Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Too much change.....do I go back??

• 20-06-2010 12:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭

I went into the newsagents today, there was a street festival on, so the shop was very very busy. People weren't queing and the girls on the tills were just using the closest one to them and it was all very rushed.
    I bought a can of coke and 20 quid phone credit. Gave the girl 51 euro and she gave me back 2 twenty's. Profit 10 to me.
    Soooo...... Do I go back in tomorrow and let the girl know she made a mistake??
    Or given it was so busy they were using random till so it's unlikely any one girl there would have been blamed for nicking it, should I keep it?? With the added bonus of knowing the shop owner is a legendary tight bastard, and a bit of a prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

If you want to be super honest and feel good you can. But they'll just say thanks and they'll forget about it pretty quick. I worked in retail for years, tills are always out, it's no biggy. They might get a small bollocking but wont give a crap

Edit : Of course if she's hot you should hand the tenner back with your number on it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

If the boss is tight ass, then i'd go back as the girl could get in trouble even over something so small. If you have to ask then you obviously want to. I'd try and find the girl who made the mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I went into the newsagents today, there was a street festival on, so the shop was very very busy. People weren't queing and the girls on the tills were just using the closest one to them and it was all very rushed.
    I bought a can of coke and 20 quid phone credit. Gave the girl 51 euro and she gave me back 2 twenty's. Profit 10 to me.
    Soooo...... Do I go back in tomorrow and let the girl know she made a mistake??
    Or given it was so busy they were using random till so it's unlikely any one girl there would have been blamed for nicking it, should I keep it?? With the added bonus of knowing the shop owner is a legendary tight bastard, and a bit of a prick.

I'd give it back personally. Although it's their mistake, it's not worth someone getting into trouble over it - granted they're not gonna be sacked but still might get a bollocking.

That said, I was 35c short in a shop near work today and pretended I had no more (just didnt wanna break a tenner :P ) and was let off with the comment "sure the till's way up, it's grand". Two sides to every coin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

If you want to be super honest and feel good you can. But they'll just say thanks and they'll forget about it pretty quick. I worked in retail for years, tills are always out, it's no biggy. They might get a small bollocking but wont give a crap

Edit : Of course if she's hot you should hand the tenner back with your number on it ;)

Just don't do what I did when I was handing over money to a girl and let a condom slip out of your wallet on top of all the change. Awkward.

In fact don't buy Topman wallets... ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

on behalf of everybody, id like to know firstly.."was she hot?"
    because if she was, you already know the answer to your dilemma good sir..
    imagine the brownie points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

I'd give it back, i've gone back over getting two euro more than I should have (got weirdo looks of the girl behind the counter)..but ye go on..be nice..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

From someone who did that before-i gave a customer an extra 50euro by mistake,which had to come out of my own pocket-i'd say give it back.

If however if happened the other way round,and i ended up with the extra cash, i'd say hold onto it:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Too much change.....do I go back??.

Obama is asking that same f*cking question when he tries to sleep at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

i delivered a pizza to a fella tonight who was BAKED off his face, he was going to give me a tenner just because i carried the pizza up to his door on the 2nd floor instead of just waiting for him to meet me at the entrance door of his apartment block.
    i couldnt take the money, i just told him its grand and enjoy his night.
    morally i couldnt take the tenner. financially i should have taken it. it all boils down to what you think yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

That_Guy wrote: »
    Just don't do what I did when I was handing over money to a girl and let a condom slip out of your wallet on top of all the change. Awkward.

In fact don't buy Topman wallets... ever.

Hahaha.... I will keep that advice in mind above all the others!! Brilliant!!

And to the others who asked..... she's good looking.... Not stunning, but certainly no beast.

Ah fuck it....I'll give her the tenner back. haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

The prostitute gave you too much money back, didn't she?*

*He/she.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

give it back you dirty little fecker:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

It's only ten euros. Keep it i'd say. If you do give it back it would be forgotten instantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭TheTosh

I'd give it back but I'm too honest, it would play on my conscience if I didn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

Keep it noting will happen over 10 euros

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Tilt Gone

Steodonn wrote: »
    Keep it noting will happen over 10 euros

I beg to differ...................

THESSALONIKI (Greece): Two teenage girls stabbed an elderly man to death in a village in northern Greece for the sake of 10 euros ($12), police said on Monday.

The victim, who was in his 80s, was stabbed 15 times in his stomach and heart and found in a pool of blood in his home in the village of Kerkini. The girls, aged 15 and 16 and from a nearby village, were arrested on Sunday after a neighbour of the victim saw them running away from the house.

Both teenagers confessed to the crime, police added.

The killers were believed to have entered the victim's home to look for valuable objects to steal under the pretext of wanting a glass of water. The older suspect said they found nothing of value, but threatened him with a knife then stabbed him when he started to scream for help. They took the 10 euros he had on him.—AFP