Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cooking rabbits

• 23-06-2010 8:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭

Ok, i decided id make dinner tonight, so i says to the young ones(herself minds, 4 and 11) what they want for dinner. Pigeon they said( i gave them pigeon 6 mnths ago). No can do i said, how about rabbit??
    Yea they said ' and duck:rolleyes:'. ( they tasted duck last year too).
    I said rabbit next week.
    So i want to know, a simple way of cooking rabbit that will be tasty to keep two young ones interested in game???

If it goes down well im planning on putting some in blender with veg for the baby. Is rabbit meat ok for this or should i stick to blending chickin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

do em up a chicken stew but replace the chook with rabbit....
    yummy
    Or if you have a load of bunnies...bone out the back fillets and cut them into nugget size pieces..
    Dip em in egg then coat em in breadcrumbs then straight into the deep fat fryer.....
    Bunny nuggets...the kids will love em..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Ok, i decided id make dinner tonight, so i says to the young ones(herself minds, 4 and 11) what they want for dinner. Pigeon they said( i gave them pigeon 6 mnths ago). No can do i said, how about rabbit??
    Yea they said ' and duck:rolleyes:'. ( they tasted duck last year too).
    I said rabbit next week.
    So i want to know, a simple way of cooking rabbit that will be tasty to keep two young ones interested in game???

If it goes down well im planning on putting some in blender with veg for the baby. Is rabbit meat ok for this or should i stick to blending chickin?

I'd leave it marinade in some cider vinegar over night.
    This is one I prepared earlier :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

that looks fair tasty must try this.:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

Make sure you get good 3/4 size rabbits or smaller for your introduction;)

An auld tough rabbit is not a nice eating experience:(

Make sure you get good 3/4 size rabbits or smaller for your introduction;)

An auld tough rabbit is not a nice eating experience:(

As I said marinade overnight in the fridge for best results on a 3/4 size Rabbit ;)

Or use Ragee Ragee sauce ;)

As I said marinade overnight in the fridge for best results on a 3/4 size Rabbit ;)

Or use Ragee Ragee sauce ;)

Yep as ye said:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭sikastag

Just done up a few burgers the other night and everyone that tried them liked them. Handy way of doing them if you have access to a mincer. Small bit of work involved.

This is where I got the recipe:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2007/oct/20/recipes.foodanddrink
    (Bottom of page)

Could also go one further and do up the burgers like dwighet said to do nuggets.

sikastag wrote: »
    Just done up a few burgers the other night and everyone that tried them liked them. Handy way of doing them if you have access to a mincer. Small bit of work involved.

This is where I got the recipe:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2007/oct/20/recipes.foodanddrink
    (Bottom of page)

Could also go one further and do up the burgers like dwighet said to do nuggets.

I make Venison Burgers. Tasty ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭sikastag

I make Venison Burgers. Tasty ;)

Aye. Bambi/bunny burgers or sausages are always good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

I know this is a bit late but in future why not try rabbit soup!

Joint the rabbit! (nice young one when possible)
    Put in a large sauspan with water, chunks of carrots, onions and some salt!
    Boil for an hour or two until the meat is nice and tender!

Now you can leave the joints as they are or you can take the meat off the bone with a fork when cooked and put back in the pot!

Finally, add a packet of chicken soup and leave to thicken!

Thats it! simples!!!

Great stuff in the winter, especially after an evening flight, or a night out with the lamp!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Eddie B wrote: »

Now you can leave the joints as they are or you can take the meat off the bone with a fork when cooked and put back in the pot!

Thats it! simples!!!

Great stuff in the winter, especially after an evening flight, or a night out with the lamp!

No Edie, not late at all. Its next week i promised them.
    Thanks to everyone for the tips, keep em coming

Thats it! simples!!!

I'll bring me own bowl!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

CURRY.....MMMM:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭gavlaw

Thats it! simples!!!

had to do that a few years back in the army we were on a course and our dinner was 2 rabbits 3 carrots an 7 spuds and we were given an ammo box to cook it in one of the lads had a packet of chicken soup in his survival tin so we boiled it all up together........LOVELY......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

were you given two sticks to rub together to make the fire :rolleyes::rolleyes: