Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quotation Spec

• 21-06-2010 7:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭

Hi Lads,

I'm trying to build up a decent quotation spec to get a few quotes. Making a list of what to request. Just wondering if ye could have a look and see if I'm leaving anything out.
    • Sockets
    • Telephone Ducting
    • TV Points
    • ESB Connection
    • ESB Connection Ducting
    • Phone/Network Points
    • Driveway
    • Alarm
    • Landscaping
    • Inside Lights
    • Lamps
    • Outside Lights
    • Footpaths
    • Patio
    • Windows
    • Biocycle Unit
    • Doors
    • Flooring
    • Tiling
    • Builders Attendance for floors
    • Water connection
    • Fascia and Soffit
    • Painting
    • Coving / Cornicing
    • Builders attendance for Kitchen
    • Natural Slate
    • Fireplace
    • Stove
    • Wall Insulation
    • Grant condesnsing boiler
    • Radiators
    • Zoned heating
    • Sink
    • Bath
    • Shower
    • Toilet
    • Outside Taps
    • Outside Sockets
    • Utility Sink
    • Utility plumbing
    • Day works rate for changes
    • Additional Light
    • Additional Sockets
    • Skirting Board
    • Arcatrave
    • Hotpress Shelving
    • Burglar Alarm
    • Linked Fire Alarms
    • Solar Panels
    • Thermal Bridging
    • Air Tightness
    • Floor Insulation
    • Garage Doors
    • Stairs

Sorry for the lack of order to it.

//Gary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Mike2006

Gary,

I spent about a month putting together a detailed specification for a builder to price from.
    I sent it off with copies of the plans to 6 reputable builders and not even one of them returned the quotation with the detail I wanted.

I eventually decided to go direct labour because I did not have any faith in getting the detail that I was looking for by going with a builder.

Anyway, maybe a little off topic..
    If you want a copy of the spec that I made up, PM me your email address and I will mail you a copy of it.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭randombar

Nice one Mike, sent you on the PM there.

With the direct labour I'm not sure if I'd have faith in myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

I would order your list, its just too confusing as it stands. One thing is air tightness, are you including HRV in your spec as well ?

For my own build the advice I got was to split the quotations Construction, electrical, plumbing and windows and source them seperately. I`m guessing the main reason for it is to reduce costs, as a builders go to plumber/electrician maybe more expensive than shopping around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭randombar

imitation wrote: »
    I would order your list, its just too confusing as it stands. One thing is air tightness, are you including HRV in your spec as well ?

For my own build the advice I got was to split the quotations Construction, electrical, plumbing and windows and source them seperately. I`m guessing the main reason for it is to reduce costs, as a builders go to plumber/electrician maybe more expensive than shopping around.

You're kinda going down the line of direct labour then really??

Ya hearing a lot about the HRVs, dont know much about them myself, are they expensive? Worth while??

GaryCocs wrote: »
    You're kinda going down the line of direct labour then really??

Ya hearing a lot about the HRVs, dont know much about them myself, are they expensive? Worth while??

Your not as such, once you have picked your plumber/electrician/windows they`ll work with the builder, you shouldn`t have to coordinate things yourself. I would make that clear to your builder though. Even with an all in package your going to have to get stuck in yourself too at certain points to make choices etc.

Installing a HRV in a 2500 sqr foot house will come in around 5-7k, the payback in terms of heating is like 10+ years (If I remember fuzzily). The cost may come down as they become more mainstream for future building regs.

If your going for an air tight home it looks like the smart choice on paper (I`ll tell you in a few years if it works out that way :D), as you`ll always have a ventilation requirement to prevent dampness and stuffiness. The only other way to meet that is to have wall/window vents which let the heat straight out. There should also be an improvement in air quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭rayjdav

This is a question that appears quite a lot on boards.

Just wondering if there was a way that, if possible, boards could compile a standard template, say in excel format, and leave it in Price/cost forum? Is this already done in this forum somewhere?

It would have to be accessible to edit, ie for each individual to add/subtract items as they see fit for their unique project.

Obviously, the list would have to be non exhaustive and no liability would rest with boards.ie or any person who prepared such a list.

Throw it open to discuss and if anyone has a ready prepared template that they might like to offer to start? Maybe if 2No. Mods ratified the original template and left it for users to download as they require?

Once again, boards.ie would take on no liability for anyone who wishes to use such a template? Is their legal issues with this?

• Subscribers Posts: 42,172 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

rayjdav wrote: »
    This is a question that appears quite a lot on boards.

Just wondering if there was a way that, if possible, boards could compile a standard template, say in excel format, and leave it in Price/cost forum? Is this already done in this forum somewhere?

It would have to be accessible to edit, ie for each individual to add/subtract items as they see fit for their unique project.

Obviously, the list would have to be non exhaustive and no liability would rest with boards.ie or any person who prepared such a list.

Throw it open to discuss and if anyone has a ready prepared template that they might like to offer to start? Maybe if 2No. Mods ratified the original template and left it for users to download as they require?

Once again, boards.ie would take on no liability for anyone who wishes to use such a template? Is their legal issues with this?

I think a more pertinent question is whether boards.ie should be proving a service for which there is monetary value to existing boards.ie members. Especially in the current climate. Compiling bills of quantities is a service offered by qualified professionals. Im sure they would not like to find that a similar service is being offered for free from a website.

I think it would be too far outside of an advisory role which most members use boards.ie for.

But others may have a different opinion.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭rayjdav

Syd,

I didnt think of it that way :o

Last thing I want to do is take what little work there is out there from those lucky enough to be still working ;)

I did not see it as a detailed BoQ in any way shape or form. I was thinking of more just a linear list, from ground works up... If it takes work from fellow boardies, I'll retract the suggestion :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 574 ✭✭✭bdoo

I have to agree with mike2006 re the spec and builders.

I spent an age doing up a spec and was sure of what i wanted down to doors and handles - not a single builder quoted for what I wanted exactly.

Oh that's a waste of money, sure why would you want to do that? was the best line ( Its insulation ffs why wouldnt I want it)

Very frustrating, surely to jaysus it shouldn't matter what the cost is if all builders are quoting for the same spec, I got the feeling that what they wanted was to get the job and then stitch you for extras - one prick of a builder actually told me we had too many sockets and suggested that if we needed more we could use extension leads.

Some way to get business!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭JuniorB

Lads, Jollyman has a decent spreadsheet on costs etc on his very informative blog...
    http://selfbuildardmore.blogspot.com/

sydthebeat wrote: »
    I think a more pertinent question is whether boards.ie should be proving a service for which there is monetary value to existing boards.ie members. Especially in the current climate. Compiling bills of quantities is a service offered by qualified professionals. Im sure they would not like to find that a similar service is being offered for free from a website.

I think it would be too far outside of an advisory role which most members use boards.ie for.

But others may have a different opinion.... :)

I thought the request was for more of a guidline tender spec as opposed to a boq, which would be a fair enough idea in my books. Anybody can do a nicely formatted word document these days, its the advice given to build up that spec that a good architect would provide. If a professional feels that an advice post on a forum matches or bests there work then surely they should up there game ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭sinnerboy

imitation wrote: »
    I thought the request was for more of a guidline tender spec as opposed to a boq, which would be a fair enough idea in my books. Anybody can do a nicely formatted word document these days, its the advice given to build up that spec that a good architect would provide. If a professional feels that an advice post on a forum matches or bests there work then surely they should up there game ?

Well anyone who believes that a spec can be pinched off the net really is not in a position to recognize a good spec when they see it - and more to the point see it implemented on site . A bit like giving keys to a car to someone who can't drive . There are no short cuts to acquiring expertise - other than to pay for it .