Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Derby Tips

• 23-06-2010 10:45am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭

I'm not the most frequent punter, but I get the ear of someone every now and then.

IMO Monterosso is best bet for Derby. Currently at 4/1 (got 5/1 yesterday with Boyles:D), supplemented at cost of 150,000.

And if Detorri is riding him - it will be as close to a cert you can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭LutherBlissett

I am also very, very tempted to have a few quid on Monterosso. He came home extremely well in the King Edward. The rest of the field looks moderate enough - O' Brien's team is obviously flashy and has Derby trial form, but JVM, Cape Blanco etc. seem to be just a bit short of top class. Apparently Jim Bolger has a couple of improvers in the race, which might be interesting, but neither jumps out as a leading fancy in my opinion. It all just depends on how good Monterosso is in Classic company (if you could call the other horses in the race that) and how well he comes out of Ascot. As with Rewilding, I think he might be a nice each way tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭thirtypence

lads.....sort of off topic...........but where do most of the crowd head after the derby on sunday? like with punchestown in april naas normally gets a good crowd after the festival meetings.......so just wondering where is the best place to head after the derby on sunday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭91011

lads.....sort of off topic...........but where do most of the crowd head after the derby on sunday? like with punchestown in april naas normally gets a good crowd after the festival meetings.......so just wondering where is the best place to head after the derby on sunday?

Kildare Town before & after.

Publicans are running a bus to & from the curragh all through the meeting for €3 return. Free parking in Kildare town - will save a lot of parking hassle at the curragh itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

The one thing I'd say about JV is that, IMO, he looked like there was a bit to work on in the parade ring before the Epsom Derby. He'd won the Gallinule 2 weeks before and by the accounts of people who were there he didn't loom fit either so maybe he's just a big brute of a horse

Can't believe they ran Cape Blanco in France rather than Epsom, I'd have fancied him at Epsom and apparently Murtagh rides him in preference to JV

• Moderators Posts: 8,832 ✭✭✭x PyRo

I'm all over Monterosso, He's a class act and has the turn of foot to destroy this field if he's not feeling any effects of his win last week. I've been a big fan of him since he won a maiden and there's still more improvement to be had. He'll win on Sunday and go on to win a few more Group 1's. He's a very special horse IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

I think JV is now excellent value, and JM is on the wrong one. JV is sure to stay, and ran an ok race at epson.. Id say itll be a true run race and its sure to suit JV 5.1 on betfair..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Regardless of who you are that was some waste of 150'000 grand.. few boys on here lost a few bob there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

As the guy in the Tribune said yesterday :
    What was once a mid-season highlight is now a glorified gallop for Ballydoyle
    The Irish Derby is a complete yawnfest the last few years.

http://www.tribune.ie/sport/racing/article/2010/jun/27/no-stars-no-wars-just-the-irish-derby/

• Moderators Posts: 8,832 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Regardless of who you are that was some waste of 150'000 grand.. few boys on here lost a few bob there...

Ah sure what can you do, Still a creditable run, Just couldn't handle being turned out so soon I'd say. Hopefully he'll go well in the Ledger. 12/1 looks a decent price at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭Morgans

Aidric wrote: »
    As the guy in the Tribune said yesterday : The Irish Derby is a complete yawnfest the last few years.

http://www.tribune.ie/sport/racing/article/2010/jun/27/no-stars-no-wars-just-the-irish-derby/

Think this completely misses the mark. Not even near to something that might be a problem. O'Brien happens to have a lot of good three year olds, and even now more so than ever. The fact that the pecking order is often up in the air by the time the Irish Derby comes along doesnt mean anything. Did the fact that he was 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th in last year's Derby take away from the performance of the horses involved.

One of the main reasons why there are now and there will be fewer clashes between english and french derby winners at the Curragh was the fact that the French Derby has changed to a 10f race, allowing glorifiied milers like Shamardal to win the race that they wouldnt have thought on the agenda until the distance change.

The fact that this year winner ran down the field in the French Derby is neither here nor there, he beat the Epsom Derby winner convincingly before that and is clearly a high class animal. Add in the favourite at Epsom and you have a decent race, the fact that they came from the same stable isnt ideal but hardly affected the race or the perforamnce of the animals. Definitely not a group 3 ballydoyle gallop.

Aidan O'Brien has won the last five, with three of them proving themselves to be proper group 1 horses Dylan Thomas, Soldier of Fortune and Fame and Glory. Who knows what will happen now the Cape Blanco has reestablished himself.

Just a journalist looking for congratulations by being first to claim the Emperor has no clothes, but on the Irish Derby, he misses the point completely. there hasnt been an English winner of the race for 17 years. It says more about the state of their racing than it does about Irish racing and the dominance of Ballydoyle.