 wrote: »
    I don't know but I would recommend you call an NCT centre as they are most likely to tell you if its too big.

Possibly someone else will know
    No i do not have them, just curious. Good idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

Do mean btw that your thinking of putting larger wheels on the car? Or that your lowering the car thus making the gap in the wheel arches smaller?

I thought changing the overall wheel diameter will make your speedometer/odometer etc wrong?

sentient_6 wrote: »
    Do mean btw that your thinking of putting larger wheels on the car? Or that your lowering the car thus making the gap in the wheel arches smaller?
    Not thinking of either - happy with my wheels and arches;).

Just curious as to how big is too big as have seen on boy racers and i knew the garda can prosecute for them. I was just curious as to the reason they are dangerous and the legal height they can be. Orif it is an opinion of the garda like noise
    I thought changing the overall wheel diameter will make your speedometer/odometer etc wrong?
    don't know, maybe that is one reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

I think when it comes to 'boy racer' cars, the overall wheel diameter hasnt actually been changed, just the tire ratio, i.e, bigger alloys but lower tires. So technical the wheels haven't been made bigger. & then the body is lowered(thus again making it seem maybe like the wheels are bigger), & i'm not aware of any legal issue maybe as long as there's still enuff room in the arches for movement, though maybe a call to the NCT would clear that up alright.

But actually i doubt anyone would lower a car so much that it would effect the movement of wheel? So id wonder if its something that actually would need to be regulated in the first place.

Far as know changing the wheel diameter messes with the speedometer alright, that's why its not a just a simple case of putting low profile tires on a car, you need to change the alloy's with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I think as long as wheel/tyre is insde the wheel arch, there is little a garda can do. How can a garda form an opinion on something like this unless of course the tyre is smoking as its hiting the arch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

a gaurd once said to my cousin about having 19inch wheels on a mk5 golf that the car is too low etc, my cousin replied,"first of all im a mechanic, second of all are you?" the gaurd walked away.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭robdsherlock

Just curious as to how big is too big as have seen on boy racers and i knew the garda can prosecute for them. I was just curious as to the reason they are dangerous and the legal height they can be. Orif it is an opinion of the garda like noise

off topic i know but why do you call it "boy racers"?? would you not call it a modified car?? i think its a bit unfair generalising all modified cars as boy racers.

because the one i refer to are making noise and are an anti social nuisance. if it makes unacceptable noise it s a boy racer to me. I do not object to people modifying their cars but they have no right to impinge on others peace nor to have wheels that can be a danger to themselves, which i could not care less about, and others which I do
    One I saw today had a loud exhaust and no tax/no insurance and no nct. unfortunately i did not have camera

because the one i refer to are making noise and are an anti social nuisance. if it makes unacceptable noise it s a boy racer to me. I do not object to people modifying their cars but they have no right to impinge on others peace nor to have wheels that can be a danger to themselves, which i could not care less about, and others which I do
    One I saw today had a loud exhaust and no tax/no insurance and no nct. unfortunately i did not have camera

ok i am not going to get into an arguement with anything other them what is relevent to the op post,
    on that subject, yes there is unsafe size wheels and all that but you have to take into account that there may be more than just wheel size's modifications done to the car, other suspension mods and a geometry set-up can make them just as safe and even improve the grip or safety to keep it simple than a standard size wheel. myself drive two modified cars and i understand where your coming from with the "boy racer" view and i agree with the term, but not to brand all as a boy racer, there are a lot of people out there doing mods to cars just to get attention and there are people out there who do mods to cars as a hobbie and an interest and a form of "art".
    do you know the make and model of the car??
    because some cars improve performance from a derestricted exhaust and some should not bother at all:rolleyes:

ok i am not going to get into an arguement with anything other them what is relevent to the op post,
    on that subject, yes there is unsafe size wheels and all that but you have to take into account that there may be more than just wheel size's modifications done to the car, other suspension mods and a geometry set-up can make them just as safe and even improve the grip or safety to keep it simple than a standard size wheel.
    I suppose, i don't know only about the size/ and clearance from arch as that is what the garda said they can prosecute for. I just wonderd why and what the danger was
    myself drive two modified cars and i understand where your coming from with the "boy racer" view and i agree with the term,
    as a curioisity do you have a loud exhaust and what is the idea of this anyway.
    do you know the make and model of the car??
    it was cars in general the garda said. if you mean the one today with the modified windscreen i.e no insurance disc was i think a Subaru. And I have seen large wheels on a civic which is a boy racer in my view but i do not know if they are too big

they probably can prosicute but imo i dont think it would be necessary to prosocut people with a proper set up.

yes i have a derestricted exhaust on both the cars i drive one bieng a honda civic and the other a subaru impreza,
    the reason for both is performance basicly, and the both have upgraded brakes to more than make up for the gain in power, in my eyes a car with a derestricted exhaust on a car with a engine 1.5-6 or smaller will have no benifit on the car at all and i would concider this a nuisance, i also drive a 1.3 with no modifications as i dont see any need for it.
    and both my cars with derestricted exhausts have passed nct laws which i my eyes are a pain in the hole because 99db is not that loud, a chain saw makes just as much noise if not more but do they restrict noise on them and any other noise that passes this level:rolleyes:
    my subaru has 17" alloys and the civic has standard 15" vti alloys.

in my eyes it seems a bit too convenient(sp) that the car you "seen" was a subaru and a car you class a civic as a boy racer...:rolleyes:
    at the end of the day i enjoy my cars and enjoy driving and dont really care what other people think of it as i dont sterio type in peoples hobbies and interest because some take the piss on it...

in my eyes it seems a bit too convenient(sp) that the car you "seen" was a subaru and a car you class a civic as a boy racer...:rolleyes:
    you do not want an argument but accuse me of lying?I said i think the one with no insurance was a subaru.The other is a civic. i know that cos i know the reg and will be complaing that boy racer fool to the garda for the noise, not the size of the wheels.have seen some of the idiots with some sort of contyraption on the back like wings' one idiot had it on the poof. They get attention all right but not for the reason the think, muppets

fair enough so;)

ya can report him all ya like and many do deserve it but the cops can do nothing about it as they can not prove anything! plus reporting someone for noise? why would you bother?? its not going to get you anywhere...

have seen some of the idiots with some sort of contyraption on the back like wings' one idiot had it on the poof. They get attention all right but not for the reason the think, muppets

thats right yup!! muppets!
    what i dont understand is why complain about something that has nothing got to do with you. ie, big wings on the back of their car or roof.
    why is this such a problem to you?

fair enough so;)

ya can report him all ya like and many do deserve it but the cops can do nothing about it as they can not prove anything! plus reporting someone for noise? why would you bother?? its not going to get you anywhere...
    you'd be surprised. i have put several of them away fromthis area,this is and will remain a muppet blackspot. the cops can prosecute for noise and can get convictions sometimes so it is not true to say they can do nothing and I do not intend to waste time on this any more

thay can but there not because they are not bothered about it because there is much better things to be worried about!! same reason why there is not much bieng done about modifying cars because there are more people doing it propery and driving normally than those who are not, just like any other situation in life, ya get the good and the bad but ya dont ban everything because there are bad in there.... im leaving it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

There cannot be a minimum distance between wheel/tyre and wheelarch because the gap is dynamic i.e. it changes. So the real minimum distance is under full bump (i.e. damper fully compressed).

Then on the front the worst condition is full bump and full steering lock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭LookBehindYou

Hers a handy calculator for tyre sizes, it shows the differences in speedo readings also.
    http://www.miata.net/garage/tirecalcold.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

in my eyes a car with a derestricted exhaust on a car with a engine 1.5-6 or smaller will have no benifit on the car at all and i would concider this a nuisance,

A 998 cc mini benefits greatly from a derestricted exhaust as do the Peugeot 106 Rallye's at 1300cc as do Toyota Starlet turbos also at 1300cc as do many other sub 1.5/1.6 cars, your statement is utter rubbish.

Tyres protruding past the wheel arches and tyres fouling bodywork and suspension are automatic NCT/DOE fails, tyres protruding past wheelarches are obvious to Guards, tyres fouling bodywork or suspension are not so obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

a chain saw makes just as much noise if not more but do they restrict noise on them and any other noise that passes this level:rolleyes:

They would restrict them if people were doing laps of their town or housing estates into the small hours of the morning revving their chainsaws for no reason.

That is some image:D but i agree with the sentiment, and yes they do act if complained high enough.i know from experience. If anyone reads this is troubled by them contact super if the cops do not respond

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

..because the one i refer to are making noise and are an anti social nuisance.
    In your opinion, that is. Thankfully, you are not a court of law...
    ....they have no right to have wheels that can be a danger to themselves, which i could not care less about
    ...well, unless you're an Engineer, and have more than a passing glance at the veh's in question, you're in no position to comment on that, tbh.....and if, as you say, you 'care less'.........why are you posting ?
    ..One I saw today had a loud exhaust and no tax/no insurance and no nct. unfortunately i did not have camera
    You SAW an exhaust ? And, unless you have access to the National Vehicle Database in Shannon, you know diddly about the latter, either.......
    Just curious as to how big is too big as have seen on boy racers and i knew the garda can prosecute for them.
    There is no restriction on size and types of wheel you can fit, and as for the Garda comment, time to post some proof, please......
    ....True, it could. But that can happen any car. And no, there's no size in law.
    i don't know only about the size/ and clearance from arch as that is what the garda said they can prosecute for. I just wonderd why and what the danger was
    as a curioisity do you have a loud exhaust and what is the idea of this anyway.
    it was cars in general the garda said. if you mean the one today with the modified windscreen i.e no insurance disc was i think a Subaru. And I have seen large wheels on a civic which is a boy racer in my view but i do not know if they are too big
    You are now repeating yourself: you 'don't know'. And lack of insurance disc does not mean no insurance, btw..........
    .....not the size of the wheels.have seen some of the idiots with some sort of contyraption on the back like wings' one idiot had it on the poof. They get attention all right but not for the reason the think, muppets
    ...:rolleyes:
    . i have put several of them away fromthis area,...and will remain a muppet blackspot. the cops can prosecute for noise and can get convictions sometimes so it is not true to say they can do nothing and I do not intend to waste time on this any more
    ...indeed, if you do get rid of all the cars from the area, there's still likely to be one muppet left, it seems to me.......;)
    I'm glad you're going to stop wasting time on this, tbh......
    That is some image:D but i agree with the sentiment, and yes they do act if complained high enough.i know from experience. If anyone reads this is troubled by them contact super if the cops do not respond
    ....I thought you said you weren't going to waste any more [or our] time in this ? Please do keep your promises.

No, really. :D

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

a court of law has convicted some of them them.

i said i saw a car with exhaust no tax/insurance displayed. The insurance must be displayed, or car can be seized no more time to discuss this with muppets
    What sort of a clown would be going around making noise nuisance any way f&&inf idiots gob*****

a chain saw makes just as much noise if not more but do they restrict noise on them and any other noise that passes this level:rolleyes:

You don't get loads of chainsaws in rush hour, you don't get loads of them outside schools collecting kids, you don't have folks driving chainsaws around housing estates ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭CarMuppet

They get attention all right but not for the reason the think, muppets
    thats right yup!! muppets!

You called??

To be honest I wouldn't fault someone for chaging the cosmetic apperance of their cars to 'stand out from the crowd'. Sure that's what growing up is all about. This link has some fine examples of modern car culture :P: http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055281815

The biggest fear with the OP's question is "how" the modifications have been made.. You can stick a set of 18' under most cars no and drop the profile to a 35 or 40 and they'll fit with a squeeze. They'll increase your turning circle to a barge boat but the biggest fear is if the suspension bottoms out (like on our wonderful roads) and you'll lock the wheel :eek:

I've seen the 'baseball bat' technique used on an import to get a set of OS alloys on... coupled with a set of cheapy cheap coilovers from ebay makes for a nasty combination. The car looks great to be honest but it just won't work.

I don't think there is a 'legal rule' for tyre to wheel arch distance or ratio. how would the Gardai measure this? I assume a Garda will only pull a car if he/she forms the opinion that it's a danger to other road users... right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

a court of law has convicted some of them them.

i said i saw a car with exhaust no tax/insurance displayed

No you didn't - see your post #13, and I quote: One I saw today had a loud exhaust and no tax/no insurance and no nct. unfortunately i did not have camera

And still waiting on the proof of conviction for 'too large' wheels, tks.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

RoverJames wrote: »
    You don't get loads of chainsaws in rush hour, you don't get loads of them outside schools collecting kids, you don't have folks driving chainsaws around housing estates ;)

^^^you dont no!!! lol
    but if a car is sitting in traffic or collecting kids from school how is this a nuicence(sp)?? at least ya know if there is a car cumming and dont let your kid run out onto the road:rolleyes: altho even if they do the person in the car will get the blame anyway as iv seen many times. i agree there may be idiots driving arond in estates making unneccesory noise and its the person behind the wheel who has the problems not the car!! i have had exhausts on my cars and i have lived in estates and no one had a problem with me driving in and out because i drove it properly and didn fly around the estate thinking i was cool or whatever reason they do that!
    my point being dont generalise that everyone with an exhaust is a anti-social gob****e and the car will only drive like the driver wants it to. ye very people who do jump on the bandwagon and generalise everyone like that are the people who have problems and are just finding a reason to give out about something bar the few that genuinely do get hasstle from them...

may i ask what cars people drive??

@primaltherapy: i have no insurance disc on my subaru because it is not my main car so my insurance company will not issue me one but i have insurance on it with the policy i have and no gaurd has ever complained about it, they asked and i showed them my policy and they had mno problem with that! so i dono, maybe its just the experience you have had with cops!:confused:

@ admin i know this is gone off topic but id like if it was to be kept open. tnks