Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help needed!

• 25-06-2010 1:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29

Ive got myself into a right predicament here, Im travelling to the UK next Thursday and the only ID that I have is my out of date passport, this isnt a problem for travelling there but I need to have my new passport for the 1st of August.

So basically I need to know is there any form of photo ID that I can get before next Thursday?

The only chance of getting my new passport in time for August is literally sending it off today. The journey next Thursday is very important and cant change the dates. Im leaving Ireland on the 3rd of August though and someone else is relying on me being able to leave the country then too so thats also a very important journey.

To be fair, this is fairly typical of me to leave everything to the last minute and then try and sort everything out. **** sake.

So any ideas on what ID I might be able to get with a weeks notice, can be anything, so long as its photo ID. Cheers lads, much appreciated.

TnD system will be up and running on my return from England, Ill update my thread then...actually Ill do that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭lil_lisa

Depending on the airline, it might be possible to use a drivers license.

Well actually, are you flying or sailing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 TnDSoundSystem

lil_lisa wrote: »
    Depending on the airline, it might be possible to use a drivers license.

Well actually, are you flying or sailing?
    Ferry to the UK next Thursday. For August, ferry to UK - ferry to Calais.

I dont have a driving license either, an expired passport is the only photo ID that I have at the moment.

Hmm, well most ferries don't require passports. Garda ID is acceptable and european cards but I'm not sure how long it takes to get those. If you're going on Irish Ferries, bank cards will suffice, maybe along with your expired passport and any other photo ID you may have, college or work or anything with a picture of you and a name.

Oh although going to France, you will be required to have your passport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 TnDSoundSystem

A bit late for an update but might as well anyway, got through customs fine with an ML10 form, although on the UK side when I was coming back I was the only person taken aside and thouroughly searched. 30 ****ing minutes at 4am being searched while the other 40 passengers looked on. Apart from that had a grand time, stayed in a squat in London for a week.