Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taking the piss.. >:[

• 20-06-2010 11:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭

First post :D

Anyways, I was recently at a gig with my boyfriend and as everyone knows when your up at the front of a crowd people push in and out. Well some Polish couple started shouting abuse at the two of us just because people were pushing and then started spitting at my boyfriend. Like we're both 16 and this c*** was in his late 20's :mad: So he should have some common sense like?!

The guards seen it, I ended up going over to them after cause my bf was basically shaking with fear and they basically told us to move on.. So we missed around an hour of the gig thanks to them.

My blood's been boiling since it happened and I'm also really pissed off at the lack of work by the guards. Glad to see part of my wages going into paying for them useless slobs. :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Any reason why this is in the LGBT forum?
    From what you say it appears they thought ye were doing all the pushing an shoving etc
    Im not excusing what they did, spitting at someone is a disgusting thing to do.
    What did you want the guards to do by they way, I think they handled it pretty well given the surroundings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭l5lr

kippy wrote: »
    Any reason why this is in the LGBT forum?
    From what you say it appears they thought ye were doing all the pushing an shoving etc
    Im not excusing what they did, spitting at someone is a disgusting thing to do.
    What did you want the guards to do by they way, I think they handled it pretty well given the surroundings.

Well the fact we're a gay couple, I thought this was the best forum for it?!

The polish peoples knew it was other people.. they were complaining to us that we weren't doing enough to stop them pushing, and then decided to bring our sexuality into the equation.

The guards basically told us to move to the back, I don't think they did anything else.
    So basically it's like it's okay for someone in their late 20's to spit at gay teens? Like I woulda expected them to do something about it.

l5lr wrote: »
    Well the fact we're a gay couple, I thought this was the best forum for it?!

The polish peoples knew it was other people.. they were complaining to us that we weren't doing enough to stop them pushing, and then decided to bring our sexuality into the equation.

The guards basically told us to move to the back, I don't think they did anything else.
    So basically it's like it's okay for someone in their late 20's to spit at gay teens? Like I woulda expected them to do something about it.

Was the "attack" related to your sexuality? Or was it more related to a lot of pushing and shoving that was taking place?
    They broke up a pretty divisive situation. Did you want them to arrest the other people involved?
    To be honest what I am saying here is a guy playing the homophopic/bullying card then just afterwards in his post playing the "polish are all cnuts and I dont want to be paying for them" card.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭l5lr

I was talking about the guards, like I'm paying what 20 odd % of my wages to be told to move on when someone decides to spit at me and my boyfriend?!

Well I'm pretty sure it was aimed at our sexuality.. Like saying f****** gays and then spitting seems to me like it was aimed at our sexuality anyways..

No, I didn't.. But like we got really early just so we could get up close, the others got there lateish and pushed their way through, but we were made move to the back were we can hardly see anything. Why weren't they moved?!

l5lr wrote: »
    I was talking about the guards, like I'm paying what 20 odd % of my wages to be told to move on when someone decides to spit at me and my boyfriend?!

Well I'm pretty sure it was aimed at our sexuality.. Like saying f****** gays and then spitting seems to me like it was aimed at our sexuality anyways..

No, I didn't.. But like we got really early just so we could get up close, the others got there lateish and pushed their way through, but we were made move to the back were we can hardly see anything. Why weren't they moved?!
    Apologies, I picked you up wrong.

I amn't condoning the spitting or perceived inaction of the guards but pushing and shoving goes on at most big gigs near the front and it can be a flashpoint.
    Perhaps the guards were unaware of what happened you in particular with the spitting incident and if they didnt I can see why they didnt want to get involved with people "pushing and shoving" at the front of the stage. There'd be a lot of arrests/garda time spent otherwise.

Either way I am not sure how posting here will help make the issue better - perhaps you report the issue to a garda station and voice your unhappiness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

I get it.
    I went to a gig in the RDS
    Got a serious punch in the face, the guy acted like it was an accident, but i caught his eye beforehand and I know perfectly well what was meant by it.
    The guards can spot a hot blonde who may need pulling out of the pit at 50m, why don't they see something like that?

Its the only genuine homophobia I've encountered, and like your boyfriend it left me shaking, half with anger half fear.

Sounds like someone just needs a hug though!
    Forums don't do hugs unfortunately..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Forums don't do hugs unfortunately..
    That's what you think!

*eHuggles OP and Wonderfulname.*

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    That's what you think!

*eHuggles OP and Wonderfulname.*

:D yey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

I'v been to a lot of gigs/festivals, and unfortunately stuff like this goes on, but the best thing to do is just move away from people like this if your unlucky enough to be standing next to them. I know it's not really fair, but it's just not worth the hassle to stand your ground. The security won't give a **** unfortunately (unless you get seriously assaulted), and there's not a hope they will throw people out because of a bit of pushing/shoving or name-calling........
    Sad fact of gig-going, but that's the way it is I'm afraid!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 sebman

Sorry to hear what happened to you both. Especially that I'm a Pole living here for many years, so any nasty beaviour of my compatriots in Ireland is pissing me of like nothing else. As for the security guys, that was quite predictable. They were simply ashamed to act. It's so much easier to pretend nothing's happened, isn't it? Stand up for your rights becuase you deserve a respect like everyone else. And don't assume that the world is just by default. Instead, practice avoiding being a victim. What helped me becoming more assetive and stay out of trouble was Wayne Dyer's book titled "Pull Your Own Strings", a red paperback. Really works.
    Good luck!

sebman wrote: »
    Sorry to hear what happened to you both. Especially that I'm a Pole living here for many years, so any nasty beaviour of my compatriots in Ireland is pissing me of like nothing else.
    I find people are people no matter where they're from, and the mix of beliefs is pretty constant across much of Europe, I've befriended more Poles than I've had trouble with and I find media representation focuses too much the wrong way. Then again it does with everyone, imagine living in a box with the news being your only impression of the world..