Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheap Mac's, Scam?

• 19-06-2010 3:27pm
    Registered Users Posts: 398 ✭✭

I'm looking at upgrading to a Macbook Pro.
    I came across this site http://www.rctech.net/forum/monster-trucks/371189-sony-vaio-lt-series-hd-pc-tv-all-one-vgc-lt29u-4-gb-ram.html
    I mailed them and they say they are a wholeseller and have the approval by apple to operate as a wholesale. They added me on msn and I have been chatting with em, they have offered the Apple MacBook Pro - Core 2 Duo 2.8 GHz - 17 " - 4 GB Ram - 500 GB HDD‏ for $700 (€580)
    Surely its a scam?

Have a quick google of their email white_alado@yahoo.com and see what you think

Heres a transcript of my convo with them
    white_alado says: (14:57:15)
    How U doing
    Sean says: (14:57:30)
    grand
    white_alado says: (14:57:48)
    am talking Regarding the Apple Macbook
    white_alado says: (14:57:50)
    Pro
    Sean says: (14:57:56)
    ah ok
    white_alado says: (14:57:57)
    You want To Order
    white_alado says: (14:57:57)
    ?
    Sean says: (14:58:19)
    i dont think so, dont really trust it
    white_alado says: (14:58:34)
    why
    Sean says: (14:58:35)
    whats the prices again?
    white_alado says: (14:58:44)
    700$
    white_alado says: (14:58:53)
    Including the shipping fee
    Sean says: (14:59:06)
    which size is that
    white_alado says: (14:59:13)
    17"
    white_alado says: (14:59:15)
    4GB
    Sean says: (14:59:35)
    are they stolen
    white_alado says: (14:59:45)
    Lol
    white_alado says: (14:59:56)
    Brand New Unlocked
    white_alado says: (15:00:05)
    With Complete accesories
    white_alado says: (15:00:16)
    From Apple Company In USA
    Sean says: (15:00:24)
    what graphics is that
    white_alado says: (15:01:37)
    ?
    Sean says: (15:01:45)
    graphics on the machine
    white_alado says: (15:02:28)
    Graphics Processor / Vendor NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT / GeForce 9400M
    white_alado says: (15:02:40)
    Okay
    Sean says: (15:04:20)
    and the what intel processor is in it
    white_alado says: (15:06:15)
    I will send you the Full Specification Now
    white_alado says: (15:06:17)
    Oka
    Sean says: (15:06:20)
    thanks
    white_alado says: (15:11:10)
    do u get It
    Sean says: (15:11:30)
    yes thats for the 17 inch yes
    white_alado says: (15:11:48)
    yes
    Sean says: (15:12:09)
    so tell me how can they be sold at 700$
    white_alado says: (15:12:30)
    We are a whole saller
    white_alado says: (15:13:13)
    we have Aprove From apple Company Okay
    white_alado says: (15:13:21)
    that we we sale in Retailers Price
    Sean says: (15:14:07)
    and you take single orders
    white_alado says: (15:14:19)
    No
    white_alado says: (15:14:22)
    we Buy In Bilk
    white_alado says: (15:14:25)
    Bulk
    Sean says: (15:14:45)
    but I can order just 1 off you yes?
    white_alado says: (15:14:55)
    Yes
    white_alado says: (15:15:06)
    You can Order Just One Unit
    white_alado says: (15:17:28)
    Okay
    Sean says: (15:17:39)
    ok
    white_alado says: (15:17:54)
    where are You Located
    white_alado says: (15:17:55)
    ?
    Sean says: (15:18:24)
    Dublin, Ireland
    white_alado says: (15:18:34)
    Okay
    white_alado says: (15:18:55)
    what Your shipping Details
    white_alado says: (15:19:03)
    where You want the Item to Deliver To
    white_alado says: (15:19:05)
    ?
    Sean says: (15:20:48)
    il tell you when i want to order\
    white_alado says: (15:20:57)
    Okay
    white_alado says: (15:21:05)
    when will that Be?
    Sean says: (15:21:16)
    when i make my mind up that its a scam
    white_alado says: (15:21:43)
    This is Not A Scam
    white_alado says: (15:21:49)
    is Not what You Think
    white_alado says: (15:21:50)
    Okay
    Sean says: (15:22:06)
    cant find any reviews so im doubtful
    white_alado says: (15:22:26)
    we will send You all Our Full Company Details
    white_alado says: (15:22:36)
    and Before You make the payment
    white_alado says: (15:22:49)
    we will send You Shipping Slipt
    white_alado says: (15:22:59)
    For YOU TO BE SURE THE ITEM IS BEEN SHIP TO YOU
    white_alado says: (15:23:03)
    BEFORE YOU MAKE THE PAYMENT
    white_alado says: (15:23:13)
    AND AS SOON AS YOU MAKE THE PAYMENT
    white_alado says: (15:23:25)
    YOU WILL GET THE TRACKING NUMBER

• Registered Users Posts: 13,734 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

ofc its a scam, but I can sell you one legit for the same price, just Western Union me 500 bucks ta!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭dougs09

that's a scam, you can see how pushy he is, lol and what company does business over msn and keeps asking you to buy, actually i'd be tempted to have a mess around with them, hate people like that, so to feck about with them and mess them about would be a pleasant change.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

• Registered Users Posts: 398 ✭✭SeanyMc22

dougs09 wrote: »
    that's a scam, you can see how pushy he is, lol and what company does business over msn and keeps asking you to buy, actually i'd be tempted to have a mess around with them, hate people like that, so to feck about with them and mess them about would be a pleasant change.

Yeh cheers lads its a scam alright, im the same, I've been asking em millions of questions whilst watching the football, really p*ssing em off by asking the same question 5 different ways!
    The mail address is white_alado@yahoo.com or white_alado@live.com

yeah i emailed him there enquiring about an iPhone, im gonna log into msn now and add him and have some fun with him, yep even his way of talking, using text speak, then using caps, no company acts like that, and if he was a legitimate seller he'd not be going down that route.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,558 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

seriously what company would use a yahoo address?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

seriously what company would use a yahoo address?

Yahoo Corp?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Ha!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭antocann

yeh its a scam , they send you a slip from postig it , , then they say they asked the currior to hold it till you pay , theres never any item to begin with , then if you ask them for proof of other people that baught they will send you more fake slips , 1 way is to say that you want to collect it yourself , then they never reply

yeah i sent them a email earlier but never got one back yet

• Registered Users Posts: 602 ✭✭✭WayneEnterprise

"Wait a minute, this sounds like some kind of scam. Or possibly, scamola!".
    -Homer J. Simpson

• Registered Users Posts: 26,558 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

whiterebel wrote: »
    Yahoo Corp?
    well if we're going to be a smarty pants, but actually yahoo employees have an email domain of @yahoo-inc.com

*pushes up imaginary nerd glasses*

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

well if we're going to be a smarty pants, but actually yahoo employees have an email domain of @yahoo-inc.com

*pushes up imaginary nerd glasses*

*takes Creamy Goodness's imaginary nerd glasses off, bitch slaps him with a pair of flimsy lace ladies gloves, then replaces nerd glasses*:p