Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

greene with envy

• 20-06-2010 10:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭

ok guys after putting the new stock on to my cz527 action(.223)... i decided that i was going to get it bedded and recrowned.... after careful consideration..... i decided to leave it in with Mr.Greene..... best decision i ever made.... put a target up today at 200yds..... i used 75 grain match rounds from hornady....
    I had done nothing to the rifle after getting it back from john.... and after zeroing it in , it was time to take the money shots.....
    for me it was a new scope..... and new stock.... so hopefully in time i should be able to pull them in tighter....
    and tack before you start..... i know Mr. White is out there....( this thread is about my rifle and the work John done to it):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

Seen this myself today and as Andy said it not only looks great but it shoots GREAT aswell :D.Fair play to John Greene for the work carried out and best of luck Andy with your new setup;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭clivej

Well done Andy - it took you a while to get it all together and now the proof is in the results, that is good shooting.
    And get a photo of the new rifle and scope up will ya?

attachment.php?attachmentid=117566&d=1277071712

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭andyone

thanks.... will do.... make sure you pay perticular attention to the mounts.... you just might recognise them(thanks again) oh and thanks for getting the picture up there... i'll have to learn how to do that before tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Nice shootin Andy, what twist is that baby rifled in usin 75 grain. I suspect 1:8 or 1:9?

kay 9 wrote: »
    Nice shootin Andy, what twist is that baby rifled in usin 75 grain. I suspect 1:8 or 1:9?
    tis a 1:9 my friend....

andyone wrote: »
    tis a 1:9 my friend....
    Nice one, did ya try her with the lighter 40-45 grain stuff yet?

no not yet.....the 75's were all greene had behind the counter... do you think i could improve with the lighter bullet

There is 69 grain sierra matchkings available and are supposed to be the dogs. In a 1:9 twist the general perception is that the heavier loads will shoot better, but I'd give them all a go regardless. Few the lads here have 1:8 twist tikkas and they say they shoot the 40 grain and up no problem:) Every rifle is different though, even in the same make and production lines, they all prefer different brands and grain weights. I have a remmy 700 and it shoots most makes up to 55 grain pretty well and is consistent enough for me. It's only 1:12 twist though.

ya i'll have to try and get my hands on a box or two of them..... with time i hope to close that group in a bit....

That's already pretty good grouping, but I'm sure you will shear a bit more of it with time. Do you mind me askin ya what he charged for the recrown? At the moment I cant get groups quite as good as that. Keepin my eye out for a new stock at the moment and a recrown would definitely add a tad more accuracy to mine aswell. Tis all feckin yo yos though. Hope to have it done before foxing the back end of year all going well.

oh i would highly recommend a re-crown to anybody.....

as john also bedded in my action...... his price was all inclusive....
    give the man a ring,John Greene 0863554425.....(surely the yo-yo's will allow a phone call)

i found the sky was the limit with john...... if you had the imagination... he had the expertise to match it..... and after that its all down to yo-yo's as you say, and time, cause the man is busy(for a reason)..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Andy my old 527 loved the 40`s and the 55`s vmax..The 40`s were a tad tighter than the 55`s
    I reckon with the 40 gainer you will get that 200 yd group under an inch

will have to try them dwight..... for the moment though here are some pics of the little lady that yourself and clive have been asking for.... still haven't found out how to directly put up the pic's Clive, maybe you'll do the honours

dwighet wrote: »
    Andy my old 527 loved the 40`s and the 55`s vmax..The 40`s were a tad tighter than the 55`s
    I reckon with the 40 gainer you will get that 200 yd group under an inch
    you know were i was shooting.... if the rifle was benched.... it would have come in under the inch easy.....

will have to try them dwight..... for the moment though here are some pics of the little lady that yourself and clive have been asking for.... still haven't found out how to directly put up the pic's Clive, maybe you'll do the honours

here you go mate..
    [IMG][/img]P5210216.jpg
    P5210212.jpg
    P5210205.jpg
    P5210210.jpg

you know were i was shooting.... if the rifle was benched.... it would have come in under the inch easy.....

Thats my excuse...get your own:p

ah thanks for that buddy...... you just can't beat the blue sky's...... me thinks its millar time...;)

Im on my way..

Thats my excuse...get your own:p
    excuses aside... when are you gonna take her out for a test drive....
    :cool: oh the barbie is going to get fired up with in the hour.....

This weekend sounds good..

Dwighet don't forget to call in for the auld LAD on your way, sure your passing the door.

clivej wrote: »
    Dwighet don't forget to call in for the auld LAD on your way, sure your passing the door.
    feck him...
    He never shuts up....

Andy put those photo's away I just drooled all over my keyboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

clivej wrote: »
    Andy put those photo's away I just drooled all over my keyboard.

Once that's all that you did on your keyboard Clive :D:D:D Joking !!

Lovely rig Andy. Timber looks really well.

Well you may wear ;)

thanks gentlemen......the rifle is at its best... all i got to do now is upgrade the guy who pulls the trigger:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭foxer 204

thanks gentlemen......the rifle is at its best... all i got to do now is upgrade the guy who pulls the trigger:):)

really nice rifle ! saw one similar last week in stakelums in thurles
    it took every thing i had to leave it there cause money is tight