Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do married people go to nightclubs?

• 19-06-2010 04:18PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭

Following on from a discussion I think I had the other night, I am now wondering is it just me or do most people not expect married people to want to go out to nightclubs? It just seems like a strange idea to me. And thinking about why, I think it's because I'd assume if it's a regular thing you do, or like to do it's because you're there to meet someone.

So what does everyone think?

And as per usual AH rules here's a picture (although not completely relevant) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

The only couples that go clubbing are swingers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I've seen loads of married people in nightclubs, having worked in them.

Sweaty late 30's male takes off wedding band & puts it in pocket, sucks in his paunch, and lurches toward dancefloor, bottle (not pint:rolleyes:) in hand. Thinking to himself "I still got it"

Following on from a discussion I think I had the other night...

Lol, how much did you have to drink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

Yes obviously! Marriage doesn't mean you can't go out anymore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭ddef

Nevore wrote: »
    The only couples that go clubbing are swingers.

yeah, and all gays only order cocktails....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

ddef wrote: »
    yeah, and all gays only order cocktails....:rolleyes:
    That's as true as my statement, yes. Obviously forgot my sarcasm tags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Lol, how much did you have to drink?

WAY too much :p

I'm pretty sure it was a conversation, just can't remember how it went...

I didn't mean married people as in couples of married people, just one half at a time with friends.

Well there's a girl in my class in college who's married and she would occassionaly go out to a club with the class for class parties and the like. I think it's different for girls though as most of them actually enjoy dancing, whereas for most guys its just an excuse to perform a bit of crotch thrusting at the nearest woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Sweaty late 30's male takes off wedding band & puts it in pocket, sucks in his paunch, and lurches toward dancefloor, bottle (not pint:rolleyes:) in hand. Thinking to himself "I still got it"

That's the dream...

Well there's a girl in my class in college who's married and she would occassionaly go out to a club with the class for class parties and the like. I think it's different for girls though as most of them actually enjoy dancing, whereas for most guys its just an excuse to perform a bit of crotch thrusting at the nearest woman.

See this is what I thought. So.... you wouldn't really expect too many married men to go to nightclubs then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

See this is what I thought. So.... you wouldn't really expect too many married men to go to nightclubs then?

Well, it depends. What about married guys who have a lot of single friends?

Unless they're sleaze bags...
    If I were married I would certainly try to avoid them, just too much temptation.

Well, it depends. What about married guys who have a lot of single friends?

Ya I suppose that'd make sense. but a load of married/taken lads going out to one would be a bit more odd. BUT if the guy doesn't like dancing, as most guys don't, and you can't exactly have a conversation in a nightclub, still.... seems odd.

I dunno if it's odd. We were one of the first couples in our respective groups to get hitched, so it was either head to the pub/club with the lads/lasses as usual or not go out very much. Us being married didn't change the fact that most of our friends weren't and still wanted to go clubbing. Nowadays we rarely go clubbing because our mates are all pretty much hitched now and nights out are more dinner/tappas/etc than clubbing...but even so, there's the odd time us auld married folks just fancy a boogie or a late night! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,410 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

of course they do, just because you are married doesn't mean you stay inside

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Ive seen married couples going to nightclubs. Dunno if its for the late drinking or if they enjoy the music or they are meeting friends or perhaps they are masochists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭tempura

I dunno, do single people ever order a take away, get a dvd and cosy up on the couch for the night ? I think so !

People do what they enjoy regardless of their status.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fulhamfanincork

I go to nightclubs with my parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

We were only 26 when we got married and most of our friends were single, so we still frequented the nightclubs. We love dancing, which is why we preferred the nightclubs to pubs.
    Then we became parents at 30 and that was the end of clubbing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

If it was from the boards meet up in Limerick on Thursday. We mentioned that there used to be a niteclub in Limerick where married people go there without their partners' and that they take off their ring.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

I don't understand any aspect of nightclubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭doubleglaze

I think the general thing is that married people can go out go pubs, concerts and parties with people other than their spouse.

However, once married, they generally either go to nightclubs together or not at all. Nightclubs are that little bit too ... "romantically charged"... for the average hot-blooded adult to attend without being open to temptation. Also, by the time folks hit the nightclubs, they can be well-oiled, which makes it more difficult to resist the temptation... Even if oneself is good at resisting temptation, doesn't mean your work colleague or whoever it may be, is as self-controlled.

Which is why most married folks stay out of nightclubs unless with their spouse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

not everyone goes to a nightclub to get off with someone some of us just want to get stociously drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Why the ':rolleyes:' at someone choosing to have a bottle rather than a shíte pint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Dammo

You mean there are people there who think I don't?!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Sometimes.

I go less than I used to but that's age and would have happened with or without marriage.

YFlyer wrote: »
    If it was from the boards meet up in Limerick on Thursday. We mentioned that there used to be a niteclub in Limerick where married people go there without their partners' and that they take off their ring.

It was the other night, but I don't know if it was from mentioning that place.... :confused:
    I don't understand any aspect of nightclubs.

I like the dancing, but besides that, ya, it's a bit creepy, and weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Do married people go to nightclubs?

No, married people go to Disco's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

No, married people go to Disco's.

Or nite clubs. :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

My husband is out in a nightclub right now!

OMG!

I hope it's not one of the ones with a sexually charged atmosphere ye've been on about, I wouldn't know, any I've been to are probably the least sexy places on earth...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭2ygb4cmqetsjhx

I'm 21. I've been to a nightclub about 5-6 times in my life. I think they are ****e.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,829 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I love to dance. When I marry, that will not change. We'll go for live bands and grand DJs. Why should that change?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,561 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Seen plenty of married people in clubs trying to score in past.

Kind surprised me at time but now its the thing it seems.

sad but true

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Only to over 21's or somthing hah.

My second cousin whos married ((Early 30's)) came out for my Sisters 30th,some how being 17 I got in to a 21's after the eager plea's of 16 people :L
    But ya she was dancing away and this really short bloke kept trying to get in with her,then another short fella did as well :L.

Friends of mine a shocked when ever we go to our local ****ty "Club" to sometimes find their parents in there.

I'm 21. I've been to a nightclub about 5-6 times in my life. I think they are ****e.

Mind you, dancing with three testicles must be really uncomfortable...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭Guitareaxe

I worry about a man that loves to dance, and Im not being homophobic or anything, Gay or not it doenst matter to me but you can still be gay and be masculine.

Dancing for a man straight or gay, unless its Russian ballet or some other extremely difficult art form, is well............. just F***** stupid. And if a man marries the right woman for him, why he would rather dance with idiots in shirts who are all trying to pull the same fat bird over spending time with his wife and family is beyond me.

I dont club, either before as a single person or now that I am married. i would rather do anything else then be with a bunch of losers out for a posing session in a stripey shirt eyeing up everything vaguely female while the girls try pretend they are over 18 and to suss which guy has the drugs / cash so she bleed him dry for the night only to Then leave with a random bearded culchie so she can be sure she will never see him again as hes going home to ballynowhere tomorrow and hes just here for the match. So after a theatrical display of projectile vomiting outside the club, its into the taxi and home for a fumbling attempt at fornication between bouts of head spinning nausia. and I havent even mentioned the Cocaine:P Oh the Irish nightlife:P

Well each to his own I guess.

Das Kitty wrote: »
    My husband is out in a nightclub right now!

OMG!

I hope it's not one of the ones with a sexually charged atmosphere ye've been on about, I wouldn't know, any I've been to are probably the least sexy places on earth...

Take him to counselling ASAP :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

In my world, nightclubs only exist because pubs having closing times. Thus they are where married people (like me) go when the pubs close. Otherwise we'd stay put.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

My married friends still go to clubs. Why would you stop just because you're married? Are you not allowed go out, have a bit of a bop and a giggle when you get hitched? :confused:

Kiera wrote: »
    My married friends still go to clubs. Why would you stop just because you're married? Are you not allowed go out, have a bit of a bop and a giggle when you get hitched? :confused:

Thats fair enough, personally I wouldnt marry someone who was a clubber knowing what most of them are like:P