Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you consider Young

• 20-06-2010 1:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭

Kinda springs out of two things really,the first beig on facebook,with lots of fears and complaints about turing 19,being the last teenage year and the other being when I was talking to my mam the other day about how when the Israelis attacked the aid ship,one of the fellas that was beaten and then shot was 19.I found it bloody shocking because he was only 19!.

Now I'm 18 and my mum's 54 and she thinks anyone under 30 is young((Although her first answer was 54 :p)).She said she thinks people should have a bit of cop on once their 18 alright,But still referred to 18 as being a baby:pac:.She also said though she thinks 24 is still quite young too,although you should be able to handle situations and stuff to a certain extent when your 21+.

For instance its more acceptable for teenagers/Young 20's to be drinking outside((excluding camping and such))yet a 40 year old wouldn't.Same with the way you act and stuff,For instance subcultures and styles and all that.Some of my friends are mad for dyeing their hair,and we always talk about things like this,saying 24((at least for a fella)) is kinda too old to be dyeing his hair.Like you can accept a teen more wearing skinny jeans and having funky hair,yet again,if a full adult did it,well it'd just be odd.Its like when you see middle aged woman wearing clothes that are...well you get what I mean.

When I was 13-14 I can remember thinking 18 was ancient,but now being this age I still get treated by people in shops and stuff as if I were still a kid((I look the average age for my age too btw :P)).Now I'm not complaining about it,just adding it to the point.

So yeah,What age would you view someone as young?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I think it depends on how old you are,and what the situation is. I'd consider myself still young in the grand scheme of things. Yet if i ever used my bebo anymore,for example,i'd consider myself ancient on it..

But i suppose i'd think of anyone in their early 20's and under 'young'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yeah youth is subjective. To a 70-year-old, 40 is young, but to a 16-year-old, 25 is... not old in the literal sense, but grown-up, no longer young. I know what "old" is though - elderly. Whenever I refer to middle-aged and younger as "old", I'm only doing so jokingly.
    Some ages are ambiguous - 30 for instance is not young in some senses, but is very much so in others...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭jiltloop

I think young is under 25. I'm 28 now and would consider myself alot wiser than when I was in my early 20s but having said that if I hadn't spawned a couple of kids i would probably not be as wise as I am now so I think your particular circumstances can affect your level of wisdom i.e you could probably find alot of 21 year olds that are wiser than 30 year olds because of their life experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

I'm 19 and would consider under 25 to be young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

No of course there are diffrent levels of maturity..Specially with kids((Actualy kids)).

I pointed this out to a friend of mine,and at work he began to notice it((He was working in a butchers in supervalue at the time)).He told me how he was amazed at the diffrencee with say 12 year olds alone.Some would run and say "Omg look ath those weird fish hah" while others would like "****ing Fish,I hate ****ing fish!".

Not more so young,Obviouse a 80 year old for example would see 30-40 young,but more so as in what would you find more relative to a young person.Like a 21 year old would have more in commen in general with 19 year old than they would a 28 year old.

I've noticed with friends,depending on their education year.Some friends of mine that are in collage now I would view much diffrently age wise from myself,despite the fact theres only a few weeks or days between us,beuing 17/18 when they got into it like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I would consider anybody who asks the question, "What do you consider Young?", as young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Was talking about this with a girl at work who just turned 26. She said to me she feels old, and now when she's filling out forms she wont be able to tick the 18-25 box.
    I would consider under 30 young. 30-35not really. 36-50middle age. 50-80 twilight. 80+ coffin dodgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

Football has ruined my perspective on age, I see a player that is in his very late 20's and I think he is ancient

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

A few years ago I considered anyone at 30 as old, and the by default anyone under as young. Then I ebeded up living with the coolest thirty something, scratch that, the coolest person I had ever met.
    Said fella was fit as a fiddle, had seen most of the world, was back in Ireland to finally get his degree yet was still pulling travelling adventures, fantastic women etc etc etc

And had no intention of stopping. F*ck age.

Young to me is naievity, ie some of my friends and family who could give a large ru down of celebrity gossip but would have no idea what is actually happening in the world. And if they had an opinion it would be from a fupping tabloid.

Young is brilliant up until early 20's, but fater that, you can still be an eejit for years to come but at least know how your bread and butter comes to your table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Cinful

20s and below.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

If there's grass on the field, play ball.*

*Disclaimer: not actually my saying or opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Cinful

R0ot wrote: »
    Discriminates against those who cut the grass? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Hah you reminded me of somthing I saw the other dya actually :pac:.

Walking along a street,these 13-14 year old girls are walking past in the opposite direction in short shorts.This guy foregin guy,bit of a scummer leaning against the wall just looking out then smoothly drops his gaze and follows onto the girls arses...Feckin pedo hah.He was about late 20 somthing :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

AngusYoung1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Young=illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Males/females that do the hug and jump when they meet eachother in a nightclub.

I hate those guys.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Cormac2791

Angus Young

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

What do you consider Young

for those maybe old enough to remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Dohnny Jepp

Young will always always always be my age + 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Under 18

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

My mind was blown the other day when a 15 year old asked me to buy him drink.

I'm 16.

Some kind of relevance there, I just can't find it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭TheTosh

I'm 24 and feel old, it doesn't help that my sister is 19 and going out to all the clubs I used to but I'm too old to go to now i.e Barcode

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I would consider niel young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

easier to answer what you consider old, i still think i'm young, but when i see younger realitives heading out (ones that i used to mind when their mum went out), or even bumping into them now when am out, then i feel kinda old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

The average life expectancy for a male in Ireland is 76.8 years and Female is 81.6 years. So i would say for a male you are middle aged at 25.6 years and Female at 27.2 Years. So anything under them you are young and anything over 51.2 years (Male) and 54.4 years (Female) is old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Maturity more important than age IMO. Some people can be old enough and yet come across as very 'young' while younger people can come across as a lot 'older' than they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Younger than me is young.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

What if there's no grass on the field? Do you expect us to play in the mud?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

its all to do with mentality..... whast that say about me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

What if there's no grass on the field? Do you expect us to play in the mud?

Exactly!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

i'd say anything below 29 is young or so.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Neil Young is Canadian. And Old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Below 50 and in four years time below 60.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Mick Daly

You know you're getting old when you see a 16 or 17 year old coming onto the pitch playing for a Premier League team.

It's hard to believe that fella is younger than yourself and more successfull, brainless but very, very wealthy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

anything under my current age is young and anything over is old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Anybody illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Too young to worry about whether or not you're "young."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I would consider niel young.
    As in, Neil out of The Young Ones?

your as young as you feel. bob delmontique is evidence to that

That's just disgusting.

Superbus wrote: »
    That's just disgusting.

what you prefer the sight of someone obese then the sight of someone in their mid 80s who's in that good condition? :confused:

I say fair play to him for not having this 'Time to curl up and die, im now 50' attitude that some of the irish have

what you prefer the sight of someone obese then the sight of someone in their mid 80s who's in that good condition? :confused:

I say fair play to him for not having this 'Time to curl up and die, im now 50' attitude that some of the irish have

Ah no I agree, he deserves respect, it just looks really weird.