Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Had to do a bit of work for this one.

• 20-06-2010 10:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭

Went out this evening with my buddy to try the silage fields as you wouldn't know what would be lurking about. Pulled in at a gateway to have a look accross at some freshly cut fields. The fields were actually over a mile away accross a valley. but we had a good view of them from where we were as the view from the gate of the field was no good as it was uphill and there were ditches in the way.
    There seemed to be a good smattering of crows about but then I saw an extra big shape moving in the field so I scoped it. Sure enough it was Charlie.
    We had two choices we could drive around to the gate of the field or we could walk it keeping the fox in view all the time. So off we set on foot through a beet field, then through barley field, finally a hay field, then crossed a stream and then into the cut silage field.
    We were down the bottom of the silage field which had a lot of dips and hollows and dead ground we had lost site of the fox when we crossed the stream, but we could here a lot of cackling from a pheasant up in the top right hand corner of the field, so the fox was up to no good.
    The plan was to stay in cover at the bottom of the field and call the fox down to us, but it was risky as there were a lot of dips, hollows and dead ground and he could appear from anywhere. I tried the wam caller but there was no sign of the fox. We decided to push forward to a little hump where we would have a better view. I scoped the top corner of the field and the fox was walking away from us over 200m away. I tried the wam again but he wasn't interested. So I tried squealing with the back of my hand. Sure enough he turned I got down behind the rifle and kept calling.
    The only indication I had the fox was still coming was from some pigeons which took off out of the field. Sure enough his head appeared and he stopped looking at us, quick adjustment on the bipod and we both took aim. My buddy whispered 'both fire on 3', I counted down 'one, two, three' both rifles fired at once and the fox fell in a heap. One round in the head the other in the chest. I paced it out and he was at about 60m. One dead dog fox and one safe pheasant. That makes 15 foxes for us so far this year.

20062010689.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

20062010689.jpg

With a face like that only a Mother could love ya. ;)

Good shooting and worth the stalk to get that fox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Good post mate, that fox didnt have a chance:D Firing at the same time and so on. What firearm ya have? Looks like a rimfire. No bother for it at 60 meters though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Went out this evening with my buddy to try the silage fields as you wouldn't know what would be lurking about. Pulled in at a gateway to have a look accross at some freshly cut fields. The fields were actually over a mile away accross a valley. but we had a good view of them from where we were as the view from the gate of the field was no good as it was uphill and there were ditches in the way.
    There seemed to be a good smattering of crows about but then I saw an extra big shape moving in the field so I scoped it. Sure enough it was Charlie.
    We had two choices we could drive around to the gate of the field or we could walk it keeping the fox in view all the time. So off we set on foot through a beet field, then through barley field, finally a hay field, then crossed a stream and then into the cut silage field.
    We were down the bottom of the silage field which had a lot of dips and hollows and dead ground we had lost site of the fox when we crossed the stream, but we could here a lot of cackling from a pheasant up in the top right hand corner of the field, so the fox was up to no good.
    The plan was to stay in cover at the bottom of the field and call the fox down to us, but it was risky as there were a lot of dips, hollows and dead ground and he could appear from anywhere. I tried the wam caller but there was no sign of the fox. We decided to push forward to a little hump where we would have a better view. I scoped the top corner of the field and the fox was walking away from us over 200m away. I tried the wam again but he wasn't interested. So I tried squealing with the back of my hand. Sure enough he turned I got down behind the rifle and kept calling.
    The only indication I had the fox was still coming was from some pigeons which took off out of the field. Sure enough his head appeared and he stopped looking at us, quick adjustment on the bipod and we both took aim. My buddy whispered 'both fire on 3', I counted down 'one, two, three' both rifles fired at once and the fox fell in a heap. One round in the head the other in the chest. I paced it out and he was at about 60m. One dead dog fox and one safe pheasant. That makes 15 foxes for us so far this year.

20062010689.jpg

Make sure the PA's/MP's don't see ya wearing that shirt :D:D:D:D

Good shooting though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

clivej wrote: »
    With a face like that only a Mother could love ya. ;)

Good shooting and worth the stalk to get that fox.

Thanks Clive its debilitating handicap, but it could be worse.
    kay 9 wrote: »
    Good post mate, that fox didnt have a chance:D Firing at the same time and so on. What firearm ya have? Looks like a rimfire. No bother for it at 60 meters though.

It was a bit like being in a firing squad the rifle is a .22wmr Marlin 25mn.
    Make sure the PA's/MP's don't see ya wearing that shirt :D:D:D:D

Good shooting though.

I'm sure that the PA's/MP's are having a heart attack looking at that photo.... threat to state security and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

I'm sure that the PA's/MP's are having a heart attack looking at that photo.... threat to state security and all.
    Actually, there have been some words from the DF to the airsoft community in the past regarding the wearing of DF DPM kit when not on duty (not to mention alleged sales of same). The DF were categorically not amused and didn't take it lightly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭ghostmantra

do the df have a patented on that design if they do its a f==ked up little country as you can bye GB US German and other off ebay :mad:

Sparks wrote: »
    Actually, there have been some words from the DF to the airsoft community in the past regarding the wearing of DF DPM kit when not on duty (not to mention alleged sales of same). The DF were categorically not amused and didn't take it lightly...
    do the df have a patented on that design if they do its a f==ked up little country as you can bye GB US German and other off ebay :mad:

Yer not still going on about the shirt are ye?:rolleyes:

It's more to do with the fact that it is Property of the DF, and you could be mistaken for a member of the DF, which is a crime impersionating a govt official of any kind.

Not to say many do not have the gear, but it is a high value item, full uniform €600 AFAIK

A lot of light fingered lads like to try and sell it.

OP yuo should have blurred out the face as well as the shirt, or just not wear it!

You can actually be arrested for wearing it if someone was being awkward.

Struff sold on the net from other countries is usually non current uniform and sold off as surplus et al

OP yuo should have blurred out the face as well as the shirt, or just not wear it!

Go on admit it Tack you just want to see a photo of me topless!:D

Yeah baby yeah!:D

I have a similar pic I can never post as it was taken many many years ago before I had any incling of joining up.

It was even before Dig it Al cameras :D

Since then i would have NO interest in wearing DF DPM as I would kland myself in a world of sh*t if anyone recognised me.

I had to sit through a military law lecture listening to actions carried out on finding some one in the possesion of......

I can still hear yer man guiving out about a guy seen on the news wearing a smock on RTE while feeding cattle.

I had to sit through a military law lecture listening to actions carried out on finding some one in the possesion of......

'actions carried out' eh.......... cavity search!;)

And then I had to a written exam :D:D:D

I have a wardrobe full of them, I wear Tesco Camo, cheapas chips and nobody can say anything to you.

Every little helps ;)