Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

i registered on public jobs.ie what next ?

• 23-06-2010 12:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭

hey guys .
    i have registered on publicjobs.ie and done the bit where u apply for garda and garda reserve what happenes .Do i wait for email or something ? or is there more applying to do ?

bk1991

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

bk1991 wrote: »
    hey guys .
    i have registered on publicjobs.ie and done the bit where u apply for garda and garda reserve what happenes .Do i wait for email or something ? or is there more applying to do ?

bk1991

set a job alert up for the gardai as u can not apply as of yet and just wait for an email from them about the recruitment drive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭thelongwait

da__flash wrote: »
    set a job alert up for the gardai as u can not apply as of yet and just wait for an email from them about the recruitment drive

thats pretty much it. once you register with publicjobs, you then register your interest in the job by setting a job alert for the guards and then wait for an email. this will contain a phone no. to call to book an aptitude test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭bk1991

thats pretty much it. once you register with publicjobs, you then register your interest in the job by setting a job alert for the guards and then wait for an email. this will contain a phone no. to call to book an aptitude test.

i have set job alert .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭podsieboy

just wait now for the email to ask you to apply. all you have done is shown interest in the job..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

podsieboy wrote: »
    just wait now for the email to ask you to apply. all you have done is shown interest in the job..

get used to that word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 hurler_87

I know it has been years ago at this stage, but can anyone shine any light on like the time of the day they send out the emails - just curious cos in work from early morning to evening and wouldnt like to miss it completely...

it was mid day as i remember it. the way it used to work was your publicjobs acc was linked to your mobile no. so you got a text as soon as you got a message, you have a few days then to reply so you couldnt really miss anything. i'm sure its still the same.

ya it was around midday, if you can keep checking it regularly and ring straight away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 hurler_87

sound lads - computer in work is blocked from the internet - so would hate to think that I missed a chance just cos I couldnt get to my email...

shurely u have some time from email sent ?

as far as i remember you have a few days to ring the no they email to you. but i would advise you to call it as soon as you get it because they give you a choice as to when you want to the aptitude test. eg they'll say there on monday to friday, morning and evening, and you pick what ever time suits you. the later you leave it to call the more chance there is of them just giving you a time and no choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

is this not happining till september?
    half the country will apply i duno how there gona sort out the huge list of applications

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

sc86 wrote: »
    is this not happining till september?
    half the country will apply i duno how there gona sort out the huge list of applications

Could happen any day now,
    I heard July it will be up and running. You'll be suprised at how quickly everything happens......and then the wait comes....ie background checks.
    Just make sure your prepared for it all. Dont take any cances.
    Quicker you respond to them the quicker you'll get aptitide and higher batch you'll be in

itsallgood wrote: »
    Could happen any day now,
    I heard July it will be up and running. You'll be suprised at how quickly everything happens......and then the wait comes....ie background checks.
    Just make sure your prepared for it all. Dont take any cances.
    Quicker you respond to them the quicker you'll get aptitide and higher batch you'll be in

ah i know mate, this is my 2nd attempt, messed up stage 2 last time unfortunatly:(
    the apptitute test is tough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Hugo13

alrite lads,

just a quick question re publicjobs registration. I have an account and a job alert set up for a while, prior to the announcement of the new recruitment drive. Is this definitely sufficient despite having registered before the recent announcement, or does a new job alert have to be set up or anything??

thanks in advance:)

Hugo13 wrote: »
    alrite lads,

just a quick question re publicjobs registration. I have an account and a job alert set up for a while, prior to the announcement of the new recruitment drive. Is this definitely sufficient despite having registered before the recent announcement, or does a new job alert have to be set up or anything??

thanks in advance:)

i think if you check your account now and you have the job alert set up it shoud still work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Hugo13

thanks shakin

any more news on a date?

sc86 wrote: »
    any more news on a date?

no not yet ? is it the end of july ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Has the recruitment opened yet?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    Has the recruitment opened yet?

What does it say on www.publicjobs.ie? That's where we get our info from!

psni wrote: »
    What does it say on www.publicjobs.ie? That's where we get our info from!

i'll check..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Hi folks.

I registered on publicjobs quite some time ago (2 years ago but I couldn't make the aptitude test for the last drive due to unforseen circumstances) and set a job alert for the Gardaí. I check my e-mail every day and haven't received any notification of the upcoming drive. I've also been chekcing that my alert is still active, whiich it is, so that's not the problem.

I went on to publicjobs.ie and the Garda Trainee 2010 seems to be gone from their featured jobs, and a search only turns up Garda Reserve.

Have I missed something here? Have they stopped taking declarations of interest on publicjobs, or have they started the drive and I've missed the boat again?

Thanks guys, any help is much appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

Pedro K wrote: »
    Hi folks.

I registered on publicjobs quite some time ago (2 years ago but I couldn't make the aptitude test for the last drive due to unforseen circumstances) and set a job alert for the Gardaí. I check my e-mail every day and haven't received any notification of the upcoming drive. I've also been chekcing that my alert is still active, whiich it is, so that's not the problem.

I went on to publicjobs.ie and the Garda Trainee 2010 seems to be gone from their featured jobs, and a search only turns up Garda Reserve.

Have I missed something here? Have they stopped taking declarations of interest on publicjobs, or have they started the drive and I've missed the boat again?

Thanks guys, any help is much appreciated.

Hi Pedro K,
    No you haven't missed anything, no campaign started yet. The notice has been moved from that section of the public jobs website, and some people are starting to think that maybe thats a sign of something about to happenbut then again, everything is speculation at this stage. Once you have registered with public jobs, it's just a game of sitting back and waiting (yes, more waiting!! )for that famous email! ;)

Hi Pedro K,
    No you haven't missed anything, no campaign started yet. The notice has been moved from that section of the public jobs website, and some people are starting to think that maybe thats a sign of something about to happenbut then again, everything is speculation at this stage. Once you have registered with public jobs, it's just a game of sitting back and waiting (yes, more waiting!! )for that famous email! ;)

Thanks for that StreetAngel. Much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Pedro K wrote: »
    Thanks for that StreetAngel. Much appreciated.

Did you re-register with them about 6 onths ago. I've had my interest registered for about a year and a half now. I received an email about 6 months ago to re-register my interest as they were changing around the website or something like. Just to let you know about that in case you didn't re-register.

Don't worry though , they haven't started anything yet though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭i.need.a.job

and what happens at the aptitude test. sorry if this is a dumb question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭shampon

There's no dumb questions....

Stage1 is made up of 3tests
    1) Skills Experience - Question about the kind of person you are.

2) Analytical Reasoning - your given a sequence of shapes and you must say whats next.

3) Job Simulation Exercise - Your given a situation you might encounter as a garda and you most decide what your course of action is.

All 3 sections are multiple choice, sounds easy -its NOT. i can only advise you to be prepared. there'll be alot more people than usual doing it.

Use google to find some courses and check them out.

shampon wrote: »
    There's no dumb questions....

just dump people!!!:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

hey fellow boardies. got a question regarding the reserves. my local radio station are advertising the reserve recruitment interviews now. they gave out a number to ring for an appointment, does any1 know what they ask you when you ring them? dumb question i know, but i don't want to sound like an idiot and have to ring back or something, and yes i am a little shy on the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

bmw535d wrote: »
    hey fellow boardies. got a question regarding the reserves. my local radio station are advertising the reserve recruitment interviews now. they gave out a number to ring for an appointment, does any1 know what they ask you when you ring them? dumb question i know, but i don't want to sound like an idiot and have to ring back or something, and yes i am a little shy on the phone.

hey, don't be shy. Come on away over to the Garda Reserve forum :)here

Rothmans wrote: »
    Did you re-register with them about 6 onths ago. I've had my interest registered for about a year and a half now. I received an email about 6 months ago to re-register my interest as they were changing around the website or something like. Just to let you know about that in case you didn't re-register.

Don't worry though , they haven't started anything yet though.
    Did indeed Romans. Got that e-mail quite a while ago and immediately re-registered and set up my alert again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Pastey

Hi Lads, I've been following these Threads for a few months now. Just wanted to say hi. I've been checking my e-mails a few times every day waiting for the green flag to book the aptitude test, I'm so afraid of missing the e-mail with the number. I was going to join years ago but decided to leave it for a bit. Then the feckin moratorium was imposed :rolleyes:

Anyway, look forward to hearing about everyones experiences once they get the ball rolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

Hey guys, just went to publicjobs.ie and searched for "Garda" and the only thing that came up was "Garda Reserve (Voluntary)", do I register there? is that the one that I should register to?

CyberGhost wrote: »
    Hey guys, just went to publicjobs.ie and searched for "Garda" and the only thing that came up was "Garda Reserve (Voluntary)", do I register there? is that the one that I should register to?

Once registered, log in....
    Click on my Job alerts on the left hand side,
    Then under the heading Create/Edit Job Alert...job category, drop down menu, choose-security/emergency services....click select under drop down menu
    Job- sub category choose..... Garda

then add alert.

It is still there, you wont find it under job search as its not applicable at the moment

Thanks for the help guys, just added it :)

Do you think joining the Garda reserve would help with the application later on? I'll probably join it anyway, cause I'm interested in what the Garda job is like in general.

CyberGhost wrote: »
    Thanks for the help guys, just added it :)

Do you think joining the Garda reserve would help with the application later on? I'll probably join it anyway, cause I'm interested in what the Garda job is like in general.

You will get some experience from the reseves, but the only time it will help you get into the gardai is if you bring it up in your interview.
    You wont the jump over anyone else and will have to go through the same process...
    Join if you want to join for right reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭awman

Has anyone heard yet?

No sir, nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Pauric.Mc

Hey bmw535d, just wondering do you have that number to ring for the appointment for the garda reserves?