Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pizza in Tesco

• 24-06-2010 5:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭

Tesco are doing a deal on Margherita and double pepporoni pizzas. They're refrigerated yokes, just had one and they are :pac::pac::pac::pac:! €2 a pop, long date on them, heading back to stock up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

are they the tesco branded pizza's or are they slives ? or bagettes or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭lindtee

I'd say they are these ones

046018.jpg5010744021792_200.jpg*

(note the dubious stain the the margherita box)
    *not actual size

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

You reminded that i saw the Chicagotown deep dish ones, the 2 in a box type half price. Think it was €1.49 a box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭gleep

They aren't tesco branded, they're called Primafresco, proper pizzas. The box has a kind of half italian flag on it, find them in the fridge!

What Lindtee said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭antocann

Davy wrote: »
    You reminded that i saw the Chinatown deep dish ones, the 2 in a box type half price. Think it was €1.49 a box.

or do you mean chicago town lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Bought one last week, all the poxy topping was placed in the window section of the box, hardly anything on the rest of the pizza:mad: sneaky feckers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭antocann

as the saying goes " you g et what you pay for "

yep there a tastey pie allrigh

Poly wrote: »
    Bought one last week, all the poxy topping was placed in the window section of the box, hardly anything on the rest of the pizza:mad: sneaky feckers

Cant say i noticed on the margherita yoke, didn't really last too long once i got it on the plate though:pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,331 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

they're pretty dull pizzas, and they are a tesco own-brand. They have them on some sort of offer all the time, not really a BA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

gleep wrote: »
    They aren't tesco branded, they're called Primafresco, proper pizzas.
    They are tesco ones, just not a big TESCO on the box. Since the "change for good" campaign tesco have lots of discreet own branding going on. A lot of the brands are around the same price as the value range but are often better quality than the tesco "normal" own brand range.
    Poly wrote: »
    Bought one last week, all the poxy topping was placed in the window section of the box, hardly anything on the rest of the pizza
    I was going to mention this, I look through the pizzas, for every one with skimpy toppings you get one completely loaded. They can have huge amounts on some, to buy the pepperoni separately would cost about the same as the full pizza! Same goes for tesco chicken, I look at a few packs to find a big one, I have got ones that were meant to be 800g that were well over a kilo.
    loyatemu wrote: »
    hey have them on some sort of offer all the time, not really a BA.
    Still worth knowing, I have said before that the best offers in tesco are NOT advertised as offers at all. Then they eventually increase the price and people head to the ripoff forum to spout shite. Should be called the "expensive alerts forum", WTF benefits from knowing a mars bar in a petrol station is expensive is beyond me.

That Pizza hut world cup offer was giving you a pizza about this size, I never bothered trying to enter it, to me it was only worth €2, while I think they charge €16 for that pizza and some people then value it at that and saw it as a really good prize to win.

Fair enough, thought it was a good deal and real nice pizza, best cook- yourself one i'VE had in a long time.

BA's are in the eye of the beholder!

These were €1.99 when Tesco "changed for good" and BOGOF for a while (they were good value at €1 a pizza) didn't take them long to creep back up to €4 though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

If only they'd do deals on their Milano pizzas. 4.99 a pop but pretty fooking good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

rubadub wrote: »
    WTF benefits from knowing a mars bar in a petrol station is expensive is beyond me.

Mathematically-challenged chocolate-craving knuckle-scrapers who like to drive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

lindtee wrote: »
    These were €1.99 when Tesco "changed for good" and BOGOF for a while (they were good value at €1 a pizza)
    I must have missed that one, are you certain it was €1 a pizza. I have a great memory for prices, I also live right beside a tesco and am over all the time. In my tesco those pizzas have gone from €4 to €2 all the time since the change for good.
    They have them on some sort of offer all the time,
    This is true, more often than not they are "half price" at €2, or €4 and BOGOF, I never both offers at once, i.e. them priced at €2 and a BOGOF (€1 pizza). Sometimes they are not said to be half price when they are €2, it might not be legal if they were not €4 for long enough. I have mentioned this loads of times that a lot of the best offers in tesco are not advertised. People tend not to appreciate the bargain they are getting simply because there is no big sign saying its a offer. So then when the price goes up they declare it a ripoff.

They do increase to €4 each from time to time, probably so they can legally do the old marketing trick of "half price".

You are right rubadub, it was a different one that was BOGOF and €1.99:o:o
    It was the Tesco Italian Pizza http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055711463&highlight=pizza